1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support There has been so much about kies im confused... is it still broken?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by big_mike, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. big_mike

    big_mike Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    520
    39
    88
    Male
    Head Chef
    Worcester, UK
    Yes or no will do as im confused and am convincing myself its fixed and my computer is being shit
     

    Advertisement

  2. goyal.sanchit

    goyal.sanchit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    304
    37
    43
    India
    Strangely I have heard a lot about KIES issues on net but I havent faced any myself. *Touchwood*
     
  3. Al3x4Fun

    Al3x4Fun Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    21
    0
    15
    i think it is still broken. until we will see some proofs, it's broken.
     
  4. snapper.fishes

    snapper.fishes Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,279
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    2,279
    263
    163
    It works on my laptop, but not on my desktop. I have absolutely no idea why. Certain issues like MTP flashing can be solved, but not all.
     
  5. big_mike

    big_mike Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    520
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    520
    39
    88
    Male
    Head Chef
    Worcester, UK
    oh bad times:(
     
  6. lobo76

    lobo76 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    78
    8
    16
    me too.

    ... though it is probably becoz I never found the need to install it in the first place. :p
     
  7. phaedrus

    phaedrus Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010

    Jul 25, 2010
    13
    3
    16
    Just got a Galaxy S myself, after reading this forum and xda for some time. So had heard all about the joys of Kies. Having now installed it myself, I can truly empathise! On the very first run, it decided there was a newer version of itself available (why? I'd just downloaded it minutes earlier, from samsung, are they linking to an old version or something?)

    Then it took *ages* to apparently load the phone drivers, being unclear as to whether the MTP had actually installed correctly or not. Now, whenever I connect the phone, it just shows the "Connecting, please wait" box, and nothing ever happens.

    ARGH! Would greatly appreciate any suggestions. Running Vista on a pretty normal laptop. Phone is set to default to Kies mode on connection. Tried all laptop USB ports.

    thanks
     
  8. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #7
    Points:
    2,238
    Posts:
    22,539
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    22,539
    11,883
    2,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    For anyone who's having difficulty with connecting Kies to the phone. Have a look in the Device Manager from the Control Panel, see if there is any errors appearing there related to the phone's drivers. There must be no errors for Kies to work. Also make sure that the phone is not in USB debug mode, again this is important for Kies to work.

    HTH :)
     
    phaedrus likes this.
  9. seepage

    seepage Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    442
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    442
    30
    43
    Apparently samsung say kies is not actually compatible with the Galaxy S
     
  10. andy-roid

    andy-roid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    98
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010

    Feb 25, 2010
    659
    52
    98
    wombwell uk
    I don't no why can't spend some of our cash some thing that is
     
  11. goyal.sanchit

    goyal.sanchit Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    304
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    304
    37
    43
    India
    Now, whenever I connect the phone, it just shows the "Connecting, please wait" box, and nothing ever happens.

    I guess I remember I was getting that error when I was connecting my phone to KIES when KIES was opened already and then I connected my phone.

    After that I first connect my phone to computer and then open KIES and it finds it all the time rather quickly.


    BTW I use Windows XP.
     
    phaedrus likes this.
  12. MAKFOTO

    MAKFOTO Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010

    Jul 30, 2010
    37
    4
    16
    KIES works perfectly OK if: Latest version.
    + Windows XP.
    + XXJPK.
     
  13. daymasrd

    daymasrd Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010

    Oct 9, 2010
    3
    0
    5
  14. tupique

    tupique Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    12
    0
    35
    No. I never have any problem with KIES anymore now.

    KIES I'm using works with Win7 64-bit, Win Vista 32-bit. I'm using KIES version 1.5.1.10083. My original SGS firmware was DXJF4, upgraded to DXJG4 thru KIES. Can't wait for Froyo! :)
     
  15. tupique

    tupique Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    12
    0
    35
    Who told you that? :thinking:

    When I went to a local Samsung Service Center to fix my SGS (USB connector was not working because of dirt), I saw that they're using KIES to check the SGS as well as to upgrade the firmware.
     
  16. Daisymay

    Daisymay Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I have been driven mad with Kies. Followed every suggestion to connect. Deleted and reinstalled Kies. Updated drivers, repaired drivers and nothing worked. Samsung Galaxy s would tell me it was connected but nothing appeared in Kies.

    Now, the problem has been resolved. It is working fine. The solution.... I removed and reinserted the battery in the phone. Worked first time!!!!

    I remembered that when I had taken my phone to Vodafone, complaining that it seemed to be slowing down. I was told that I should remove the battery every two weeks or so, as it would become "clogged". I thought it was a strange remedy but it worked. Now it may be a coincidence but hey! its worth a try.
     
  17. Manjar

    Manjar Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010

    Sep 5, 2010
    26
    1
    16
    DL'd from the Austrailian Sam site as it was the most recent i could find. Sometimes i have to unmount SD card to get it to work, sometimes not. Apparently there is a update but i can't get it as it believes that i'm not connected to i'net.
    It does work but its debatable if its worth the energy - until 2.2 is available but then again i might do this by other means rather than trust Kies.
     
  18. Ih4teKies

    Ih4teKies Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010

    Oct 10, 2010
    95
    12
    18
    Student
    London, United Kingdom
    don't post these kind of absurd nonsense if you don't have any proof to back it up. It gets people confused.
     

Share This Page

Loading...