1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root TheUltimateDroid 2.1! :D

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by The_Chief, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. toker11

    toker11 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    211
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    211
    7
    36
    yes, didnt know thats what it was called
     

    Advertisement

  2. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    NO MORE SWYPE?!??!? looks like it's back to 2.0 for me. :(
     
  3. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,687
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    1,687
    433
    193
    Worldwide Logistics by day,Website design by night
    Olympus, Back on the throne!!!
    He probably received a C&D order from Swype.

    Kratos
     
  4. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    luckily i just found it... "elsewhere".... so 2.1 can stick around. :cool:
     
  5. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,687
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    1,687
    433
    193
    Worldwide Logistics by day,Website design by night
    Olympus, Back on the throne!!!
    That's good. I was lucky enough to make it into the beta the first time. I just downloaded a fresh copy of it and it has a voice button now!!!! I like this version better than the outdated one that BD was using anyways.

    Kratos
     
  6. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    201
    9
    36
    I am part of the beta and can't get swype to work, I have re-downloaded it twice. Any ideas?
     
  7. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,687
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    1,687
    433
    193
    Worldwide Logistics by day,Website design by night
    Olympus, Back on the throne!!!
    Delete both the swipe app and the swype installer app. Then login to Swype | Text Input for Screens, enter your user id and password, and download the new installer. Run the installer and see if that works.

    Kratos
     
  8. krouget

    krouget Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    456
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    456
    121
    68
    The ROM is looking good, but I'm experiencing one key issue.

    When long-pressing in an attempt to delete widgets from the homescreen(s), the new launcher constantly force closes.

    Has anyone else experienced this, or is there a possible solution?
     
  9. Poloki

    Poloki Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    164
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010

    Jul 2, 2010
    164
    30
    73
    Male
    Hackettstown, NJ
    Really liking this ROM. Seems very refined over 2.0
     
  10. androidlover14

    androidlover14 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    325
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    325
    26
    43
    Orlando, FL
    I have not experienced this but you are probably better off just switching to launcher pro and deleting the default launcher through titanium. Launcher pro puts the icing on the cake for this rom. Its pretty great battery life wise. Was at 90% at around eleven last night when I went to sleep and it finally died 10 minutes ago after about 1 1/2 hours of music then talking on the phone for about an hour and of course messing with all the settings. Im just finding it so hard to go and try out the new miui. The new release would be so much more popular if it had came out at least a day earlier.
     
  11. nathan312

    nathan312 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    394
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    394
    25
    63
    Student
    Georgia
    I know I'm late, but if people are having trouble downloading (server bogging down NOT related to this of course) from that mediafire website because some ad comes over the DL button...try using Firefox or IE. I have a hell of a time getting stuff to download from there on Chrome...just my 2 cents
     
  12. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Well, I'm sad. I really wanted this version of UD to work for me, but it just hates my Droid!! I do love all the customization options, but the lag on my fully loaded SH2 theme with all my widgets (and the bitmap errors and FCs I was getting in SH2) were just unbearable. Sigh....... :(
     
  13. jzbode

    jzbode Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010

    Jun 28, 2010
    17
    1
    16
    can someone link me to some themes for UD 2.1? i really like the default theme but want to see what else is out there.

    Thanks.
     
  14. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    1,640
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010

    Sep 10, 2010
    1,640
    1,599
    313
    Clemson, SC
    probably gonna be awhile on themes considering this was just released yesterday.
     
  15. kratos

    kratos Back on my throne!!!
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #90
    Points:
    193
    Posts:
    1,687
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010

    Mar 2, 2010
    1,687
    433
    193
    Worldwide Logistics by day,Website design by night
    Olympus, Back on the throne!!!
    This is the link to UD on another site. There are about 4-6 themes available right now, but more will be rolling in shortly.

    UltimateDroid - Droid Forum - Verizon Droid & the Motorola Droid Forum

    Kratos
     
  16. Rons

    Rons Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    58
    9
    16
    So far this is five star.....

    How would you modify the lock screen ..when I change the font the time gets unsigned messed up behind the ud banner..and the music controls on screen are messed up too but that's fine .
     
  17. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations!
    VIP Member Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,118
    Posts:
    13,886
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009

    Nov 17, 2009
    13,886
    14,066
    2,118
    Male
    I'm retired: every day's a Monday :P
    Manchester, TN
    It is SO nice to have all the customization options and a Bluetooth Voice calling feature that WORKS! Google did a miserable job of downloading my apps... thankfully I had TiBU! So far so good... everything appears to be working. I'll put it through its paces over the next day or so but this definitely looks like a keeper (and worthy of a nice donation).
     
  18. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    Using Root Explorer, copy the framework-res.apk file from the /system/framework folder to your sdcard, then to your PC. Change the extension to .zip and open it (I use WinRar). Pull out the "drawable-hdpi" folder that's in the "res" folder. You'll find a TON of .png files that you can edit. Edit the "lockscreen_background.png" and "lockscreen_background_rotary.png" files. Zip it all back up and and you'll have a new framework-res.apk file. Boot into the recovery console and send your new file into your DROID and reboot.

    Simple. :D
     
  19. Rons

    Rons Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    58
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009

    Dec 22, 2009
    58
    9
    16
    ..Thanks found it but what do I replace that file with. I mean if i delete it would it be a conventional lock screen OR do i replace it with a transparent one.
    Most frameworks don't even have this file.
     
  20. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    I didn't say "delete" ... I said "edit". A transparent or even a semi-transparent one works nicely.
     
  21. Jcarmicha

    Jcarmicha Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    118
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    118
    6
    36
    UD runs with ADW for a launcher huh?
    I feel like I want to make the transition over to Launcher Pro :/

    LFY looks promising.
     
  22. eric16l

    eric16l Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    38
    5
    16
    Is anyone experiencing the same camera issues as in UD2.0? I performed a wipe and then loaded UD2.1 on fresh. Everything works perfectly except for the camera. It is acting the same as the original one from 2.0 did.
    It keeps trying to auto focus and the flash keeps firing for no reason. I can exit out with the back button, so that is fixed.

    Is anyone else having camera issues?

    Happy Turkey Day!
     
  23. messenger13

    messenger13 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    3,132
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    3,132
    381
    163
    Director of IT
    Cleveland, OH
    So what ADW was included? If you don't like it, uninstall it. I did. I don't understand the point of your post at all. :thinking:

    And yes, LFY is a nice ROM. Maybe you should flash it.


    I didn't have camera issues in 1.0.0 ... in 2.0.0, and now in 2.1.0. In fact, I can't find a single flaw in this ROM. Once again, I'm confused. Or perhaps I should just feel fortunate that my DROID is so picky ... it just werks. :cool:
     
  24. markc2

    markc2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    232
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010

    Feb 22, 2010
    232
    20
    38
    Perrysburg, Oh.
    I didn't have camera problems in 1 or 2, with 2.1 I'm getting the constant flash and auto focus symptom you're getting.

    Edit: Button on far right of screen, focus mode, was set to continuous, I changed it to auto and it stopped continuously focusing/flashing....
     
    SinfulDragon likes this.
  25. eric16l

    eric16l Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010

    Jan 17, 2010
    38
    5
    16
    Interesting. I'll reflash and give that a shot. Other than that, this ROM is great.
    Thanks for the tip Markc2!
     

Share This Page

Loading...