1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Titanium backup & android 4.0

Discussion in 'Android Lounge' started by victo050, Dec 19, 2011.

  1. victo050

    victo050 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    I have a Nexus S on at&t. A while a go i rooted it and its been pretty great, but i heard that the nexus s is getting an update to ics and i have a couple of questions

    a)When the update comes, will i get it?

    b)Will i be able to update even though i rooted?

    c)Will i be able to use titanium back up to restore my settings even though it is the stock ics? or while i have to get a rooted version of ics as well.

    d)When will the update come out?

    e)Is there a rooted version of ics for the Nexus S?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Granite1

    Granite1 Zercron Encrusted Tweezer
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    833
    Posts:
    7,159
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010

    Dec 27, 2010
    7,159
    7,180
    833
    Male
    Highway Construction Inspection
    Pittsburgh, PA
    As a rooted user it's not wise to update your phone with an ota (over the air) update that is pushed to your phone.
    The best thing is to wait until you have a rooted Rom from the latest ota and flash that Rom from recovery. Most times you will have this Rom available before It's released, at least that was the case with my Evo 4G. Now a Nexus I'm not 100% sure when an ICS Rom will be available.
    Once you have the ICS Rom available Titanium Backup shouldn't have an issues.
     
    victo050 likes this.
  3. Casual Pete

    Casual Pete Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    546
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010

    Apr 27, 2010
    546
    84
    78
    England
    There's already ICS roms available a new one that says it for your phone can be found here I'm using this one and it's butter smooth,runs really well there's a link in there near the download link for the at&t radio which I would assume you would have to flash after.
     
  4. victo050

    victo050 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    can ics run applications from gingerbread?
     
  5. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    In the majority of cases, yes.
     
    victo050 likes this.
  6. victo050

    victo050 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    OK last question. If I back up my phone on gingerbread. Can I use titanium backup to restore it on ics
     
  7. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Apps and data, yes, configuration settings, possibly not as many of these may change for ICS.
     
    victo050 likes this.
  8. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    I don't know how Nexus S users experienced it. But when I tried to install apps that I backed up from Gingerbread on my Evo 3D w/ an ICS port, I had issues. It could have been the build (it's an alpha build) wasn't capable, or maybe a few of the apps just didn't want to install, but a batch restore just made the app freeze.

    This is just a limited experience with it. I installed all my apps and just did a batch app data restore and it seemed to work fine.
     
    EarlyMon likes this.
  9. victo050

    victo050 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    when i update to 4.0 do i have to unroot? Im guessing no but im not sure. im not going to use the ota update but when i do update is it just like flashing a rom?
     
  10. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Exactly, do not unroot. Once rooted, avoid the OTA, find a rooted ICS rom that's getting good reviews for your phone in our forums, make a full nandroid backup, and flash ICS as you would any other rom.

    See our user community for Nexus S rooting here - Nexus S - All Things Root - Android Forums

    And also the XDA-Developer links offered by Casual Pete earlier in this thread.
     
  11. jerofld

    jerofld Fixing stuff is not easy
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,687
    Joined:
    May 10, 2011

    May 10, 2011
    7,687
    4,270
    313
    Male
    I fix stuff
    Over there <points>
    You can update to ICS by flashing an ICS ROM that is designed for your device. No unroot necessary. And, if you want to keep root, unrooting and taking an OTA may mean that you can't get root back until a dev figures out how to root the new build. I hear the Nexus line is practically rooted out of the box, but this is the Android Lounge, I got to put that disclaimer out there :)
     
    victo050 and EarlyMon like this.
  12. victo050

    victo050 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    nandroid backup?
     
  13. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    VIP Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,631
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,631
    70,445
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    Once rooted, you may have installed a custom recovery, such as Clockwork Mod (CWM) or Amon Ra.

    These operate below / instead of your normal phone rom, and you probably have used it to flash a new rom (if you've done that yet).

    It has the option to make a perfect image backup of your existing rom - that means the rom, your apps, your data, the whole bit - in an image to your SD area.

    If rooted, always do that before flashing a new rom.

    If anything goes wrong with the new one, you can reverse the process to do a nandroid recovery. It's like stepping back in time to the point of the backup, as if through a time machine, where nothing has happened. For extra protection, I backup my backups to my PC.

    It's your lifeline as a rooted user. Ask for exact details in our Nexus root forum, via the link I provided. You want to follow the right instructions for your phone, not mine, on that one. :) ;)
     
  14. victo050

    victo050 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    13
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011

    Jul 12, 2011
    13
    0
    15
    i have clockwork but how would i make the back up? would i use the app?


    edit: nevermind i figured it out, im assuming you can just load it from the sd card using rom manager

    Thanks for all the help, now i just need to find a good Rom :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...