1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support "There was a problem communicating with Google servers. Try again later"

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by propp2531, May 24, 2014.

  1. propp2531

    propp2531 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    4
    1
    6
    Hey all, I just got an HTC One M8 and I am trying to set up google on it but I am getting the error "There was a problem communicating with Google servers. Try again later". I verify two step verification is off, a factory reset, tried several different networks, made sure date and time was correct and it will not communicate with google at all. I also tried to create a new account on the phone and even if i try and create one with a random user name like *******gmail.com it says that username is taken. It seems to me like the phone just flat out wont connect to google no matter what I try. Like the problem is in the device routing or something. Any thoughts?
     

    Advertisement

  2. propp2531

    propp2531 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    4
    1
    6
    Also seeing that my location services is not working which may be the cause
     
  3. Crashdamage

    Crashdamage Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    643
    Posts:
    4,446
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011

    Feb 25, 2011
    4,446
    2,754
    643
    Mostly retired
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Do you have a data connection at all? Mobile or WiFi?
     
  4. propp2531

    propp2531 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    4
    1
    6
    Yeah I have data through provider as well as wifi.
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    19,702
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,702
    8,976
    1,443
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Moved your thread to the M8 section, also edited and took your email addy out incase that is an active address, we don't want that person getting spammed. ;)
     
  6. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,863
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,863
    1,524
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    Sorry to hear you are having such problems. Who is your carrier?

    It looks like you have tried all the standard steps for resolving this issue. I had this issue once with my fiancee's S4. I tried everything like you did without success until she took it back an swapped it out with another phone.

    The only other suggestion I could provide before doing that is dependent on your carrier.
    With Sprint you can try going into settings>system updates>update profile.
    then delete any google profile information you have on the phone and try to add yours again.
     
  7. smitty543

    smitty543 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011

    Jan 16, 2011
    630
    97
    78
    I get the same message in the app "MAIL", but not with the apps "K-9 Mail" or "Gmail". Usually it will not accept my password, but sometimes it does (in "MAIL". Messages, however, seem to get posted normally to K-9 and Gmail. I usually check K-9 first and it is the popup error message concerning Mail that gets my attention. (I do not know if the messages are getting through to Mail.) Problem only with one of three mail apps that utilize Gmail. Strange!?!
     
  8. propp2531

    propp2531 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013

    Nov 23, 2013
    4
    1
    6
    Carrier is AT&T. I am taking it back today to swap the device out. There is something seriously wrong with it. I tried flashing custom ROMs, factory resets, Stock ROMs etc. Nothing seems to fix it. The only thing left is to swap the device. Thanks anyway everyone for the help.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  9. yoko

    yoko Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014

    Dec 16, 2014
    4
    0
    15
    i have exactly the same problem...and how do you fix it? anybody knows? and my phone can't recognize my location too...i thought the same idea...maybe its the root cause...
     
  10. kevindroid

    kevindroid Android Expert
    Rank:
     #106
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    935
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2010

    Oct 7, 2010
    935
    232
    113
    Male
    electrician
    baltimore
    i just seen issues with google on another phone. it may be google this was a sprint phone
     

HTC One M8

The HTC One M8 is the Taiwanese company's flagship phone for the first half of 2014. It built on its predecessor with an upgraded 5-inch 1080p display, Snapdragon 801 processor, 2GB of RAM, 32GB of internal storage, and an UltraPixel rear Duo Camera.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...