1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

thinking about getting the captivate

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by gueydejalisco, Apr 25, 2012.

  1. gueydejalisco

    gueydejalisco Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    87
    8
    16
    N/A
    brooklyn,ny
    ok so i was thinking of getting the captivate and putting it on straighttalk or the like but as you all know the captivate...is well outdated techonolgy but idk i just love the phone but i aldo dislike alot about it what should i do? kan some captivate owners tell me about it thanks:D
     

    Advertisement

  2. Android26

    Android26 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    510
    40
    78
    Atlanta, GA
    What could you possibly dislike ;)
     
  3. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    32,670
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,670
    27,270
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The Captivate is now older technology, but still meets the minimum spec's for ICS (although I doubt there will ever be an official update). It's a very nice mid range device and should be able to provide a pretty good experience, especially for a new Android user. What would be your specific concerns?
     
  4. gueydejalisco

    gueydejalisco Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    87
    8
    16
    N/A
    brooklyn,ny
    lol im not a new android user and well idk the only thing i dislike about the phone is the procesor and memory
     
  5. malibu_rapper

    malibu_rapper Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    54
    2
    16
    I installed ICS on my captivate and honestly it's just about as fast with your basic apps as a Galaxy Nexus. The processors these days are faster and they do well with these cryptic benchmarks. But a Captivate on ICS will not disappoint, it doesn't feel slow.
     
  6. gueydejalisco

    gueydejalisco Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    87
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012

    Apr 22, 2012
    87
    8
    16
    N/A
    brooklyn,ny
    ok well thats good beacuse id like to have ics and ok when you first got the phone how much internal memory was there??? the specs on this site say theres 16gb installed mem so im assuming it had14-12 avalible to the user???
     
  7. Android26

    Android26 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    510
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010

    Dec 25, 2010
    510
    40
    78
    Atlanta, GA
    Yeah it was in that neighborhood. 13GB if I remember correctly.
     
  8. dchawk81

    dchawk81 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    22
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012

    Jan 21, 2012
    22
    3
    16
    There is plenty of space and power on this phone to run an ICS ROM.
     
  9. AmishFury

    AmishFury Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    167
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2011

    Jun 20, 2011
    167
    31
    43
    you have a hair under 2GB for apps and a hair over 13 for everything else (pics, videos, music, etc) and of course you can also throw in a microsd card

    there's nothing to really dislike about the captivate except for the gps... some people have better luck with theirs but for whatever reason none of the gps fixes have done jack for mine

    if you plan to use your phone for navigation you may want to look elsewhere the gps is only reliable enough for foursquare and weather apps

    the cpu and memory only cause problems if you want to play those high end games made for dual core devices or show off your benchmark scores

    also flashing a custom rom will improve performance noticeably (especially on your data speeds if the rom doesn't include the stock crippled modem)
     
  10. LoganCaptivate

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 27, 2012

    May 27, 2012
    3
    0
    5
    I own the captivate and i am strongly unimpressed. I would not reccomend this phone because its old, slower than most new androids, and samsung is not going to put anymore updates on it. The software is just going to completely be outdated very soon unless you decide to root and void your warranty which isnt the best decision.
     
  11. neonflash

    neonflash Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012

    Feb 11, 2012
    73
    3
    36
    i got a captivate and i luv it.
    it looks amazing and works a treat.
    i think 16BG is a decent sized memory i mean they still make smart phones that come wiht 2gb lol.
    plus there is always a sd slot if you want to expand.
    i'm sad samsung didnt give it a better camera 5MP isnt exaclty a lot but i'd say its one of the better smart phones.
    i'm over in the uk (where it wasnt ever relesed) so i dont really know how popular it ever was over in the states but honestly, i luv it!
    i also have an htc and it sux a$$ comparted to my cappy.
     
  12. lunatic59

    lunatic59 Moderati ergo sum
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #3
    Points:
    4,138
    Posts:
    32,670
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010

    Jun 12, 2010
    32,670
    27,270
    4,138
    Male
    IT
    Pennsylvania
    The Captivate was only sold via contract through AT&T. Even so, at the time of it's release it was the top of the line Galaxy S phone and AT&T sold a lot of them. And, they continue to "sell" them as "free" contract phones.

    Officially, the updates stop at gingerbread (2.3) but I have put ICS on a couple and it runs it very well indeed. IMO, better than gingerbread. But, as it ages, it is dropping back in spec's to a mid to low end phone which in comparison to the current models, you can understand why some don't think to highly of it.

    FYI, AT&T is a GSM network and the Captivate is a quad band "world" phone so it should be able to operate on any GSM network outside of the US.
     
  13. guygo

    guygo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012

    Feb 23, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    SoCal
    I bought a Captivate from an original owner for $100. At first I was not all that impressed due to what is termed around here the "Galaxy S Lag" (a persistent inability to rapidly respond to screen clicks, etc). I upgraded to Gingerbread, which didn't help the lag and added the "TetheringManager Bug" to the phone (great! ahhh!). I finally got sick of the TM bug and the lag, took the time to root the beast (as per forum guide here: http://androidforums.com/captivate-all-things-root/483646-guide-root-official-2-3-5-guide.html), got rid of the AT&T bloatware and TetheringManager, and now it is working very nicely. No TetheringManager crashes, and NO LAG! Totally wonderful! It will always be an old, out-of-date beast, but I have some very nice out-of-date hardware that works great! Now my Cappy can be added to that list.

    I hope this helps.
     
  14. Italo

    Italo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    745
    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010

    Aug 6, 2010
    745
    168
    113
    Male
    Student
    Atlanta
    I've had the Captivate since it first came out. It's been a good first Android/smart phone, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone at this point. Samsung has been horrible with updates on the handset, and aren't supporting it anymore. I don't know that I'll get another Samsung for that reason.

    The Captivate is OLD. The Galaxy S3 is out now.

    Get something that has ICS, or will get an update soon, has a better processor, more memory, bigger screen, etc.
     
  15. Snow_Fox

    Snow_Fox Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,498
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    1,498
    131
    163
    I wouldn't get it on contract under any circumstances..

    But, if you can snag one used and cheap, it still runs Jellybean like a boss.
     
  16. Lmorris96

    Lmorris96 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012

    Jul 29, 2012
    6
    0
    25
    I love the captivate!
    It has it's moments but it's a nice galaxy S and has a nice display!
     

Share This Page

Loading...