• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Things I want my Droid to do

droiiiiid

Nov 9, 2009
Here's some stuff I've wanted while poking around on the Droid since Friday. I'm new to Android (and smart phones really), so if it's already doable, please let me know how!

• a save current location feature
  • the ability to associate a location with a contact
  • sort restaurants (or other points of interest) by distance
  • have names popped up for all search results on the map, or at least 10 within the view rather than just the ones that are highly ranked
  • pinch to zoom in the browser
  • VOIP over Wifi
  • automatic shutdown of applications that have no reason to remain open in the BG
  • one-touch from home screen voice search of contacts
  • one touch voice search of nearby points of interest
  • the ability to easily hide/remove contacts from facebook/google from showing up on my phone
  • Auto-grab album art
  • differentiate between google talk, sms, voice mail, etc. notification noises
  • ability to save and open word, excel, etc. docs
  • manage multiple google calendars
  • manage multiple twitter accounts
  • map the physical buttons to some more useful functionality depending on the app (ex switch focus)
  • CRM software

There's probably other stuff. I'm sure you guys have some stuff too. Maybe we can help each other.

Here's some stuff I've wanted while poking around on the Droid since Friday. I'm new to Android (and smart phones really), so if it's already doable, please let me know how!

• a save current location feature
  • the ability to associate a location with a contact
  • have names popped up for all search results on the map, or at least 10 within the view rather than just the ones that are highly ranked
  • VOIP over Wifi
  • automatic shutdown of applications that have no reason to remain open in the BG