1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tips Tips & Tricks

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by PyroSporker, Mar 26, 2014.

  1. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    HTC.com - U.S. | HTC One (M8) User Manual .pdf Guide
    HTC.com - U.S. | HTC One (M8) Support - FAQs

    Ran across a few new tips and tricks:
    • I was browsing through the User Manual from HTC and noticed that the volume buttons can now be utilized by the native camera and software without the need for a secondary application. This is a very nice feature (I think this is new with Sense 6 - not on Sense 5, unsure of 5.5) and might be helpful when trying to hold the phone carefully so as not to block the dual rear camera sensors with errant finger tips.

      Within the Camera Settings (3 dot menu) there is an option for selecting a volume button behavior - shutter release or zoom rocker. (p. 62 in pdf)

    • The notes on Ufocus and Duo Effects are really helpful as well. (p. 77 in pdf)



    • The 3 Finger Swipe can now be used for more media outputs than just the HTC Media Link. For example it can be used to send audio to almost any linked Bluetooth speaker (p. 34 in pdf)

    • There is a three finger tap that can be used within the Car Application. It is a shortcut to voice command mode. (p. 34 in pdf)

    • Last but not least, I learned that on the stock keyboard input, there is a shortcut where you can swipe left to get to the number input view quickly. New to me as I never knew about it on prior versions, but checked and it works on Sense 5 as well. (p. 46 in pdf.)

    __________________________________________________

    From our very own tipsters here at Phandroid:
    Phandroid.com | 35+ HTC One M8 Tips & Tricks [VIDEO]


     

    Advertisement

    dontpanicbobby, KOLIO and thicks56 like this.
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,878
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,878
    9,199
    1,413
    UK
    Can any application do that? It would be nice to be able to use the volume buttons to skip music tracks on a stock ROM, like you can on most custom ROMs.
     
  3. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    Sorry if I oversold it. I believe this applies only to the camera software and settings within the stock camera application.

    It would be nice to natively control music playback with the volume buttons, it is a no-brainer at this point and you'd think through the years it would have become added functionality already. One step at a time though I guess...
    Someone actually with the device will have to confirm by trying out the Sense 6 music application.
     
    Xyro likes this.
  4. swerver32

    swerver32 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    345
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011

    Nov 29, 2011
    345
    66
    53
    Seattle
    I tried it. Just controls the volume. Didn't see any settings to change that. I agree that should be a default slam dunk feature everywhere by now.
     
    PyroSporker likes this.
  5. Netherdragon

    Netherdragon Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    292
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010

    Oct 31, 2010
    292
    55
    53
    Male
    IT Support
    I'm loving the phone so far but, one thing is annoying me. How do you hide the home,back, multitask buttons when watching fullscreen video through....say...the YouTube app? Or is this not possible. I've never had on-screen buttons only before on my phones.
     
  6. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #18
    Points:
    1,413
    Posts:
    12,878
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009

    Dec 1, 2009
    12,878
    9,199
    1,413
    UK
    On devices with on-screen buttons, they typically fade out and disappear a few seconds after launching full screen videos. If you touch the screen whilst the video is up, they'll pop back into view.
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  7. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Holy smokes, I didn't know this possible. :p

    I'm running a Sense 5.5 rom on my LTEvo and this is included in there. Just checked it out and it works. Awesome find Pyro!! :D
     
    PyroSporker likes this.
  8. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    570
    135
    93
    I saw a review on YouTube saying you can't gesture without the phone being in your hand. That's not true. I can lay my phone flat on my bed and still wake the phone up or turn it off through gesturing. If the phone is laying on a flat surface like my bed just tap the screen once and then do your gesture. It will work like a charm. I think a single tap wakes the phone up. I don't know if this is a hidden gem or what.
     
    sikclown likes this.
  9. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    570
    135
    93
    The swipe up comes in handy! Especially after someone sends you a text and your screen times out.
     
  10. Unforgiven

    Unforgiven OK Google
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #2
    Points:
    4,238
    Posts:
    33,689
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010

    Jun 23, 2010
    33,689
    34,048
    4,238
    Male
    Douglas, MA
    similar topics merged.:)
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  11. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    I think the single tap is mimicking motion, which is what the gestures require to wakeup. Great tip!
     
