1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

three uk signal

Discussion in '3' started by InfernalByte, Feb 5, 2014.

  1. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,672
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    Just a note of caution for you Ladies and Gents about 3/Hutchison Telecom and their 4G/LTE roll out.

    If like me you have a 4G phone (HTC One), and don't live in a 4G area, don't expect to get 4G when you travel into a 4G area. It is their policy NOT to update your phone with the 4G settings even if you request it, they will only update your settings if 4 you live in an area where 4G has already been rolled out!

    Stupid 3.
     

    Advertisement

  2. ih8kitkat

    ih8kitkat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    29
    1
    16
    Male
    engineer
    England UK
    in England 3 are a very poor network. very poor indeed.saying that tmobile are not too great in england either .but i have heard that in america tmobile are great.the area where i live.out in the wilderness lol, seems to be best with vodafone
     
  3. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #102
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    1,672
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010

    Oct 8, 2010
    1,672
    313
    203
    Male
    Hypnotherapist
    Puerto Pollo
    I find 3 OK, I'm using their tether as my main ISP as I got rid of my costly terrestrial line. 3 are a little slow and even slower during peak times but I've seen little difference in my 3 tethered service and and a dedicated wired router. If you think 3 are bad try EE. (Everythings Expensive (and no better than anyone else)).
     
  4. thugacation

    thugacation Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    44
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010

    Jun 22, 2010
    44
    0
    15
    I live and work in a 4G enabled area of London, so far no luck.
    I'm hoping having a custom Rom or rooted phone does't affect upgrades
     
  5. ih8kitkat

    ih8kitkat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    29
    1
    16
    Male
    engineer
    England UK
    it wont affect a phone upgrade once the contract is up.what do you mean by no luck?
     
  6. John Bean

    John Bean Happy Wanderer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,251
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    1,251
    458
    163
    Male
    Waterfoot, Lancashire
    That's the exact opposite of my experience. I've tried all of them and here in rural Lancashire 3 is by far the best performer and (importantly) also the cheapest.

    Even their customer services has improved out of all recognition in the last year or so. I've had a few hiccups during their current network upgrades (no 4G yet though) but I'm hard pressed to find much else to be critical about.
     
    psionandy likes this.
  7. ih8kitkat

    ih8kitkat Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014

    Jan 29, 2014
    29
    1
    16
    Male
    engineer
    England UK
    you should try being in rural norfolk then.all major networks are renound for not investing any money in this area.its so bad that its even gone to parliament lol. orange,3,tmobile,are awful where i am.the best of a bad bunch are voda and 02
     
  8. !on

    !on Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    824
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011

    Aug 14, 2011
    824
    120
    93
    Male
    UK
    That's why I have the 3 MiFi & my phone on another network. When I visit rural areas the MiFi stays upstairs facing the best signal, so at least I can get internet.
     

Share This Page

Loading...