• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Apps Thinking of getting into dev. Am I in over my head?

A.Nonymous

Extreme Android User
Jun 7, 2010
I'm thinking of getting into Android dev just as a hobby more than anything, but I'm wondering if I'm getting in way, way, way over my head. I have some experience in programming, but not much. I spent 2-3 years in college learning C and can write some basic C programs and some object oriented stuff. I never learned how to interact with API's. The courses I took focused more on the logic and planning of programming. This I'm very, very good at. I can usually look at a buggy program and figure out where the logic flaw is, what functions are being called in the wrong order or in improper ways, etc... At the time I could look at other languages, figure out the basic syntax and cobble together very, very basic programs, but C was what I was good at.

However, I haven't done any of this since I left college about 10 years ago. Since then, my experience with programming has been limited to debugging and re-writing other people's login scripts for servers and workstations. So I'm wondering if I'm getting in way over my head here. I know the three basics of programming are the logic, the syntax and interacting with APIs. Logic I can do. I've never ever programmed in Java before (though I've done some light javascripting) so I have no clue how hard the syntax is to pick up or how much it differs from C or C++. I've never interacted with APIs before so I have no clue what that involves or how hard it is.

No your not getting over your head, I started with about 3 months of java programming and its not too difficult. It may take longer to get used to java but with having some programming background you shouldn't have a problem picking it up. As for using the api's, Google does a great job with its tutorials so just read through them before starting.