1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support There's no media area on this phone right?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by romeodakins, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    I left my old phone Droid Bionic because of this lame Media Area thing that doesn't let you transfer apps to sd card but only lets you save it on internal storage. I'm thinking of getting this phone since got everything I want, the only thing I want to make clear is if this phone has Media Area or not. Can it transfer apps/app data to sd card? I haven't read any threads saying theres a media area so I want to make this clear.
     

    Advertisement

  2. KEB64

    KEB64 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    39
    8
    16
    I don't even know what "Media Area" is so I'm assuming this phone does not possess it. All music and photos are saved to the SD card. Also, not all apps are capable of being moved to the SD card, but it is possible with apps that are capable. That said, there is plenty of space available internally for apps.
     
  3. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    So if you download a game like Modern Combat that takes up like 1GB space or download some gps maps that take about 500mb, you can move them to sd card?
     
  4. romeodakins

    romeodakins Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012

    May 23, 2012
    57
    0
    15
    Bump! Can someone check and go to manage apps and does it say Move to SD Card? Or does it say Move to Media Area?
     
  5. KEB64

    KEB64 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010

    Dec 19, 2010
    39
    8
    16
    It says "move to SD Card".
     
    romeodakins likes this.
  6. srobertw

    srobertw Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    3
    0
    5
    Business Systems Analyst
    Reno
    Apps can be moved to the sd card on the A2. However, I have heard that the phone has some issues with certain classes of sd cards. I believe that class 10 (or maybe it is class 1) cards do not work very well when apps are installed on the card.
     
  7. macgiobuin

    macgiobuin Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    321
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011

    Jan 19, 2011
    321
    32
    63
    Police Lieutenant
    Chattanooga, TN
    Anything other than a Class 4 sd card could give you issues. I have a Sandisk 32 gb sd card and hav no troubles. I have now transferred every app to the card that will allow and nothing has disappeared on me yet.
     
  8. miteshkothari

    miteshkothari Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012

    Aug 23, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    social media specialist
    mumbai
    Class 10 media cards do pose issues - it is best to use class 6.
     

Share This Page

Loading...