1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General *Throws Eris at wall*

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by YoshiMan123, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    34
    0
    15
    You guys have been helpful in the past, so I'm coming here for this issue...

    After the official 2.1 update, my service has been getting slowly worse. The is a tower a half a mile down the road from me, and at random times the Eris will say I have no service. But I know it's not just the tower because I still don't get service randomly at places it's usually fine.

    It's working my nerves, and any advice on how to get this to stop is greatly appreciated.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    If you haven't already, try dialing *22899 on your phone. That may help the phone 'find' the towers.
     
  3. gary1973

    gary1973 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    40
    2
    36
    Kansas
    I am having the same problem and so is a friend who lives next door. Some days we have really good service and poor service other days. We have also noticed our 3g goes out. We have both updated our PRL, we have done factory resets. It is getting really annoying. We are pretty sure it is not the tower that is 1 1/2 miles away. My friends brother has the droid and has not experienced the problem. It started about 3 weeks ago we are both running the 2.1 v3 leak.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra=
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,343
    Posts:
    22,479
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010

    Your Eris is likely polling a more distant tower. The *228 procedure which mhotovec mentions can help the device lock into the nearest tower.
     
  5. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    34
    0
    15
    Unfortunately, those suggestions don't seem to be working. :(
     
  6. Podivin

    Podivin Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    3,679
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009

    Nov 29, 2009
    3,679
    881
    213
    Jacksonville, Fl
    One question, do you truly have no service, or is the phone showing low bars?
     
  7. MrDangerous

    MrDangerous Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    534
    Joined:
    May 21, 2010

    May 21, 2010
    534
    57
    78
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Try installing the antenna app from the market
     
  8. YoshiMan123

    YoshiMan123 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    34
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009

    Dec 12, 2009
    34
    0
    15
    I used to have 4 bars in my house, now I usually average 2.

    And yes, when I have no service there is the X where the bars are and nothing goes through.
     
  9. gary1973

    gary1973 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    40
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010

    Jan 10, 2010
    40
    2
    36
    Kansas

    I have checked my network settings and I hover around -96dBm
     

Share This Page

Loading...