1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tired of ADW EX redraws? Try "Mr. Home" launcher...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Teegunn, Jun 2, 2011.

  1. Teegunn

    Teegunn Android Expert
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    967
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010

    Apr 7, 2010
    967
    165
    93
    Male
    No I keep my display in portrait. Spare parts I believe has a cache manager and mine was set to aggressive. I changed it to normal. I have zero redraws at this point and the phone is faster overall after making the build.prop and other changes I mentioned above. Overall I am now very happy with ADW EX and the phone in general with GB on it.
     

    Advertisement

  2. mahers

    mahers Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,320
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010

    Apr 2, 2010
    1,320
    164
    143
    Male
    Product Manager
    Concord, CA
    Not quite, my friend. Blur can resize Moto widgets only. It won't let you resize other app widgets. :rolleyes:

    I also followed Teegunn's suggestion in Spare Parts to change the Task Killer to Normal. Oddly, nothing was checked when I went in. I picked Normal, and PRESTO! No more redraws!!!! :)

    P.S. Looks like SP was updated to SP+ if you want it to work with GB. OPtions are limited unless you are rooted, and no more Task Killer option!:mad:
     
  3. zeppelinrox

    zeppelinrox Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011

    Jun 5, 2011
    3
    0
    5
  4. chmodx

    chmodx Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    566
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010

    Dec 31, 2010
    566
    25
    68
    I recently installed Go Launcher and uninstalled it about 2 hrs later.

    Before running it I got rid of all widgets/icons on my original home screens.

    Go looked great and ran fine at first, but eventually became horribly slow. Scrolling from one screen to the next resulted in a redraw every time, programs not even launching when tapping on their icon repeatedly. Horrible.
     
  5. md88

    md88 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    54
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010

    Jul 5, 2010
    54
    4
    16

    It's funny how phones act differently. That was why I left lpp and went to go launcher and haven't had nearly the redraws I had with lpp.
     
  6. mac16

    mac16 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    141
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010

    Aug 25, 2010
    141
    17
    38
    Im in agreeance with this. Specifically go launcherex for me. It is perfect and honestly since I put it on from froyo to gb I have never seen any lag at all on my screen.

    Also you have to remember redraws are more then likely because you have a lot going on your screens. i would consider eliminating the one you don't use as much
     
  7. MutantCheese

    MutantCheese Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    781
    Joined:
    May 17, 2010

    May 17, 2010
    781
    99
    78
    Edge of Insanity
    I have not had a single LPP redraw since applying this. :D:D Thanks again.
     
  8. givver

    givver Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011

    Sep 21, 2011
    2
    0
    5
    I was just having the same problem with Go Launcher Ex redrawing a lot whenever i unlocked my phone using widgetlocker. I have an Atrix and it worked great on Froyo with no redraws. But as soon as got the ota update to Gingerbread i started getting lots of Redraws.
    This drove me crazy for a few week until i decided to contact the developer of widgetlocker. They were very helpful and helped me figure out what the problem was. As it turned out it had nothing to do with widgetlocker but had to do completely with Gingerbread and it's aggressive memory management.
    I was using a Task switcher (AppSwitch or Pre Home) and had it assigned to my Home button and was having it load Go Launcher. This setup worked fine in Froyo but in Gingerbread i got Screen Redraws a lot.
    The fix was simple. I assigned Go Launcher Ex directly to my home button and moved my Task Switcher to the Long Press Search button.
    I have not had a redraw since. It appears that Gingerbread will keep whatever program is assigned directly to the Home button in memory but not the real launcher. It was keeping Pre Home in memory instead of Go Launcher.

    Fix: Make sure your launcher is assigned directly to your Home button and not being launched by a Task Switcher or similar app.
     
  9. B360155

    B360155 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    249
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011

    Jan 13, 2011
    249
    57
    53
    North Richland Hills, TX
    I'm not following your fix. Do you have to be rooted to perform these changes? If not, can you provide more detail on how to assign GO Launcher to the home button rather than launching it via a task switcher app (I use Home Smack). Thanks!
     
  10. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Only time a get anything like a redraw on Go is when I turn the phone off and reboot. If I leave the phone on or just shut the screen off, it works PERFECTLY. Rooted Froyo here.
     
  11. varaonaid

    varaonaid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    621
    128
    103
    VT!
    I know this is an older thread but I'm having redraws with any launcher and wanted to try this fix. I follow everything exactly but when I get to actually editing the text file, nothng will type into it. I can backspace and get rid of lines of code but not add any. I tried changing permissions so anyone could write to the build.prop file, I made sure I was in the correct R/O vs R/W mode. And, I tried two different text editors. Any other ideas how to up the priority of an application?

    Thanks for the info!
     
  12. evltwn

    evltwn Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011

    Nov 17, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Torturing kids
    AZ
    Just a question for you....are you rooted? You have to be rooted in order to use Root Explorer.
     
  13. bigbadwulff

    bigbadwulff Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    2,442
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010

    Jun 15, 2010
    2,442
    200
    143
    Once I switched to Go, I never looked back. Works great for me. The Go keyboard? Well that is another story. It sucked. It's version of Swype was horrible.
     
  14. varaonaid

    varaonaid Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    103
    Posts:
    621
    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009

    Sep 4, 2009
    621
    128
    103
    VT!
    Rooted? Definitely, of course. :) Makes for a happy phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...