1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Titanium Backup Free vrs Pro

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by Lohung, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    387
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    ok so i been trying to figure out the differences with Titanium Backup free and Pro and basically the only thing i get is.. 1 touch restore with the free version lol.

    anyone else have both at one point and know the differences? Seems, and i could be wrong cause the market is not clear, both backup to drop box, both backup the apps & data & system stuff.

    also 2nd question... Does Titanium backup allow you to backup to the SD card if you want? if there is a SD card on your phone..

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement

  2. metlcat

    metlcat Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    547
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010

    Oct 24, 2010
    547
    221
    93
    Law School Student
    The pro version also allows multiple backups. If you have a phone with an sdcard, I believe it should automatically backup to the sdcard (only experience is with an Eris, so this might have changed between the Eris and the GNex).
     
    Lohung likes this.
  3. snapcase

    snapcase Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    449
    69
    53
    The pro app on the market is just a key that turns the free app into the pro version. So I don't think it's possible to have both. The paid app has a full overview of what features it unlocks in the market description. I don't know about the SD card bit, but the galaxy nexus doesn't have an SD card.
     
  4. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    Buy the Pro version it is worth it.

    One of the biggest things i like is batch backup/restore. ON the free version you have to backup/restore each app one at a time. The pro allows you to do various batches. Like back all apps up at once. Restore all missing apps with or without Data.
    Yes it backs up to sd card.
     
    vandyman, jbdan and Lohung like this.
  5. jse2480

    jse2480 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011

    Dec 18, 2011
    43
    13
    18
    Albany, NY
    i believe you can also freeze and unfreeze apps witht he pro
     
  6. ebe3692

    ebe3692 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011

    Nov 18, 2011
    154
    294
    88
    the first time i restored like 50 apps one by one - I realized it was worth it to buy the pro version
     
    jbdan and trophynuts like this.
  7. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    It took me until the second time....!

    Anyone else notice the feature baked into ICS now....under settings, backup & reset.... the option to have google backup app data and settings....

    When I had to swap out my defective GN, I was pleasantly surprised to find all my apps re-installing on the replacement phone.
     
  8. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    that is in there with gingerbread also.

    It keeps your contacts backed up as well. I've found though that it only backs up "paid" apps.
     
  9. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    387
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    well i am currently using the free version.. does anyone have it constantly saying "Titanium Backup has been granted Superuser Access" flashing on and off on your screen

    Update:
    well i rebooted and it stopped the CONSTANT flashing of that "Titanium Backup has been granted Superuser Access"but it still does it every time i scroll through the list off apps on TIBU... any one else? is this normal?"
     
  10. snapcase

    snapcase Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    449
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009

    Dec 3, 2009
    449
    69
    53
    When I reset my phone in order to root, it actually started downloading all my apps, free or bought. However, for some reason almost half of them sat there in the "My Apps" window in the Market and had to be started manually... but it was still a huge time saver.
     
  11. Tim K

    Tim K Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    183
    Posts:
    1,649
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009

    Nov 2, 2009
    1,649
    471
    183
    Male
    Phila, PA
    yeah, it did appear to re-download my apps, but I think the market gets jammed up when it tries to update 50 apps at once.

    Also, I don't know if it backs up the app data or just re-installs the app.
    That's why I use Titanium.
     
  12. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    387
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    the market does not backup appp data like saved files and settings. it just puts the app back on your phone
     
  13. nj02vette

    nj02vette Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    2,346
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    2,346
    2,034
    313
    Male
    Marlton, NJ
    The pro version is worth it.

    However, the free version does let you do batch backup operations, just not batch restore (if I remember correctly).

    Think I'm going to move this thread over to the Apps section since it isn't SGN specific.
     
  14. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    7,331
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    7,331
    2,526
    313
    Making you wonder?
    Lone Star State
    also with the pro version, you can freeze apps instead of deleting them. ;)
     
  15. Matt31

    Matt31 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    111
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011

    Aug 30, 2011
    111
    9
    56
    South Korea
    You can freeze with the free version as well actually.....

    Someone mentioned "backing up to drop box".....
    Where and how can I do that?

    I have found that when I do a fresh rom install that the market only remembers the paid apps that I have purchased. The first time, like you guy said, it shows all of the apps, but then it freezes. Once I cancel those installs, only the paid apps show up....
     
  16. medlinwsp2m

    medlinwsp2m Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010

    Aug 9, 2010
    2
    0
    5
    I believe the pro version uses SQL lite for backing up and restoring and the free version does not.
     
  17. Mayhem

    Mayhem Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    123
    Posts:
    888
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010

    Sep 23, 2010
    888
    152
    123
    Male
    Senior Engineer - Software Quality Assurance
    Austin, Texas area
    Does the free version allow backing up to Dropbox? I've had the pro version so long that I don't remember.
     
  18. Pappy35

    Pappy35 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    229
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2012

    Sep 27, 2012
    229
    15
    58
    Male
    Aerospace Engineer
    Memphis, TN
    I tried that but it failed since center my storage wasn't big enough. Also, it took something like an hour and a half to upload by wifi (my ISP averages around during 25mbs).

    It worked on my Googledrive but took about as long.

    I'm gonna let it do its thing tonight assuming I've set it up properly. I'm doing this on a rooted Nexus 7 tablet with the TBP version. I managed to root it without bricking the thing so I'm a semi-not-dangerously-stupid user but TB is not very intuitive. Given a little more time I'll probably figure it out but for now that what I think.
     
  19. Lohung

    Lohung Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    387
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011

    Dec 15, 2011
    387
    56
    53
    Pittsburgh
    well i bought the pro version.. so it was worth it
     
  20. Adauth

    Adauth Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,664
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    1,664
    204
    163
    Male
    Oil and gas industry.
    New Orleans
    Pro version is definitely worth it. Especially if you're rooted.
     
  21. RoWilJr

    RoWilJr Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    123
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012

    Jan 7, 2012
    123
    39
    63
    Male
    Here nor There
    this^^^
     

Share This Page

Loading...