1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support There's no Color in my new LG Tablet - grey-scale only.

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by Von_Zolta, Jun 25, 2016.

  1. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    Name: LG G PadX 8.0
    Hardware: Android version Baseband

    When I first got it about 5 days ago there was color. Now there's no Color in the LG Tablet - only grey-scale, including the icons on the Home-Screen. I noticed that when taking photos I had a hard time but finally, after jiggling around a bit in the photo app I was able to get it in color.

    Otherwise everything is in tones of grey. No color anywhere.

    As an aside I got it for free from T-Mobile as a promo item, but that doesn't mean its a bad product - I don't think.

    HELP would be much appreciated.............Thanks. Von.

    Stats
    Name: LG G PadX 8.0

    Hardware: Android version Baseband


    Someone told me that T-Mobile should exchange it promo or not. But, I wasn't to the point of being concerned about an exchange just yet, and I'm not worried about that actually. I mentioned how I came to acquire it from T-Mobile merely as a point of fact.

    What I'm hoping for is some kind of instruction on how to go about fixing it - Isn't there a fix?
    Thank you for the response. Von

     

    Advertisement

  2. psionandy

    psionandy Android Expert
    Rank:
     #22
    Points:
    1,138
    Posts:
    5,407
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,407
    7,772
    1,138
    Male
    Gizmonic Institute - mug in a yellow jumpsuit
    liverpool
    well... its possible that some sort of software problem with it... Personally if its a new tablet, i'd do a factory reset and see if that cures the issue.. If not, I'd take it back to T-mobile and ask them to exchange.
     
    scary alien likes this.
  3. chibae

    chibae Member
    Rank:
     #311
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016

    Jun 10, 2016
    46
    34
    43
    Are you sure you didn't put it in battery saver mode? On my GS7 the ultra power saving mode turns the screen and icons grey scale.
     
    KOLIO and psionandy like this.
  4. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    Yes......I thought of that and did do it once. But I thought I'd reversed that. I'll go back now and try again. I have a feeling that's the problem too.


    EDIT: Checked battery saver + its 'off;'
     
  5. mikedt

    mikedt 你好
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,238
    Posts:
    25,093
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    25,093
    14,054
    3,238
    Teachaaa
    Jinan, China
    Someone's gone into the Developer options > Simulate colour space > and checked Monochromacy? There was a thread about it last week, about using your device in black & white.
     
  6. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male

    Resetting now and I see color already - lets hope it worked all the way.
     
  7. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    Perhaps, But first I'll wait to see if re-set does it.
     
  8. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    RESET WORKED THANKS A LOT..........":)
    I am quite glad I wouldn't have had to return it aggghhhh

    Will I be able to get recent [previously] installed apps back automatically?
     
  9. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #9
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    13,815
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,815
    13,871
    2,043
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    Once you log back in to Google, your previously installed apps will be available for installation.
     
  10. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    OK......I was talking abt the one's that I loaded individually after the initial app load supplied by default.

    But, I'll look again, but as I'm looking now the prev's aren't there so I'm now in process of individually re-loading them. Thanks for the help.

    Incidentally, I had previously gone to a site with a similar name as yours and they couldn't answer it - or rather they weren't all that enthusiastic about doing so. I thought"Oh well," but I'm really glad I tried again and found you guys. Y'all seem to really enjoy helping nerds such as I :)

    BTW, I'm the owner/admin of my own CT Forums which is just getting off the runway as we speak. I'm in the process now of building that site. Coming here made me really aware that I'm lacking an important Forum as per the "List of Categories," i.e., a technically oriented computer related 'help' Forum.

    I realized how significant a category it really is just by the way you guy's handled my important issue. Is there a way to "LINK" to your very good website? Please let me know if its at all possible. Of course, I'd need a Moderator as well. This is NOT to say I'd want to recruit someone from here, but only that you might have a suggestion for me. Ya know? Thanks for listening.........
     
    #10 Von_Zolta, Jun 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2016
  11. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    37,308
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    37,308
    36,077
    4,238
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    Go to menu>settings>backup & reset>backup account and turn that on to backup your apps and settings and restore automatically. This will save your app and Android settings (but not your data) so if you have to reset again, it will automatically reload the apps you have installed and then restore their settings.
    If you mean crosslinks to specific posts, sure, just click on the post number at the bottom of each post and you should see the link to post on your forum. FWIW, crosslinks do help with both Google rankings. :)
     
  12. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    Much obliged..........Doing it now.........looks like the BU from Cloud is what's gonna do the trick. Appreciate the way you guys go right to the heart of the matter.
     
    #12 Von_Zolta, Jun 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2016
    Bearsyzf and (deleted member) like this.
  13. Phxguy1

    Phxguy1 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016

    Jun 29, 2016
    1
    1
    16
    Male
    Phoenix, AZ 85043, United States


    Same issue with my LG tablet, not sure how it went from color to gray.
    I went to my settings, clicked on display and switched Reader Mode to OFF.
    Problem Solved...
     
    Von_Zolta likes this.
  14. Von_Zolta

    Von_Zolta Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016

    Jun 25, 2016
    8
    2
    16
    Male
    WOW......... This is Jan, 2017 [7 months ago] and it happened again. I had forgotten that I was here when it happened first time when I solved the grey-scale issue I was asking about with a complicated factory/reset.

    When it happened this time I was searching the net at random and found you guys along w/my first post -- again. So, this time instead of a re-set I went to reader mode on-off [suggested below] and that solved to too, but a lot easier. Thanks again guys...........Von

    post #13 "Same issue with my LG tablet, not sure how it went from color to gray.
    I went to my settings, clicked on display and switched Reader Mode to OFF.
    Problem Solved...
    "


    PS.........This time I bookmarked this great site.
     
    #14 Von_Zolta, Jan 7, 2017
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2017
  15. William Richardson

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2017

    Jan 20, 2017
    1
    1
    16
    Male
    Hello. In case you're still curious on this issue... I have two of these tablets and I also was confused at first. There is a button on the right-hand side of the tablet - the button closest to the middle of the device, below the volume down button. It's a reader-mode shortcut. I kept pushing that button on accident throwing the device into reader-mode and not understanding why. Hope this helps.
     
    lunatic59 likes this.
  16. Barb2017

    Barb2017 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2017

    Apr 15, 2017
    1
    0
    15
    It's in reader mode. Exact thing happened to me.




     

Share This Page

Loading...