1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Titanium Backup "Freeze" fail

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by pm1066, Apr 18, 2011.

  1. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    I noticed as the builds have progressed from 2.2.1 that Titanium Backup's Freeze function isn't working on some apps, or sure isn't consistent. I've had Launcher Pro frozen and it still showed up in the market.

    Anyone else seeing this?
     

    Advertisement

  2. pm1066

    pm1066 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    656
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010

    Jul 14, 2010
    656
    136
    93
    My Verizon Mobile is another confirmed freeze fail...frozen, yet running in the background.
     
  3. sk80

    sk80 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012

    Feb 13, 2012
    1
    0
    5
    I have 2 apps that I froze, but still running !! I see the apps through ES Task Manager.
     
  4. VoidedSaint

    VoidedSaint Resident Ninja
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    423
    Posts:
    8,201
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010

    Feb 10, 2010
    8,201
    2,090
    423
    Male
    Virginia
    even if you freeze it, it is still installed on your system, you can just uninstall it from your device, it will continue to show in your market because you downloaded it

    thats how android works

    if it is set to automatically update, then it will run in the background

    task managers will usually show apps are running when they really arent, unless they are verizon apps that are automatically updating, then they are.

    i for one urge users not to use task managers/killers as they are not good for the android os
     
  5. cougar214

    cougar214 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011

    Feb 9, 2011
    1,423
    157
    143
    When you freeze an app with TiBu just check your app drawer. If the app no longer shows in your app drawer than it is frozen. Pay no attention to that drooling idiot task manager. Most of them are epic fails.

    And as VS said, if you downloaded it, or it can be downloaded from the market, the app will always show up on the market whether you have it frozen or not. Sometimes, not always, you have to restart your phone after installing TiBu so it grabs root permission correctly and then it works perfect.
     

Share This Page

Loading...