1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Titanium Backup Restore

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by reisb, Feb 10, 2011.

  1. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    On DL30. Want to backup apps prior to EB01.

    Last time, when restoring apps, I had to say "yes" to each permissions and then click next.

    Is there a quicker, easier way?
     

    Advertisement

  2. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    menu-->batch-->click "run" backup all user apps
     
  3. karib

    karib Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010

    Jan 8, 2010
    504
    30
    78
    Female
    Dental Assistant
    IL
    I have a question too Nit. When restoring apps from TB, do you restore ALL apps with data, or missing apps with data? I think I did "missing last time"...
     
  4. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    i do missing sometimes or i manually look through and uncheck some i dont need from all then click run
     
  5. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    I got the backup part. I meant the restore portion. I did "run" restore all apps with data. I just makes me accept permissions for each app. I guess that might be mandatory. I was just hoping there was an option of Yes to all or something.
     
  6. jamesnmandy

    jamesnmandy Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010

    Sep 3, 2010
    343
    34
    43
    I hate TIBU. for this very reason. It's too complicated with too many options and too easy to mess up. I got in the irc channel and everyone is quick to tell you you're an idiot for not being able to figure it out, yet nobody can explain how to properly use it. I did the same thing, installed the purchased version, told it to sync to dropbox, it uploaded like 100Mb of files to my dropbox, so I figure ok, its backed it up. So I flash to EB01 and then find out that wasn't a backup....still have no idea what it was. I really hate TIBU because I paid for it because everyone said it was great. The one time I did manage to get it to actually do something it started restoring a bunch of junk apps I had installed months ago and had long removed.......

    Until the author comes out with one that has three damn buttons, BACKUP, RESTORE, and CLEANOUT TRASH, I don't want any part of it. I need the really dumbed down version with no options.
     
  7. djb28

    djb28 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    58
    Posts:
    312
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010

    Dec 16, 2010
    312
    21
    58
    I like Titanium. Its pretty easy. You choose what you want it to do. Ignore the rest. Backup all user apps and system data.. When you need to restore..
    Restore all user apps and system data.

    Thats really all you need. If you want to start cleaning out the trash. I have many apps i didnt like and are lined out. You can uninstall them manually then make a new backup of everything or uninstall non backed up user apps. All the rest of the stuff is a little ridiculous. But some probably have a use for it.
     
  8. exzacklyright

    exzacklyright Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    169
    12
    38
    stupid.. i backed up everything before the wipe and my games didn't save :[]
     
  9. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    Did you restore the appear with data? Because your game progress won't be there otherwise
     
  10. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    Do you have the free version? I ask because only the pay version allows to do all Alps at once
     
  11. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    If you don't like/understand titanium backup that's fine....but really its not * that* complicated....I've backed up and restored with it probably a hundred times at this point and never had an issue...is the interface noob-friendly? Probably not.....but the implication is if you are rooting your phone that you would most likely be tech-oriented enough to figure it out
     
  12. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    Now I do. So when installing new rom, which backup/restore option would I pick to so that my notifications settings, etc are also restored?
     
  13. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    i only restore apps with app data...some people restore system data (which is what i think you want to do) but i never do as even though the roms are similar i dont like taking the chance of it causing issues
     
  14. exzacklyright

    exzacklyright Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    169
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    169
    12
    38
    yeah.. run --> restore all apps + data.... i have a batch scheduled to run every night so I'm pretty sure it got backed up ;P
     
  15. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    odd that game progress didnt restore...ive never had that issue
     
  16. MJMcMahon

    MJMcMahon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    105
    8
    36
    IT Network Engineer
    Boise, ID
    Nitsuj -

    I know that you've referred to having Titanium Backup on your SDCard in some long-lost post. Is copying the .APK file to the SDCard sufficient to run a restore? I'm planning on making the jump to EB01 some time today and want to make sure I'm completely ready. :)
     
  17. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    If so mean copying the TiBu apk onto sdcard and then installing TiBu from your sdcard then yes. I might have misinterpreted your ? though :eek:
     
    MJMcMahon likes this.
  18. MJMcMahon

    MJMcMahon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    105
    8
    36
    IT Network Engineer
    Boise, ID
    Yup, that's exactly what I'm after. Trying to minimize post-upgrade downtime by having TiBu in place prior to the upgrade so I can flash, restore, and run. :)

    Thx Saps!
     
  19. saps

    saps Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    5,092
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010

    Sep 12, 2010
    5,092
    504
    233
    Top Secret
    WA
    Good plan. Yeah I also have the super critical stuff on my sdcard just in case and TiBu is right there
     
  20. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    yup...and in the case of early froyo aosp when i would jump to it..half the time you couldnt sync your google account, so having tibu on my sdcard at least allowed me to get apps back
     
  21. MJMcMahon

    MJMcMahon Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010

    Sep 15, 2010
    105
    8
    36
    IT Network Engineer
    Boise, ID
    I only made one oversight: I put the TiBu PRO.apk on the SDCard, but neglected to copy TiBu.apk as well.....thankfully I hopped out on to the Market and grabbed it!
     
  22. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    How do you move them? just via apps > manage apps?
     
  23. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    You can copy it with root explorer and move it...or do it with adb
     
    bskidz79 likes this.
  24. reisb

    reisb Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    398
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010

    Oct 18, 2010
    398
    9
    36
    Wouldn't move to SD work easier?
     
  25. nitsuj17

    nitsuj17 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    4,648
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010

    Aug 16, 2010
    4,648
    654
    213
    NJ
    I suppose...but I've never tried running tibu from the sdcard don't know if there would be any issues with that
     

Share This Page

Loading...