1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Support Time not updating

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Amshockeyfan, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. Amshockeyfan

    Amshockeyfan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    All of a sudden today the time in my status bar is not updating. It's updating on my home & lock screens. Anyone else have this happen?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Rukbat

    Rukbat Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    943
    Posts:
    10,392
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012

    Jan 16, 2012
    10,392
    2,897
    943
    Male
    Being retired and writing Tasker tasks.
    Fayetteville, NC, USA
    The time and date should be coming from the cell tower. Do you have service?
     
  3. Amshockeyfan

    Amshockeyfan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Yes I have service. The time is updating on my widgets &
    on my lock screen. It's just my status bar isn't.
     
  4. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    Welcome to Android Forums.

    Some possibilities ...

    I assume you rebooted and still have the problem.

    I assume you did a soft reset and still have the problem.

    Did you do a Factory Data Reset after upgrading to Jelly Bean? It is highly recommended after any major system upgrade.

    You could try running in Safe Mode (disabling all apps you added without uninstalling them) and if the problem stops it was caused by an app that you added.

    ... Thom
     
    argedion likes this.
  5. Amshockeyfan

    Amshockeyfan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    How do I get into safe mode?
     
  6. Thom

    Thom  
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,618
    Posts:
    12,114
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011

    Feb 16, 2011
    12,114
    5,021
    1,618
    Male
    Software Developer
    Keene, NH USA
    teddyearp likes this.
  7. Amshockeyfan

    Amshockeyfan Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    25
    Posts:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011

    Jun 28, 2011
    8
    0
    25
    Thanks Thom so far everything seems to be working. Booted to safe mode & deleted a few programs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...