1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General The word "I'm"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by prj, May 27, 2010.

  1. prj

    prj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    267
    42
    43
    I use the compact qwerty for typting. Ever since the 2.1 update it won't let me type the word " I'm" and then it crashes giving me a "touch input" error.

    Any ideas for a fix?
     

    Advertisement

  2. mc48

    mc48 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    480
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    480
    36
    43
    so. east, usa
    probably will fix with a soft reset (reboot). Or use swype, it is awesome.
     
  3. MrChips

    MrChips Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    May 20, 2010

    May 20, 2010
    34
    2
    16
    You should probably add if you did the factory reset after the upgrade to this post.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    The factory data reset as a last step in the OTA installation seems to prevent or clear up those sorts of issues for most users.
     
  5. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    No fix, what ya gotta do is re-enable the spell check (which torks me off!), IF you disabled haptic...or re-enable haptic. It's a 2.1 thing, trust me. If that doesnt work for you post up I'll dig into my settings and find out which one works...factory reset wont fix it, so unless you wanted to start over I hope I'm saving you the trouble.
     
  6. robo123

    robo123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    78
    9
    16
    I had this problem and had to get a refurbished because of it. Good luck.
     
  7. prj

    prj Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    May 26, 2010

    May 26, 2010
    267
    42
    43
    Factory reset did not fix the problem. Enabling spell check fixed it. Thanks.
     
  8. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    yep. enable spell check, then your compact qwerty will recognize it. i immediately turned spell check back off then. no problems since.
     
  9. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    Sorry i didn't post before you went through the trouble!
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Enabling spell checking fixed it? That's really great. Nice find (whoever found it).
     
  11. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    It also works for if as well I figured it out on the dinc, I think bswartz was on the same path as well back in the leak days.
     
  12. Bswartz95

    Bswartz95 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,101
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009

    Yep. It started with v1. It drove me crazy until I realized that simply enabling the spell check for a hot second would solve the problem. Good stuff.
     
  13. gruss

    gruss Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,411
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010

    Feb 16, 2010
    1,411
    116
    163
    IT
    Toledoish
    And they said we were crazy! I love it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...