1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root titanium backup performance

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Anamacha, Aug 24, 2011.

  1. Anamacha

    Anamacha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    132
    4
    56
    freelance Graphic Designer
    Austin, TX
    I just made a complete backup of my OV using Titanium backup. The backup always goes slick and smooth.

    In then installed the Harmonia 1.3 ROM. That went fine, though it was a little disconcerting to be returned to a "bare" phone after having used it for so long. But it's all good, I made a backup, right?

    Went to the Market, logged in, waited for the sync to finish. All's good; my contacts are there and email is too. Great!

    Downloaded Titanium Backup, ran that (Batch > Restore all missing apps and system data). It started to reinstall all my apps, but very. slowly. one. at. a. time. with long pauses in between.

    Going like this, I'll be here all night. I had 136 apps on there, something like that. It's been 15-20 minutes since I started it and it's restored two. Maybe three so far.

    Any ideas on why this is going so slow? Perhaps I should restart it? What's going on here?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Anamacha

    Anamacha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    132
    4
    56
    freelance Graphic Designer
    Austin, TX
    nevermind -- I restarted my phone, restarted the backup, and it went better the next time. I stillhad to "Accept" and "OK" everything, but it went better.

    Oughta be a way to automate that.
     
  3. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    When doing a restore from TI do not restore system apps or data. It runs a good chance of messing up the new rom. Only restore the user apps and data.
     
  4. Anamacha

    Anamacha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    132
    4
    56
    freelance Graphic Designer
    Austin, TX
    well ... maybe I didn't dodge that bullet, like I thought. most of the apps I have are okay, some are not uninstalling, others like google+ are not installing.

    so -- what should I do in this case? Start over installing the ROM from scratch?
     
  5. mkbkr1

    mkbkr1 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011

    Feb 15, 2011
    332
    135
    68
    Sunset, Louisiana
    If you restored system data you might want to reflash and do a clean install. Wipe everything, format system, data, boot, cache. Then when you do your TI restore, only restore user apps and data.
     
  6. AndyOpie150

    AndyOpie150 <strong> <a href="http://androidforums.com/optimus
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    343
    Posts:
    5,625
    Joined:
    May 13, 2011

    May 13, 2011
    5,625
    1,532
    343
    Laborer (all the dirty nasty work nobody else want
    Florida
    I agree with mkbkr1 100%. You can never reinstall a system app to a custom ROM. When you reflash and have a clean install,use the "Restore missing apps with data" option. The ROM you have chosen may already have a few of your apps preinstalled which is why you want to use "Restore missing apps with data".
     
  7. Anamacha

    Anamacha Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    56
    Posts:
    132
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2011

    Apr 13, 2011
    132
    4
    56
    freelance Graphic Designer
    Austin, TX
    I guess I did "restore missing apps + all system data." oops.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...