1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

This was a WEIRD SpeedTest

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by OcalaFlGuy, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    So my SpeedTest server location is usually screwed up even though I keep my Geepus on all the time. Most of the time, but not always, it stays set on the mid-west U.S. block of servers instead of letting me pick a more local one.

    So I just noticed that for a change it's homed in on the SE USA quadrant of servers. I go to select one of them while I can. Usually my closest server is a Comcast one in Jacksonville.

    Not today.

    The closest listed server was a freekin' T-Mobile Server in Orlando!

    Since when does T-Mo has land based servers working the Speed Test network?

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     

    Advertisement

  2. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    I'm pretty sure most ISPs let speed test apps bounce off their servers. I pretty routinely have mine bounce off of communication company servers when I run speed tests.
     
  3. OcalaFlGuy

    OcalaFlGuy Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,974
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011

    Let me be more clear.

    I have been using the original Speedtest App for probably 3 years now.

    I do not recall EVER seeing a Verizon (my prior carrier), a Metro server or certainly NOT a T-Mo server EVER pop up as one of my selectible servers for the test.

    Never.

    Bruce in Ocala, Fl
     
  4. GuitarG20

    GuitarG20 Clueless Senior Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    253
    Posts:
    2,065
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012

    Jun 23, 2012
    2,065
    972
    253
    Male
    Texas
    Ah, I see what you mean a little more now. Come to think of it, I've never seen any from a cell carrier either, but I've certainly seen them from charter, time warner, etc.

    I guess it makes sense if they've started letting it happen though, they are an ISP after all.
     
  5. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Yeah n4zty had posted it yesterday too and tmobile has much much better local routing I think metros was all centralized near the midedof the country
     
  6. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    I get Florida and newyork when I test I live in Detroit

    pronounced Dur Tee Dee
     
  7. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    Yea nazty posted in the fl sped test thread about there being an orlando based tower...i live 11 miles from it..but the speeds i get to it are about the same..
     
  8. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    The speed tests arent hosted from towers they're hosted on data centers
     
  9. Slickinator

    Slickinator Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    May 2, 2012

    May 2, 2012
    262
    14
    38
    Sacramento
    Same thin happened to me at school I used to get bad speeds with full bars and the school is built right next to a tower and today it connected me to a different server and my speeds were fasssttt
     
  10. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    I wont test off the comcast jacksonville server, nor will I test of many of the servers they give very slow results, the server it self just seems subpar or the data connection is limited.
    I like testing off @Colo in atlanta, or the speedtest server in washinton DC hell even Midco in souix falls sd
    and recently Lime and FPL in miami.

    Forget the kansas or ok servers they are worthless. Connected to a few on tn that worked well. but not as fast as many others.
     

Share This Page

Loading...