1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

This little piggy went to the Market, and came home with none.

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by AzJazz, Jan 26, 2010.

  1. AzJazz

    AzJazz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    99
    2
    16
    Has anybody figured out how to get past the Market bug that won't allow a US Credit Card to purchase an App listed with foreign currency?

    If I try to buy anything listed in Euros, I get an "Invalid Card" message.

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. CobaltDragon

    CobaltDragon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    107
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009

    I had no problem buying mypod which is listed in euros.
     
  3. jmt9779

    jmt9779 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    540
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    540
    56
    78
    NYC
    I bought Beautiful Widgets, no problem...Well, minor problem... I first tried using my American Express card but it kept saying "invalid card" or something, so I tried my Visa card and it went right through. Probably card issuer specific.
     
  4. Geezer Squid

    Geezer Squid Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    168
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009

    Dec 16, 2009
    168
    4
    36
    Sales Rep
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I've bought several apps that were listed with foreign currency too.
     
  5. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    118
    Posts:
    1,005
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009

    Nov 6, 2009
    1,005
    41
    118
    Northern VA
    I noticed I couldn't use AmEx for a Euro or Pound Sterling transaction.
     
  6. tsaunders

    tsaunders Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    419
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    419
    25
    43
    I had that issue and then put my info in again through the phones browser when I bought Beautiful Widgets and it worked after that.
     
  7. ttaylor0024

    ttaylor0024 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    659
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010

    Jan 2, 2010
    659
    188
    93
    Kansas, United States
    Ok, so I havnt bought any apps yet. Is there somewhere I can put in my debit card numbers and not have the price of the app go on the bill?
     
  8. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    payment information for the market goes through your google account. sign into your account and enter your payment info.
     
  9. AzJazz

    AzJazz Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    99
    2
    16
    Ahhh. That must be it. I have an Amex Card registered.
     
  10. JYo

    JYo Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    43
    0
    35
    I tried American Express, and Discover. Neither would work. I don't have a Visa card (I know, I think I'm the only one!). Anyway, I used my Visa rebate card from Verizon (from my Droid purchase) to buy Beautiful Widgets - worked perfectly!
     
  11. andrew_m

    andrew_m Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,377
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009

    Nov 22, 2009
    24
    1
    16
    Police Dispatcher
    Los Lunas, NM
    When I got Beautiful Widgets no problems with the market. But my bank didn't like it, they froze my card until I called them up and said I did make that purchase in Euros.
     
  12. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    64
    1
    16
    Verizon Rep
    OH
    i had the same problem with a discover card, put my Visa on and no problem,

    ***WARNING*** it may cost more than you think, Google will do the conversion at check out, but you card company will also charge you a little something extra for the currency conversion/ over-seas transaction.
     
  13. kennyidaho

    kennyidaho Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    416
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009

    Nov 16, 2009
    416
    5
    36
    Computer Technician
    Take a guess
    Wow I've not experienced that. I use a chase debit card and I always get charged whatever the google conversion says. If Google is doing the conversion to USD then how does your bank even know?
     
  14. ohvzwguy

    ohvzwguy Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    64
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    64
    1
    16
    Verizon Rep
    OH
    figures, it would just be me... just my luck thanks MBNA
     
  15. MisterEff

    MisterEff Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    366
    9
    56
    American Express does not do foreign currency. Try a visa card.
     
  16. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
    My credit card's company doesn't give a rats a$$, so never had an issue with it
     

Share This Page

Loading...