1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thiefbusters

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by tomcatmwi, Dec 27, 2013.

1. tomcatmwi

tomcatmwi Lurker
    None

Dec 26, 2013
    Hi everybody. I am opening this thread for one particular reason: let's discuss ways to catch phone thieves.

No, I don't mean anti-theft apps, and I am not a newbie needing advice. In fact I've been catching thieves for years already. I am the founder of a civil crimefighting group named Thiefbusters (Tolvajkergetők) in Budapest, Hungary. Started in 2011, we outfit bicycles with GPS trackers and radio beacons, have them stolen and catch the perpetrators. Since we started it our organization grew into a national one, with local chapters in several Hungarian cities. Currently we are well beyond our 100th thief, though we lost count after a while.

Maybe you wished to take a look at Tolvajkerget?k to see a web series about our team. A new series is being edited right now.

Recently we moved from bicycles to laptops and phones. First we squeezed a GPS tracker into a laptop. It worked fine, we had it stolen several times and caught the thieves red-handed every single time. But when it comes to phones, it's quite a challenge. One can't modify a phone and stuff trackers into it. The only way is to change the phone itself into a tracking device.