1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root This phone belongs to....

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mag1knj2010, Apr 25, 2010.

  1. mag1knj2010

    mag1knj2010 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    2
    6
    6
    Truck driver
    Parlin, New Jersey
    Hello all-

    This might seem like a dumb question but I cannot for the life of me figure out how to change that meesage at startup. (this phone belongs to...)
    Does anyone have any clue how to do this? please :)
     

    Advertisement

  2. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    I use the free market app "contact owner" that puts a "If found please contact..." on my lock screen. It has always worked great. Just run it and configure the contact info and text before/after message. Make sure to exclude it from any memory managers.
     
  3. mag1knj2010

    mag1knj2010 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010

    Apr 25, 2010
    2
    6
    6
    Truck driver
    Parlin, New Jersey
    Ill answer my own question did some browsing and found the answer to this question.
    this phone belongs to.... Is a message made by a third party program called antivirus free
    To change it touch antivirus
    then menu then settings then remote management then lost message.
    here you can change this phone belongs to your name.
    This message is not removable. The only way to get rid of it is to delete the app. (not recommended) to many creeps out there trying to mess things up! lol
    Hope this helps other people!
     
  4. MisterEff

    MisterEff Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    366
    9
    56
    Why would you need an antivirus app on a linux based phone? Seriously?
     
  5. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,290
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009

    Nov 27, 2009
    3,290
    825
    213
    Finance
    Pennsylvania
    I was about to ask the same thing. Even if you get a virus you can just wipe your phone and load a backup from before the virus
     
  6. MisterEff

    MisterEff Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    366
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009

    Nov 25, 2009
    366
    9
    56
    And he recommends not removing the app haha. It is just a waste of precious space.
     
  7. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    I am sure with the popularity of the Android operating system (and the nature of banking and other sensitive stuff people are using on their phones) we will see a need for anti-virus and similar "security suites" but as of now that time has not come. I did play with some of the anti-virus stuff available and found them intrusive, inaccurate, and for me, a waste of system resources and my energy.
     
    lookinin likes this.
  8. jfe

    jfe Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    332
    6
    36
    I tried using contact owner, and it told me that it may crash my phone, so never mind
     
  9. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    The warning is for HTC Android. I have been running it on my Droid since day 1 and it never crashed.
     
  10. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Shrink57, I tried Contact Owner, but found that the contact information completely obliterated the clock in dock mode. Have you noticed the same thing, and is there a way to have the contact information show in the lock screen, but not in dock mode?
     
  11. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    Now I feel so inadequate. I don't have a dock (dock challenged?) :( Gonna have to hit eBay to keep up with everyone here :cool: You are right. That is a serious flaw if it doesn't step out of the way when docked (just looked if there are any setting for that and didn't see any). Might give the developer an email.
     
  12. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I just got an EZStand (for $12.95 or something like that). It looks great, is lightweight so you can take it anywhere, but is still sturdy, and the magnet works just like the other media docks.

    Thanks for checking that -- I couldn't find any setting for it, either. I think I might just shoot the dev an e-mail -- good idea!
     
  13. shrink57

    shrink57 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,529
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009

    Dec 19, 2009
    1,529
    149
    143
    South Florida
    My fear is that if I buy a dock I will have it at my bedside and be messing with my phone all night long (I have a hard enough time to forcing myself out of my computer room which is also a small music studio as it is).
     
  14. peterdeg

    peterdeg Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 4, 2010

    May 4, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    IT Security
    Sydney, Australia
    Because our corporate security policy prohibits any mobile device connecting to our wireless network unless anti-virus software is installed and running.
     
  15. stephaniedang

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

  16. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    It works just fine. The contact info displays above the unlock sliders.
     
  17. barry99705

    barry99705 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    876
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009

    We just don't allow any mobile phones on the corp wifi period. We have a customer wifi that they can connect to. The only thing allowed on the corp wifi is corp owned laptops.
     
  18. Redflea

    Redflea Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    2,623
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009

    Oct 6, 2009
    2,623
    289
    163
    In Froyo you can set owner info in the lock screen settings
     
  19. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    Where, flea? I looked in the lock screen settings and can't find it -- it's probably something dumb I'm missing.
     
  20. esmith818

    esmith818 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    691
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009

    Nov 15, 2009
    691
    316
    113
    Web to Print Content Developer
    NC
    I see Settings > Location & Security > Screen Unlock (Show custom message). Of course, that may be added in CM6-RC1...
     
  21. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    It must be the ROM, because in BB V0.4, I have Settings>Location & security>Change screen lock, and there's no option for a custom message (only for None, Pattern, PIN and Password).
     
  22. tfleming23

    tfleming23 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009

    Nov 8, 2009
    201
    9
    36
    That option is not in Kangerade either
     
  23. GideonX

    GideonX Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Its in CM6RC1 only.

    I've installed BB, Kang, SS, and finally CM in recent weeks and only CM has it.
     
  24. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    453
    Posts:
    9,415
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009

    Oct 28, 2009
    9,415
    1,924
    453
    Male
    Graduate Research Assitant | That part time IT guy
    3rd Rock
    Yup, only CM.

    BTW - anyone know if Contact Owner works with a pattern unlock?
     
  25. GirLuvsDroid

    GirLuvsDroid Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,307
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010

    Jan 5, 2010
    1,307
    515
    213
    Corporate & Securties Attorney
    Wilmington, DE
    I've been using Contact Owner with PIN unlock and it works fine with that. But since you asked, I tested it and yes, it shows the contact info above the pattern dots. I didn't realize until now that with the pattern, you don't need to engage the unlock sliders -- but with the PIN, you have to first use the unlock slider to get to the PIN screen. Wonder why Android set it up that way? It would have made more sense (at least to me) to treat the pattern and PIN screens the same way.

    UPDATE: Just tested the password and it's treated exactly the same way as the PIN: you have to use the unlock slider to get to the password screen. In any event, I can confirm that Contact Owner works with all of these methods on Froyo.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...