1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Thether on 2.2 without rooting.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by RobertTheGenius, Sep 25, 2010.

  1. RobertTheGenius

    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    6
    2
    6
    Download EasyTether drivers

    there is an app by the name easy-tether or EasyTether. you have t have your phone connected to ur comp through your USB port too but it works and its free.

    just trying to give back.:D
     

    Advertisement

    jlewis74 and FirebirdStud like this.
  2. D13

    D13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,088
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2,088
    234
    143
    Elkridge, Maryland
    moved to tips and tricks
     
  3. Dysan

    Dysan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    8
    0
    5
    I haven't tried it since I updated to 2.2 but with 2.1 I was able to tether via bluetooth to my netbook.
     
  4. skep

    skep Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    118
    28
    43
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    is making it a wifi hotspot not a better/easier solution? mine is preloaded with "3G Mobile Hotspot" and it worked just fine on a phone that i tested
     
  5. nebreos

    nebreos Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010

    Sep 16, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Verizon charges for this feature although there are ways to do it for free after rooting.
     
  6. skep

    skep Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    118
    28
    43
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    i havent been charged at all...
     
  7. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010

    Sep 19, 2010
    21
    3
    16
    When you turned the app "on" and first connected a wireless device to the Android Network, and then opened a webpage you didnt get the Verizon pop-up page explaining the price structure for the Mobile Hot Spot service?

    Not telling you what to do, but I would contact Verizon and see if they automatically added the service to your existing services...they charge $20 a month extra for the Mobile Hot Spot service.
     
  8. skep

    skep Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    118
    28
    43
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    nope, no charges popped up. ill check it again and see if it comes up next time
     
  9. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010

    If you use the built in Hot Spot Verizon will charge you for it. If you haven't seen it on you bill yet then it's probably coming next month. If it doesn't show up next month then somehow you jumped through a worm hole somewhere. Because that is definately not a free service.
     
  10. ctxx24

    ctxx24 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    623
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010

    Apr 26, 2010
    623
    48
    68
    MID MICHIGAN
    pdanet and wireless tether is free
     
  11. skep

    skep Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010

    Sep 22, 2010
    118
    28
    43
    Male
    Pittsburgh
    thanks for the info ill keep an eye out n see what comes of it
     
  12. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    411
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    411
    43
    43
    Yo can check and see if it is included on your plan on their web site before you get a surprise on your bill.
     
  13. NCTurner

    NCTurner Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    395
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010

    Jul 27, 2010
    395
    368
    88
    NC
    I use PDANet, but what wireless tether is free? (other than on a rooted phone, which I don't have.)
     
  14. ad720

    ad720 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010

    Apr 5, 2010
    260
    14
    38
    None. You must be rooted.
     
  15. mlclm

    mlclm Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010

    Sep 25, 2010
    215
    30
    43
    Seconded on PDAnet, it's saved mine and my roommate's ass when our complex's internet decided to die.
     
  16. Theeulogy

    Theeulogy Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    48
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    99
    107
    48
    Chemical Manufacturing
    Almost Heaven
    I use the bluetooth tethering, it is free and works well. There is a topic already on it. I think if you are only tethering one client it is the best method. No root required also.
     
  17. noobie with a X

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010

    Oct 30, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    I use easytether
     
  18. pattherat

    pattherat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    46
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    46
    1
    16
    You can use 3g hotspot for free. There are 3 methods on the xda forum.

    Easiest for me is this one:

    1. Start 3g moile hotspot from app drawer
    2. Connect to it with your device i.e. pc
    3. toggle off then on again your phones radio (use easy switch from market)
    4. free internet

    All verizon sees is data usage and you have unlimited right?
     
  19. Lars

    Lars Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,439
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010

    Dont need easy switch. Just use the setting in the data manager to cycle the mobile net.
     
  20. skiahh

    skiahh Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    125
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010

    Mar 29, 2010
    125
    7
    36
    Incorrect.

    You can start your mobile hotspot and then toggle your phone/3G radio off, then back on again and it goes back to a normal data connection rather than the one that goes through the V pay service; the one that comes saying it needs to be provisioned.

    You also don't need the pay app to do this if you're willing to go into the service menu each time. Dial *#*#4636#*#*. Pick the phone option, scroll down to the button that says "Turn off radio" and touch it. Give it a potato or two and then touch it again to restart the radio service. Then your hotspot will work without going through the provisioning process.

    I love my X!
     
  21. gemini846

    gemini846 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    62
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    62
    13
    18
    Seems like someone could write an app to do this automatically.
     
  22. Ramprat

    Ramprat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    33
    1
    16


    I have yet to use the 3g mobile hotspot & when turning it on now it wants t set up a wpa/wpa2 password, set a channel & since I'm not home backed out since I've got no idea what I'm doing.

    Anywhoo, we will be staying at inlaws who do not have the internet..if I do the above I'm assuming I'll be able to hook the laptop (does not have a bluetooth card) to the Droid X via a cable & surf the web without verizon charging us a arm and leg?
     
  23. Ramprat

    Ramprat Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010

    Dec 11, 2010
    33
    1
    16
    Would it be possible to just get pdanet and then use the usb cable between the laptop and X??
     
  24. lostwood

    lostwood Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010

    Jan 28, 2010
    15
    0
    15

    YES..... and it is very easy
     
  25. ChiefHopper

    ChiefHopper Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    163
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010

    Jun 30, 2010
    163
    12
    58
    Retired as of 2008.
    Phoenix AZ
    I agree. I have used PDANET on my MacBook Pro tethered via USB during the primary and general elections. About 18 hours each time. It worked flawlessly both times. The instructions are straight forward on PDANET's web site.

    Al
     

Share This Page

Loading...