1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Tip/Trick - How To Use Vanilla Android Launcher Instead of Touchwiz

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by chris5h, Aug 30, 2010.

  1. chris5h

    chris5h Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    27
    3
    16
    So playing around I gigured out how to switch it:

    Press Menu > Settings > Applications > Manage Application
    Press Menu > Filter > All
    Scroll down to TwLauncher and tap that, then tap Clear Defaults
    Press Home and you will be prompted to select Home (Vanilla Android) or or TwLauncher (Samsung TouchWiz). Check "Use by default for this action" to set Home as the default Launcher if you like.

    If you ever want to undo the process, simply repeat the process but go to Home instead os TwLauncher.

    Enjoy.
     

    Advertisement

    Puddin422 and plainbrad like this.
  2. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    I'm not too familiar with TouchWiz. What does TouchWiz incorporate that stock Android OS doesn't?
     
  3. hinds2009

    hinds2009 Newbie
    Rank:
     #1,582
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010

    Feb 20, 2010
    17
    0
    15
    thats some good advice. I am strongly considering getting the galaxy s vibrant i9000. i will definately apply that procedure seeing that i am not a big fan of touch wiz.I may also try launcher pro or adw!
     
  4. iwillfearnoevil

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    you should post this in tips and tricks. it's a good tip :)

    edit: or maybe it's a good trick?
     
  5. chris5h

    chris5h Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    27
    3
    16
    Touchwiz is the home screen and launcher replacement that samsung put on the galaxy s
     
  6. drexappeal

    drexappeal Android Expert
    Rank:
     #24
    Points:
    1,133
    Posts:
    10,781
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010

    Apr 8, 2010
    10,781
    3,118
    1,133
    Male
    Entertainment Industry
    West LA, CA
    I'm familiar enough to know that Touchwiz is Samsung's launcher (ala HTC Sense on the EVO), but what I'm trying to figure out is if there are any extra widgets or extra apps that TouchWiz has that Stock Android wouldn't have.
     
  7. jersey221

    jersey221 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    387
    16
    38
    Washington
    yes it comes with widgets.
     
  8. iwillfearnoevil

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    this is like pulling teeth ... what are the widgets exactly?
     
  9. jersey221

    jersey221 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009

    Dec 18, 2009
    387
    16
    38
    Washington
    my bad didnt know you wanted to know what it comes with uhh theres a social media one and a clock one i think a stock one lol im not exactly sure but i do know there are some that comes with it.
     
  10. iwillfearnoevil

    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    nah he didn't ask but it got me curious too :) thanks
     
  11. kpenning

    kpenning Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    33
    Posts:
    78
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010

    Jun 7, 2010
    78
    66
    33
    bls, drexappeal and plainbrad like this.
  12. Adrift

    Adrift Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    716
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009

    Nov 1, 2009
    716
    104
    93
    College...
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Moved to Tips and Tricks to clean up the main Epic forum...

    Please Carry on...
     
  13. chris5h

    chris5h Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2009

    Oct 14, 2009
    27
    3
    16
    Woot. thanks for the move. Good video kpenning.
     
  14. UniqueNate

    UniqueNate Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010

    Apr 16, 2010
    287
    95
    53
    Majoring to become a Psychologist
    Alexandria
    I want to know if you can do this on any other Galaxy S phones. It was never talked about or shown on any other Galaxy S phone but the Epic.
    Notice that they all have a few adjustments to there unique features. Some are overlooked.
     
  15. antmon

    antmon Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    56
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010

    Sep 8, 2010
    56
    9
    16
    interesting, but being this is my first android phone, i like the current touchwiz set up....the vanilla android interface looks well.....very vanilla ;)

    is there any advantage to using it? i think just the landscape ability on the main screen? (currently, i have to pop the keyboard opened if i want landscape)...
     
  16. Puddin422

    Puddin422 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,382
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010

    Jun 17, 2010
    1,382
    114
    163
    Crossville, TN
    antmon, I accidentally ended up with the vanilla android after downloaded custom themes. I hated it after spending over a week with TouchWiz. I dug up this thread to figure out how to revert back. Sooo happy now. I, too, am new to Android and prefer Touchwiz.
     
  17. toybuilder

    toybuilder Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010

    Oct 12, 2010
    1
    0
    5
    EDIT: Never mind - it looks like the problem was caused by one of the apps that I installed around the time I switched back. I hard reset my phone and the problem went away until I started reinstalling my old set of apps. (Not sure which, but it's looking like either Sam's Club or the Vlingo app might be the culprit.)

    I originally said:

     
  18. jmichaelsk

    jmichaelsk Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010

    Nov 16, 2010
    26
    3
    16
    This is also handy for having a second home screen setup that is not normally needed. I have it set up on my wife's phone. She uses tw so I set up vanilla with all the widget and apps for backups or whatever. This way none of it is in her way on tw and when I want to test a new app or make a backup all the apps are already on the vanilla home screen. Onmine yo can hold down the home key and it will ask which one to load, but I am running launcherpro plus,widgetlocker homehelper.
     
  19. viisign

    viisign Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    86
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010

    Nov 7, 2010
    86
    1
    16
    you can also download "homeswitch" in the android market.its nice and easy to switch back and forth from launchers you want to use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...