1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support This phone likes to roam

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jsward12, Oct 1, 2011.

  1. jsward12

    jsward12 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    303
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Massachusetts
    I picked up the Epic 4G touch. Its awesome. Coming from the photon though, the photon as we know has a great reception. The Epic 4GT likes to roam in spots where there is full sprint signal. Using the network app, the prefered network type is set to WCDMA preferred which is odd because that is for GSM based carriers. The photon's setting was GSM/CMDA auto (PRL). So I went to change it on the Epic and it always defaults to WCDMA preferred. I am thinking that this setting is the cause of the signal/roaming issues.

    Any idea on how to change the preferred network type?

    Thanks!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. jsward12

    jsward12 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    303
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Massachusetts
    Hi, I did search the forum and couldn't find such a discussion. There are some other discussions about signal/reception but no specific to my question. If you have that link to the discussion i would greatly appreciate it!!!:eek:
     
  3. unplugged1

    unplugged1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    612
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009

    Oct 19, 2009
    612
    228
    93
    Irvine, CA
    As to your question of why it is defaulting to the W-CDMA, could you provide a bit more info? You mention that you are using a "network app". Could you be more specific as to where you are finding the W-CDMA info on your phone?

    I believe I saw the same issue with the Evo 4G.
     
  4. jsward12

    jsward12 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010

    Mar 18, 2010
    303
    26
    43
    Software Engineer
    Massachusetts
    Its an app called "network "which shows you the phone info as if you were doing the *#*#xxxxxx#*#*#* .
     
  5. taylormah

    taylormah Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    201
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    201
    29
    43
    Is it called "network" or something else? I couldn't find it in market searching for network. I am interested to know this answer too because I have hude signal related issues with E4GT. It tends to roam a lot sometimes even in my own home where otherwise it has good signal.
     
  6. fjumayao

    fjumayao Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    42
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010

    Oct 20, 2010
    42
    3
    16
    Network Engineer
    Hawaii
    I'm getting the roaming warning too often too, never had it with my Evo. Mmm any ideas guys? :thinking:

    Update: found this on the Sprint forum discussing similar issues, sounds like there might be a fix soon!

    http://community.sprint.com/baw/message/348037
     

Share This Page

Loading...