1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support This Kies mini situation is ridiculous at this point

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by thegoodeye, Mar 22, 2011.

  1. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I have done everything I can think of including being on the phone with ATT and on live chat with Samsung. I still cannot get Kies mini so recognize my phone. I tried an different version of Kies(the suggestion by Samsung tech) and that hasn't worked, The phone has been hard reset twice. It always hangs on the Odin downloading screen, too.

    I know people have had similar problems with the phone not being recognized, but has everyone been able to figure it out or are there many who have hit a brick wall and discovered that they simply cannot get their Captivate to be recognized? Any more solutions?

    Will ATT let me exchange for a refurb that is already updated?
     

    Advertisement

  2. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Anyone with some other suggestions on this issue?


    I bought my phone at Walmart, but if I get a refurbished replacement through ATT, will it come with 2.2 installed?
     
  3. robhs

    robhs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Dayton, OH
    I strongly suggest you get a quality data cable. I had two AT&T branded data cables (one came with the phone) that worked for a while, and then suddenly didn't.
    I finally broke down and spent 30 bucks for a higher quality cable. Since I did that, everything works fine. My 2.2 update through Kies went very smooth.
     
  4. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15

    You know, I've actually thought about that as being a possible problem. The cable I have is the original cable that came with the Captivate and is Samsung branded. Did our cable still mainly work, but just wouldn't transfer the data for this upgrade?
     
  5. Loremonger

    Loremonger Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    135
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    135
    8
    36
    +1 on getting a new cable. The original I got is really finicky. I have to leave the phone on the table and make sure I don't touch it while updating or transferring data or it will lose connection. Are you able to transfer data between your phone and computer? Music? Anything?

    You could try taking the cable to AT&T for a warranty replacement. That won't get you a better quality one, but it might get one that at the very least works (for a while).
     
  6. CaDreamer

    CaDreamer Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    2
    1
    6
    Some people have found using a different USB port has worked for them. I believe the ones in back of PC seem to be best for this.
     
  7. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I can't get any recognition through USB. This only started AFTER I tried to do the 2.2 update. I have tried ports on the back of the computer.
     
  8. dantheman2

    dantheman2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    95
    5
    16
    What OS do you have? (win XP or Win 7 (64/32) or ?) You might go to the device manager and see if the device is showing up and does not have an exclamation point for the driver. If it does, delete it in the device manager, then unplug the phone and plug the phone back in, get the drivers to get installed.

    Can you get it to be recognized as a mass storage device? If you can' that to work either, it could be the cable or port you are plugging into has something wrong with it.

    Also, if you flashed the phone with a custom ROM, it won't be recognized by Kies. You have to flash it back to 2.1 stock and then Kies will recognize and update it also.



    D
     
  9. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    I'm running 32bit system, It's not showing up in device manager with an ! mark. When I plug into the USB port, I just see "unknown device" appear under the "USB Controllers" list. I have tried connecting through mass storage and have not flashed a rom.

    Could that cable really be the problem? It works good enough to let the computer know it's not recognizing the device.
     
  10. robhs

    robhs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Dayton, OH

    Get the cable.
    I tried 5 different computers (XP, Vista, Win7 with 32 bit and 64 bit) with every port on them. I always had the same result, I got the "USB device not recognized" and the code 43.

    I was certain that it was the phone thinking that 2 OE AT&T data cables could not possibly be the cause of my problem.
    I was wrong.
     
  11. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15

    I just can't in good conscious pay $30 for a cable with all the hell I've been through with this phone. I bought my phone through Walmart. I wonder if an ATT store in my town will give me a cable for free if I explain my situation and complain?
     
  12. robhs

    robhs Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    175
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    175
    16
    38
    Dayton, OH
    I am not saying that you will have to spend what I did, just look around for something that is a little more robust. Or, maybe AT&T will do something for you.

    2.2 had been just released and I was so desperate to fix the connectivity problem. It was worth it to me.
     
  13. pac0naut

    pac0naut Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    103
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010

    Sep 13, 2010
    103
    4
    56
    COO of a small family run company... I sell copier
    Phoenix, AZ
    There was a cable post somewhere on this forum for an Amazon store that was selling the Samsung OEM ones cheap. I have 3 Samsung cables and each one has worked correctly.
     
  14. dantheman2

    dantheman2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    95
    5
    16
    Sounds like a driver problem. I thought Kies mini installs the required drivers for it.

    Try this:

    1. Plug in the phone to USB, get it to show the "unrecognized device". Then select that device in the device manager and delete it. Then, unplug the phone from USB.

    2. Unistall Kies Mini. If prompted to reboot, do it.

    3. Install Kies Mini again. If prompted to reboot, do it.

    4. Plug in the phone to USB again. See what happens.

    If that still does not recognize the phone in the device manager or Kies, then I would look for other USB drivers from Samsung.

    Search this forum for Captivate USB drivers and install those. There are also drivers with the Android SDK if you install that.

    ---------------

    Separate idea.

    Oh yes, the other issue I remember from 2.1 was to not have your SD card mounted connected to USB on your phone (like for mass storage) or kies won't recognize it. You may need to turn off and turn on your phone and select kies mini when you connect the phone. You might need to go into settings and make sure that you are given the option to choose kies mini when you plug your phone into USB.

    D
     
  15. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15


    When I right click on "unknown Device" in manager, there is an option to disable but not delete. Is there another way to delete?
     
  16. dantheman2

    dantheman2 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    95
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010

    Jul 16, 2010
    95
    5
    16
    You should be able to hit the delete key on the keyboard or right click the item and select uninstall.
     
  17. thegoodeye

    thegoodeye Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011

    Mar 22, 2011
    10
    0
    15
    Well folks, I'm done. I was on chat with Samsung again and their suggestions still did not work. I really do think it could be the cable. If it is, I will post back here to stand as another example for people who are experiencing this recognition problem.
     
  18. wretchedhorror

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011

    Mar 9, 2011
    56
    4
    16
    mine simply said "cannot upgrade phone reboot and try again later" or something along those lines

    i even unrooted- pulled sim-

    ill try again in a few days
     

Share This Page

Loading...