1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Thunderbolt Can't Install Apps

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by ILoveMyDroid, Sep 17, 2011.

  1. ILoveMyDroid

    ILoveMyDroid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    267
    34
    63
    Ever since I unrooted my Tbolt it hasn't been able to install 2 out of 10 apps on the android market. some will install while others fail and show a message: Couldn't Install on USB mass storage or SD even though I'm sure my SD card works fine. please help me

    HTC Thunderbolt - Can't Install Apps - YouTube
     

    Advertisement

  2. TCM

    TCM Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    23
    Posts:
    85
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011

    Apr 1, 2011
    85
    32
    23
    I had this problem as well, but it was before I was rooted. There is a solution but you have to use it every time you this problem.

    1) Before you go to install the app, go to phone settings---> SD&Phone Storage--->Unmount SD Card

    2) Go to market and and redownload/install app(s)

    3) Remount SD card after app(s) have installed.

    I hope this helps.

    Edit: I recall another member mentioning a way to fix this problem by deleting some files (have to be rooted to do so for those files), but I wasn't rooted at the time so I never explored it further, so look into that for a permanent fix.
     
    ILoveMyDroid likes this.
  3. ILoveMyDroid

    ILoveMyDroid Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010

    Jan 4, 2010
    267
    34
    63
    Thank you so much, I tried unmounting my SD card and it appears to have worked so far.
     
  4. cookie_monster

    cookie_monster Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    548
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010

    Jul 28, 2010
    548
    94
    78
    IOWA
    there is a app out the called sd card rescan does the same thing but in like 1 sec
     

Share This Page

Loading...