1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tikl Touch to Talk (walkie talkie app)

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by ruinsatiable2, May 13, 2010.

  1. ruinsatiable2

    ruinsatiable2 Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    May 13, 2010

    May 13, 2010
    3
    1
    6
    Is the Tikl Touch to Talk app compatible with the Samsung Moment? If so, where can I go to download the free version?
     

    Advertisement

    smoses1990 likes this.
  2. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    Computer Technician
    Greenville, AL, USA
  3. slu

    slu Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 12, 2010

    May 12, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Tikl Touch to Talk currently requires android 1.6 or higher (as of 5/18). That may be why your samsung moment can't find it in android market because it is still running android 1.5. But I am sure they are expanding it to 1.5. Why don't you post a question on their facebook wall. TiKL - Touch To Talk | Facebook will take you there.
     
  4. IOWA

    IOWA Mr. Logic Pants
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    8,853
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009

    Dec 2, 2009
    8,853
    2,370
    433
    Network Admin
    Chicago
    samsung moment has 2.1 available now. download it and install. worlds better.
     
  5. bluenova

    bluenova OK Computer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010

    Jan 11, 2010
    1,616
    243
    143
    Driver
    W Midlands, UK
    I also don't find it on the Market running Android 2.1
     
  6. zerovertex

    zerovertex Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    88
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010

    Feb 11, 2010
    88
    1
    16
    Computer Technician
    Greenville, AL, USA
    Latest update adds 1.5 compatibility. All my friends and my wife have uninstalled it because it doesn't have a DnD feature, or they are tired of me bugging them... :)
     
  7. brnr17

    brnr17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    309
    17
    38
    Wisconsin
    this app is driving me crazy, i ALWAYS get a network unavailable message everytime i try to use it!
     
  8. jmwood

    jmwood Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010

    Apr 13, 2010
    48
    12
    18
    This app rocks on the verizon network! Look Out NEXTEL...:D
     
  9. armshouse

    armshouse Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    It keeps coming up with error connecting to network.

    I think it's something to do with my sim card having no telephone number attached to it (like it says on the start screen go to settings -> about phone -> status and you will see my phone number).

    I think this is a problem with Vodafone as it shows perfectly on Orange network. I have spoken to customer services who said there is nothing they can do about it. Am i the only one with this issue?
     
  10. Joewoowoo

    Joewoowoo Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    260
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    260
    7
    36
    Gillette, NJ
    Love this app. so far its been flawless !
     
  11. newyorkgreg

    newyorkgreg Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    39
    Joined:
    May 31, 2010

    May 31, 2010
    39
    3
    16
    How does this app work?
     
  12. georgiasuzy

    georgiasuzy Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 27, 2010

    May 27, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    Georgia USAUSA
    I get the "network unavailable" message every time too, haven't gotten it to work once. Read all the FAQs and waiting for a response on its facebook page.
     
  13. antdizzo

    antdizzo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    May 28, 2010

    May 28, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    im running froyo on a nexus one and i cant find this on the market, my brother sent me a link in a text to it and still didnt show up, i even scanned the qr code and nothing.. whats goin on?
     
  14. Dagosty

    Dagosty Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    There is an setting called "Use Cellular Network" if you turn it off Tikl will use Wifi instead. But it appears that it wont work until I kill the app and restart. Is that the only way to make wifi work...seems to be the same with other programs as well. If wifi is turned on once an app is launched you have to kill it and restart it for wifi to work. Is this correct?
     
  15. Mistawho

    Mistawho Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    20
    0
    15
    I totally love this app. All my roommates and I use this app. When i introduced them to this app, they all started loving the HTC EVO 4g even more!
     
  16. gripweed

    gripweed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    252
    9
    36
    Does this work on the incredible? I tried their instructions and don't get anything to work.
     
  17. gripweed

    gripweed Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    252
    Joined:
    May 11, 2010

    May 11, 2010
    252
    9
    36
    Nevermind...the other phones media volume was all the way down, so we weren't hearing anything haha.
     
  18. markketch

    markketch Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    276
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010

    Mar 21, 2010
    276
    192
    68
    Cleveland
    Yes, it works on the Incredible.

    This is a great app if you're communicating with someone who doesn't have service. For example, my GF lives in a dead zone, so she doesn't carry a signal. However, with Tikl we're able to chirp one another (as long as WiFi is enabled). Very handy.
     
  19. Iforgit

    Iforgit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010

    Feb 14, 2010
    56
    2
    16
    I just downloaded and this is an awesome app. My plans were to have my parents use this to communicate when they go to Europe. Works amazing on first tries in airplane mode with only wifi. So I restarted phone to see if you needed app open to contact someone or if it opened itself or what.

    Here's the problem. I have the samsung moment and in the phone settings - about phone - phone number, it shows "unavailable" until the phone reaches the cell network. So even though this will work in another country in airplane mode on only wifi. It will fail to work because the phone doesn't store the phone number in the phone all the time, and the app needs access to that number to work correctly.

    I posted my question on the facebook page, but I'm coming here because there's a lot of smart people as well. I don't know if other phones store the number in a similar way, but if they do this would be a huge upside to the app that doesn't quite work.
     
  20. steelersmb

    steelersmb Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    303
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010

    Jun 8, 2010
    303
    14
    38
    I have an EVO and this app crashes every time I click on contacts to add a contact. I don't know why, maybe I have too many contacts on my phone or something.
     
  21. DroidPower

    DroidPower Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    270
    13
    58
    does anyone know how to delete a contact from their favorite list in the App, i store a favorite but can't find how to delete the contact.
     
  22. brnr17

    brnr17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    309
    17
    38
    Wisconsin
    uninstall and reinstall is the only thing i found
     
  23. DroidPower

    DroidPower Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    270
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    270
    13
    58

    Yeah... that seemed to be my last option which leaves me to just leave the contact in my favorite list. I thought it was me and might of been missing something. thanks

    kind of strange not to have a deleted option though
     
  24. MysteryloverAnne

    MysteryloverAnne Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    35
    Posts:
    75
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009

    Nov 7, 2009
    75
    0
    35
    Minnesota
    OH and I tried this and found it worked only fifty percent of the time. Uninstalled, not worth it for us. :(
     
  25. brnr17

    brnr17 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    309
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009

    Dec 30, 2009
    309
    17
    38
    Wisconsin
    no problem, dont be afraid to hit the thanks button for me then! :D

    i had issues at first, emailed the dev and he was having problems. It's worked fine whenever i've used it the last few months now
     

Share This Page

Loading...