1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Those that have Rooted 2.1 post your results here!!!!

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by DonB, Jun 4, 2010.

  1. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    For those of you that have had issues with the Sprint official 2.1 Release and have had issues, and decided now to Root your 2.1, please post here and tell us if it is better, if your issues have been resolve on the Rooting, and what ever else you like about the Rooting other than the bloatware Proggies being removed, I am more concerns with Lag on calls, phone rebooting on Navigation programs etc...
     

    Advertisement

  2. BobBruff

    BobBruff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    24
    3
    16
    Albuquerque, NM
    The official 2.1 basically helped me finalize my decision to root where I was on the fence about it before. I'll have some time either tonight or tomorrow morning to root--I'll let everyone know afterwards how it goes. I've had issues with lag on calls/dialer, random rebooting, the mobile network cutting out for no reason at all...
    Any tips on what ROM to switch to?
     
  3. kjordan

    kjordan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Not able to root here. I get to step 3 and

    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb devices
    List of devices attached
    my serial # device


    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push unrevoked /sdcard
    cannot stat 'unrevoked': No such file or directory

    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push recovery.img /sdcard
    cannot stat 'recovery.img': No such file or directory

    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>adb push boot-patched.zip /sdcard
    cannot stat 'boot-patched.zip': No such file or directory

    C:\android-sdk-windows\tools>
     
  4. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    779
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Depends on what you want. Stock feel roms are fresh and damagecontrol. Most people who use these are happy with them. Here is a link for a sticky with a ton of roms to check out with info about them.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/31394-latest-custom-roms.html


    I prefer Fresh, because they are very complete and Flipz updates them and offers many fixes for issues that may arise.;)
     
  5. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Did you do the HTC software update that was just release, that maybe the reason why you cannot Root, just thought



     
  6. kjordan

    kjordan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    nope still on .5 not .6 scratching my head
     
  7. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    Make sure you extracted all the files to the tools folder. Otherwise it will not find the files...

    I rooted sucessfully. I think it is easier now then with 1.5...
     
  8. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    Dude! Did you notice that 2.1 was rooted yesterday? Its stickied!
     
  9. joseamirandavelez

    joseamirandavelez Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    190
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009

    Oct 31, 2009
    190
    3
    36
    Mechanical Engineer
    Puerto Rico
    If you are still in 1.5 you need to use the old rooting method. I suggest you go look for Fresh Pre-Kitchen (or Kitchen) in xda-developers forums. But I think its better to just install the update from Sprint/HTC and then root using the new method...
     
  10. kjordan

    kjordan Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    4
    0
    5
    Sorry for the confusion. I was on the official 2.1 and was referring to 2.27.651.5 vs 2.27.651.6. I was a moron, I got it now!
     
  11. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Yes or I wouldn't of asked others on there experience, dude


     
  12. AmericanHero

    AmericanHero Well-Known Member
    Rank:
     #593
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    181
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009

    Nov 3, 2009
    181
    18
    38
    Worked flawlessly! I had one small issue with the shell closing and just did a "adb shell" again and continued with the procedure. Loaded up "WIFI Tether For Rooted Users" to test things out. Tried the one from the market first and it didn't work. Did some searching and reading and found that this is the correct onr for the rooted hero...

    http://android-wifi-tether.googlecode.com/files/wireless_tether_1_60_htc.apk

    This is sweet!
     
  13. aclark414

    aclark414 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    151
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009

    Dec 13, 2009
    151
    13
    38
    Ohio
    Rooted with Fresh 2.1.2. So much better than RUU 2.1. Had so many problems, especially with lag when trying to call out from phone history. Fresh 2.1.2 resolves that, and so much more.
     
    DonB likes this.
  14. RemmuhJeff

    RemmuhJeff Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010

    Jun 4, 2010
    5
    1
    6
    I kept the RUU 2.1 but I cleaned off all the sprint bloatware and got the tether app, and now I'm happier then ever with my hero.
     
  15. caliboy99

    caliboy99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    74
    8
    36
    cali
    Just finished.. so easy it was redonkulous! Those guys at xda are masters to say the least.
     
    DonB likes this.
  16. americonium

    americonium Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009

    Sep 30, 2009
    94
    4
    16
    Airplane catcher.
    Massapequa Park
    With 2.1, I couldn't stream bluetooth to my stereo in my car. As I am rooting RIGHT NOW, I cannot say if it fixed it. Stay tuned my friends....
     
  17. DonB

    DonB ♡ Truth, Justice and the American Way !! ♡ ™
    Moderator Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #17
    Points:
    1,423
    Posts:
    19,390
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009

    Nov 30, 2009
    19,390
    8,121
    1,423
    Male
    18th Hole Of the Golf Course
    Keep us posted on how your move was, if it has cleared all your issue and what issues you had, give it a couple of days to see, this way we will know for sure, thanks



     
  18. tailsthecat

    tailsthecat Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    171
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010

    Apr 22, 2010
    171
    2
    56
    i rooted last night and posted results in the sticky.
    everything is running well. i deleted a whole bunch of useless apps and such. the boot time is halved and the keyboard in landscape is only slightly less laggy.
    edit: my dialer lag is 99.999999999% gone. i press numbers/call and it responds immediately.
     
    DonB likes this.
  19. BobBruff

    BobBruff Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009

    Dec 8, 2009
    24
    3
    16
    Albuquerque, NM
  20. caliboy99

    caliboy99 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    74
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010

    Mar 31, 2010
    74
    8
    36
    cali
    Well i rooted then i started having trouble with the mobile internet staying connected. I just installed Fresh 2.1.2 (just as easy thanks to youtube and geeks) so far its staying connected. The Dialer lag is sooo minimal now
     
  21. JonB

    JonB Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    66
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010

    Jan 13, 2010
    66
    2
    16
    Has anyone used the Evo/hero unrovoked 1 click app you download to the phone to root yet? Is it the same thing, but just and app that you run off the phone instead?
     
  22. jamiec

    jamiec Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010

    Feb 6, 2010
    24
    1
    36
    Cop
    Ohio
    I'm new to androids and this is my first android phone and first time rooting and it went perfectly and was VERY easy.
     
  23. lay6

    lay6 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    23
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    23
    3
    16

    I had the same problem...

    My first problem, I did not yet update to sprint/htc's released 2.1 O/S.

    I thought that would fix it but it didn't.

    I had to change from the pull down from charge only to disk drive.

    Then I had to manually copy the files to the scandisc.

    Then start over.

    Hope that helps you out.

    I'm stuck on the last step, it says no file/folders found with regards to ota.zip
     
  24. pinoy724

    pinoy724 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    124
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010

    Mar 27, 2010
    124
    18
    38
    That live wallpaper came with Fresh2.0d I think as one of the stock live wallpapers. It's a bit laggy on 2.0d. If you go with Fresh 2.1.2, there is a whole bunch of live wallpapers in the market. I recently have the retro live wallpaper which plays pacman.
     
  25. madflava54

    madflava54 Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Can you post the youtube link that you used to help you?
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...