1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General There's a WHITE one

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jmfolcik, Nov 14, 2012.

  1. jmfolcik

    jmfolcik Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    102
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    102
    19
    38

    Advertisement

  2. OptimusV123

    OptimusV123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012

    Mar 22, 2012
    164
    20
    38
    Male
    Advanced Auto Parts
    Michigan
  3. Dark One

    Dark One Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    786
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012

    Jan 15, 2012
    786
    188
    93
    I saw this in Best Buy. I think it looks weird. It would look better if they made the face white too.
     
  4. Murf1

    Murf1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    594
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012

    Jul 25, 2012
    594
    89
    88
    Male
    IT
    Indiana
    Except the color wouldn't show any way in my trident case.
     
  5. straykat

    straykat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    10
    2
    16
    Would this be grandfathered into the $25 plan that I am currently on? Or would I have to get the black one to keep my 25$ plan?
     
  6. arthurbliss

    arthurbliss Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    4
    2
    6
    There is one guy at Slickdeals and one person at this forum just bought the phone and report that they had success swapping the phone while keeping $25 plan. YMMV and you should proceed with caution though.

    the phone is on sale for $50 at best buy, and better yet, it is available online for that cheap price (for now)

    Virgin Mobile - LG Optimus Elite Mobile Phone - Black - Optimus Elite elite&cp=1&lp=1
     
  7. Ranhead

    Ranhead Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    335
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    335
    70
    53
    Jersey
    Except around the camera, which would probably look odd. Unless you had a light colored case, then maybe it wouldn't.

    Personally I don't care for white phones. However, my wife has a white phone in a white case with light grey accents. :dontknow:
     
  8. DraeHD

    DraeHD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    79
    10
    18
    Male
    Being Super Dope Obv.
    United States
    Just bought it for $49.99 @ BestBuy and I love the phone. Swapped it over my $25 plan and I can confirm there is no change, it will keep the grandfather plan. :)
     
  9. Daigoro

    Daigoro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012

    Dec 5, 2012
    37
    11
    18
    how's the data issue with the phone. better or the same? (i noticed you posted in the data speed thread as well)

    i think im going to return my black one today and try again with a white one to see if its any better. otherwise i might have to ditch the Elite.
     
  10. Artine

    Artine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    1,304
    585
    213
    The Moon
    It's not the color, it's a hit and miss with the batch of Elites that were produced. A white one may be better, but not because it is white. I would try a different vendor if yours was bad, like if you went to BestBuy I would try Radio Shack or something different.
     
  11. DraeHD

    DraeHD Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012

    Sep 29, 2012
    79
    10
    18
    Male
    Being Super Dope Obv.
    United States
    My data very rarely ever drops below 3G in my city let alone whenever I leave, in fact I have perfect service nearly all the time with it, so with personal experience I say the data is working top notch.

    From what I can tell latest "models" are connecting better as I see those who just purchased the Elite seem to have great data speeds, but then again I could be wrong.

    Just as added support though I've ran multiple network diagnostics and I had monitors running for about a week and saw a high steady dBm.
     
  12. Daigoro

    Daigoro Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012

    Dec 5, 2012
    37
    11
    18
    uh yeah. i didnt actually think that the color had anything to do with the issue... thanks though.
     
  13. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #372
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    In tomorrow's Best Buy ad insert, the white Elite is on sale for $64.99.
     
  14. MacFett

    MacFett Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    3,236
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3,236
    740
    223
    Male
    Worshipping Cthulhu
    Sietch Tabr
    My new white elite started with 104 errors not 5 minutes after activation and same as my other 3 it over heats and reboots when on 3g.
     
  15. Artine

    Artine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    1,304
    585
    213
    The Moon
    I hate to say it, but perhaps the OEs have it out for you - in the two Elites I've owned, I've only experienced the 104 Errors twice, but simply turning 3G back on solved the problem and I never had a problem since (ie: bad signal was likely the culprit), and as 3G is an enormous power hog it will inevitably overheat the Elite after a long enough period of time (and if this is the case, the reboots are a direct result of this as a safety precaution). That's just how 3G seems to be. :(
     
  16. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #372
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    Ouch! What the heck is wrong with these Elites!!!
    I have a regular one, bought it before BF based on early reviews ,but now leery of activating it.
     
  17. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #372
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    Wonder if this is due to the overclocking?
     
  18. Artine

    Artine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    1,304
    585
    213
    The Moon
    No, or at least it shouldn't be. As I said, I've only had the errors twice, and they were both when I had too low of signal (in house, 1 bar). Simply toggling it again I could proceed with no issue. This was back from when I first got my first elite back in July, all the way up to now - before overclocking, and after overclocking. The overheating seems to be a problem regardless of whether or not it is overclocked, simply because 3G is very power hungry and takes a lot of CPU power because 3G is fairly primitive. 4G actually would/should perform much better if we had it available.

    Another factor in this is that 3G isn't actual 3G all of the time, as it goes all the way down to 1X without ever showing up, and oscillates between everything 3G and below frequently, which also attributes to the resource-eating, overheating, and battery draining. I only use 3G for Google Maps whenever I need it, and aside from the two times where I had almost no signal I've never had a problem - went over two hours many times without a reboot issue, though the phone did get very hot every time (no matter what other type of wireless/mobile network I use, such as wifi or bluetooth, and/or regardless of any game I throw at it, I cannot get the OE to overheat to an even remotely close temperature that it gets to when just using 3G after an hour or two).

    tl;dr It's a 3G thing, and always will be because it is, after all, 3G. Use it sparringly (and I'm not sure there's a good enough reason I can think of, aside from commuting on a bus or train, where you would need 3G active all of the time outside of using something like Google Maps - but I'm sure someone has a good reason for it). Wifi is always preferable, both in speed and because it does not have the issues (which includes the overheating) 3G does, ever.
     
    AnciusD likes this.
  19. AnciusD

    AnciusD Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #372
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    493
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    493
    69
    63
    Male
    USA
    Thanks, I thought I read in some early review that the Elite was overclocked out of the box. Can't remember where, but found this:
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=26443850


    re: the 3G/1X, I wonder why Optimus V owners haven't complained as much - or did they?

    Also Amazon has now price matched the Best Buy price on the OE, but only the black one.
     
  20. Artine

    Artine Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,304
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2012

    Jul 20, 2012
    1,304
    585
    213
    The Moon
    The processor should be 800MHz by default, but it comes overclocked out of the box to a maximum of 1GHz, instead of 800MHz. We here have managed to raise that limit to 1.6GHz - double what the intended speed was supposed to be - while it still being stable.
     
  21. OptimusV123

    OptimusV123 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012

    Mar 22, 2012
    164
    20
    38
    Male
    Advanced Auto Parts
    Michigan
    I see you can get white battery covers on ebay for $10. I would buy it if I wasn't getting a trident case.
     

Share This Page

Loading...