1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Tip: don't set go launcher to a system app

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by jova33, Dec 27, 2011.

  1. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    So I have the go launcher and I removed the stock home launcher long ago. I was messing around and I set the go launcher to a system app and it went haywire, so I set it back to user app and it was still acting f-ed up. Waited a few and out was still acting up. Rebooted and then it got stuck at the loading screen for ten minutes. Did a battery pull and ditto.

    Adb reboot recovery worked though. Restored. Still a pain in the butt.
     

    Advertisement

  2. rjglenn

    rjglenn Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    719
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010

    Dec 17, 2010
    719
    101
    113
    Firefighter, agrimechanic
    North Florida
    The beauty of a working recovery
     
  3. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Yeah, that was an oh s--- moment. Glad that I installed.

    I've set other apps to system apps. Some no problem, some glitch out. Go SMS, no problem. Go contacts, no problem. Terminal emulator, big problems. Go launcher, major problems.
     
  4. graywulf

    graywulf Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    12
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011

    Sep 20, 2011
    12
    0
    15
    I had Go Launcher EX 2.7 smoothly running as a system app. After reading this thread and a subsequent update notification for Go Launcher, I moved Go Launcher back to a user app and then installed the update -- to be safe. After rebooting the phone entered a boot loop.
     
  5. Spike G

    Spike G Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    271
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011

    do you have the recovery installed?
     
  6. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    Maybe it was the transferring it back to a user app that screwed us. I dunno, but I'm not doing that again.
     
  7. dodgef25

    dodgef25 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    79
    7
    26
    I have several apps (games) that don't let me move it to the SD card. So I'm assuming those need to be switched to user.

    How do you switch the apps from system to user?

    I was rooted I unrooted to try to update which failed. But I'm assuming I need to be rooted and what after that. I did have Titanium backup which I don't remember seeing it but being unrooted at the moment I can't access it to see if the option is there.
     
  8. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    In titanium backup you long hold a selection and a menu will pop up allowing you to switch to system app.
     
    dodgef25 likes this.
  9. dodgef25

    dodgef25 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    79
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011

    Aug 28, 2011
    79
    7
    26
    Thanks. Sorry for the Hijack of the thread. I had to call Verizon and play dumb, like said before they made me do all the steps I already did. Took slightly over 1 hour on the phone. LOL New phone with the 2.3.3 update should be here by Wednesday. I will keep it un-Rooted till then.

    One quick question, is there a way to get all the apps to install automatically on the SD card, some do it on there own some don't and have to moved over?
     
  10. jova33

    jova33 Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    153
    Posts:
    1,566
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011

    Oct 19, 2011
    1,566
    182
    153
    militar
    El Paso
    I think there's an app for that. I only put the apps that the system lets me move to SD card on SD card. Some have to be on internal storage to work properly.
     
  11. Rafael

    Rafael Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    522
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    522
    72
    78
    Self employed
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Try Zeam.
    I just dumped Go Launcher for it. It's only 388k and does not try to do everything for you...inlcuding trying to sell you add-ons.

    If you de-Bing....it fixes the search button to work with Google-search just as Go Launcher does.

    I liked Go a few months ago.....but it has become "bloatware". My opinion.
     
  12. paxchristos

    paxchristos Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    455
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011

    Aug 27, 2011
    455
    113
    68
    there's a trick you can use in adb.
    If you open up adb shell and type in "pm setInstallLocation 2" it should automatically install most apps to sd card, the rest you can manually push (for the most part)

    Just be sure that any app your want to use widgets for is stored on internal memory.

    @everybody who had issue with go launcher, did you email the developers? Most of them are pretty good about responding and looking into errors, if you download alogcat (it's an app) you can get debug info to the developers...
     

Share This Page

Loading...