1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Thinking of upgrading. Does sprint allow switching upgrades in a family plan ?

Discussion in 'Sprint' started by SMALBA, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. SMALBA

    SMALBA Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    253
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011

    Jan 11, 2011
    253
    16
    38
    Utah
    I'm on a family plan with 3 people, but only 2 lines are upgradeable. My line is not due for an upgrade , now my question is, can I use the upgrade from the other line and get a new phone for myself ? And if so how does it all work ?
     

    Advertisement

    marctronixx likes this.
  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,642
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010

    Feb 7, 2010
    1,642
    375
    163
    I do some stuff and get paid for it...that's all t
    Dallas/Fort Worth
    Yes, you just have to call customer service and have them change the upgrade to the other line. You can only change it every 90 days though so be sure that's what you want to do!
     
    marctronixx and SMALBA like this.
  3. marctronixx

    Moderator
    Rank:
     #35
    Points:
    683
    Posts:
    6,438
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009

    Oct 12, 2009
    6,438
    4,112
    683
    34.0522° N, 118.2437° W
    moved to Sprint section.
     
  4. Citizen Coyote

    Citizen Coyote Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    595
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011

    Aug 12, 2011
    595
    212
    113
    Austin, TX
    I'll second what Scorp said, talk to Sprint customer service and you should be able to swap one of the upgrades to your line.
     
  5. CarrieK

    CarrieK Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    784
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010

    Dec 6, 2010
    784
    424
    113
    Information Systems Analyst
    Nashville, TN
    Just based on my experience of course, but that is what I do. No one else really cares about what phone they get, so if I have an upgrade available and there is a phone I want, I just use it and have it activated to my number.
     
  6. iwillfearnoevil

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Typically I've found that Sprint CS will not swap the upgrade dates on line - I tried about half dozen times. However you can order a phone for one lines upgrade and activate on another. If you do this you probably need to order from Sprint or wirefly/letstalk/amazon/etc will slap you with termination fee if you don't put the phone on the correct line.

    Someone at a non-corporate sprint store said if my wife and i didn't mind switching phones for a few days, he would be able to do something. But then personally I'd feel obligated to order from him and at the time, the best deals for what I wanted were online non-sprint, so i passed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...