1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Titanium Backup Force Close

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skinien, Aug 4, 2010.

  1. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    I just rooted and installed titanium backup in order to remove the stock att apps. I keep getting a Force Close. I've tried rebooting the phone and reinstalling and that didn't help. Any ideas?

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement

  2. NukaCola

    NukaCola Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010

    Jul 18, 2010
    24
    2
    16
    I just updated to the new version and that is happening to me as well, I'm sure it'll be fixed soon. Just hold off from updating to version 3.3.5.1 for now.
     
    skinien likes this.
  3. acp

    acp Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    996
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009

    Nov 13, 2009
    996
    71
    78
    I found the same thing, just download root explorer instead
     
    skinien likes this.
  4. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    Thanks guys.
     
  5. Fate0n3

    Fate0n3 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    137
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010

    Jul 21, 2010
    137
    3
    36
    Same issue here since the update. I say they will have another update within a few days to fix whatever the issue is.
     
  6. Droopie28

    Droopie28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    72
    4
    16
    I sent them an email earlier today, with the error message and the force close... I would hope to get some kind of reply... donated yesterday
     
  7. Droopie28

    Droopie28 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    72
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    72
    4
    16
    Hey Everybody, just got an email back from him, he said he reverted the availabe software in teh marketplace back to the old version, YaY!!!
     
  8. DaddyWhale

    DaddyWhale Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    32
    4
    16
    I got the same email. He added that he always maintains an older version on his webpage (http://matrixrewriter.com/android/files/TitaniumBackup.apk).

    btw Joel seems like a very responsive guy. Am very glad that I made a donation. Plus now I can freeze bloatware.


    DW
     
  9. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    Yep... works now!
     
  10. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    If this thing works likes it says it does, I'll definitely be making a donation. What a great app.

    I do have one question I'm hoping one of you can answer: If I have scheduled backups, do I need to leave the app running in the background? Specifically, if I have a backup scheduled tonight at 2 am, do I need to open the app and leave it running in the background before I go to sleep, or will it auto-start itself?
     
  11. skinien

    skinien Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    634
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010

    Jul 23, 2010
    634
    86
    78
    Wow! Joel already got back to me. It looks like you don't have to worry about it:

    Don't worry about the scheduler service - it sets up an alarm at backup time, so if you ever kill the process, the Android OS should automatically start it again.

    Best regards,

    Jo
     
    DaddyWhale likes this.
  12. 93_til

    93_til Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011

    Mar 7, 2011
    1
    0
    5

    Found this post via google and had to register just to say thanks. SO THANKS! This link got it working on my phone. For some reason it was force closing on back ups.

    I have to say Joel is a great guy. Super responsive considering how many people use his app.

    Thanks again!
     
  13. Jack45

    Jack45 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,186
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010

    Jul 13, 2010
    1,186
    239
    143
    First, welcome!

    I, too, had excellent interaction with Joel and wrote as much a while back. That said, as good as Titanium is I strongly recommend spending another few bucks on MyBackup Pro. There have been times when Titanium crapped out during a restore and I was fortunate to have a Plan B (MBP)...and vice-versa.

    Bottom line: Have two backups and store them on an external microSD card.

    For more backup info, see: http://www.capfaq.com/w/Backup (if you haven't already).
     

Share This Page

Loading...