  12. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    570
    135
    93
    HTC should be paying us for figuring this out for them.
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  13. today

    today Android Expert
    Rank:
     #221
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    774
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010

    Mar 30, 2010
    774
    175
    103
    Male
    spanaway washington
    When watching a video (not streaming) slide two fingers left or right to fast-forward or reverse. Repeat to double the speed.
     
    Blade of 3 and PyroSporker like this.
  14. Tlicious1020

    Tlicious1020 On Probation
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    570
    Joined:
    May 24, 2013

    May 24, 2013
    570
    135
    93
    Don't you hate it when autocorrect repeatedly selects a word you spelled correctly? When that happens, type out the word three times in a row. The word predictor won't do it again.
     
    Blade of 3, GTCC, olbriar and 2 others like this.
  15. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Anyone tried a 3rd party launcher (HOLO/APEX/NOVA) & have the ability to change/customize the long-pressing feature w/the on-screen buttons?

    This was one thing that I forgot to try out w/the demo model @ the store yesterday.

    THX!
     
  16. SolApathy

    SolApathy Just another robot
    VIP Member
    Rank:
     #86
    Points:
    333
    Posts:
    1,832
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010

    Jun 1, 2010
    1,832
    1,459
    333
    Male
    IT
    Ohio
    The long press menu feature is not working correctly yet on Nova on this phone. though you can single tap on the home screen to activate a feature (I selected flashlight). In any other app double tapping home launches flashlight.

    Swiping functions for Nova also work, though the default swiping actions on the lock screen are borked
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  17. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Is there an actual menu button/function available w/the on-screen buttons?

    I think I remember it being only with/the three dots, wherever they may be, on any particular page/app.

    I'm pretty sure this is a KIT KAT thing, I saw the same on the GPE MOTO G & up to the mfgs if they wanna stray from it, or, choose to alter/keep the JB layout.
     
  18. sikclown

    sikclown Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,910
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009

    Nov 21, 2009
    1,910
    965
    213
    Male
    Business Owner
    New Orleans, LA
    There was an option to hold down the Home Screen button for the Menu button but it didn't work in the release ROM and the Sprint Update that just came out removed it all together. I can't speak for any other variants.
     
    KOLIO likes this.
  19. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    FWIW, the S5 has the same deal, no real working menu function w/the capacitive buttons (at least by default).

    So, this seems to be the status quo w/new handsets releasing w/KIT KAT out-of-the-box.

    I'm hoping, but not optimistic, that GOOGLE will backtrack & have the menu accessible from the on-screen buttons.
     
  20. AndroidRider

    AndroidRider Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    155
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010

    Sep 1, 2010
    155
    10
    58
    Male
    Nissan Sales
    NJ
  21. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Anyone tried a rotation-control app w/the M8,just to see what it does w/BLINKFEED & the stock desktop/app drawer?
     
  22. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    I've been utilizing the stock HTC Calculator application at work alot lately.
    I noticed that when turning off the screen via the power button, and with the calculator still open on the screen, when turning the screen back on, the lock screen is skipped and the calculator remains on the screen.
     
    Granite1 and KOLIO like this.
  23. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    Just checked this myself,ditto on the T-Mobile version.

    Another quirk to add to the list,along w/the always-visible Bluetooth bug.

    Nothing crippling,but,somewhat in the same category (security bugs).

    I'll call HTC in the A.M. & report this,the more that do so the merrier........
     
    Granite1 and PyroSporker like this.
  24. PyroSporker

    PyroSporker Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #91
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    1,779
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010

    Apr 3, 2010
    1,779
    1,285
    323
    It definitely occurred to me that it could be considered a security hole, I didn't want to allude to it though. I kind of like not having to swipe the lock for the calc. :) It is a "feature"

    I don't use a pattern/PIN/password lock, how about you? If it bypasses patterns, passcodes, or BYOD corporate policy, then it is kind of a huge deal.
     
    Granite1 likes this.
  25. KOLIO

    KOLIO Guest
    Rank:
    None
    Posts:
    0
    Joined:

    I don't use anything other than swiping the lock screen. No codes/etc.....

    Samsung had a similar situation on the GS3,a bit more difficult to bypass the lockscreen, but, it was possible.
     
    Granite1 and PyroSporker like this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...