1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Thinking of switching to Android from WP8.1, but...

Discussion in 'Android Help' started by A windows phone user, Dec 27, 2014.

1. A windows phone user

None
    Hello everyone!

So, here's the thing: I've been using my Windows Phone HTC 8x for the past 2 years and have really enjoyed it, but since I've seen Android 5.0 today, I'm considering of switching.

I have one serious question that makes me apprehensive of the switch though. I really like the HTC One (M8), and if I stick with Windows, that's what I'll be getting (I'm on Verizon). So I've spent all afternoon looking at the HTC One on Android, and I'm left scratching my head...

From the videos I've seen, I LOVE the UI of Lollipop, but what is this talk about Sense 6 and Sense 7? I don't want HTC to force some "other" UI on me that I can't remove. I like Lollipop's stock UI, so I'm curious if there is an easy way for me to get and keep the stock UI. Because I don't want to get stuck for 2 years using an interface I don't like.

Everyone talks about the customization of Android, so is there an EASY way to have a stock Android phone while using Verizon, specifically, a stock HTC One? Because I've seen videos of making a Verizon HTC One a GPE version, but that seems like a pretty involved process just to get an option that should be made available from the start.

Thanks.

Advertisement

2. chanchan05

chanchan05 The Doctor

Jun 30, 2011
    Male
    Depends on what videos you've seen, but if you've been looking at videos of HTC One's you're seeing Sense 6/7. Anyway, without rooting, you can't get the exact stock interface because manufacturers hard code their UI onto their Android installations. You can make them look like stock though, just change the launcher, lockscreen, SMS app, etc. All of which are available on the Play Store.