1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root Titanium Backup

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by mrhomiec, Feb 26, 2011.

  1. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    528
    60
    78
    Male
    Developer
    Arizona
    am i able to use the backups it creates on another phone?

    the reason i'm asking is i might be getting a Droid-1.
    and i wanna root it so i can have wi-fi tethering.
    but then i'm hoping i can restore my apps the easy way.
     

    Advertisement

  2. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,931
    483
    The best thing that you can do is try - since you are rooting, you can always go back to a Nandroid backup is if messes up. I would think that if you stick to non-system apps - i.e., only restore the ones that are not colored red or green - you should be fine. I suppose that if you have an Android app that is marketed for the Eris only you may have an issue.
     
  3. mrhomiec

    mrhomiec Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    528
    Joined:
    May 16, 2010

    May 16, 2010
    528
    60
    78
    Male
    Developer
    Arizona
    i figured only the downloadable ones would work, those are the main ones i'd want to transfer anyways. this way i can keep my settings, scores, saves, and such.

    thanks for your input.
     
  4. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,931
    483
    Android apps are Android apps. That's the beauty of it - there is no this version for Eris, that version for Droid X, a third for the Evo. You can only imagine what a PITA that would be for app developers.
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #8
    Points:
    2,138
    Posts:
    22,297
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010

    Mar 5, 2010
    22,297
    23,684
    2,138
    Male
    space alien ;)
    Indy
    Well, that's technically true, lol. But you do (or at least I have had to), make some phone-specific allowances and code so that my apps will work on the widest variety of phones possible.

    I will admit that my BattMonX app does have some hardware-specific features (related to the battery and LED hardware), so all bets are kind of off for using that to bolster my argument ;). But, I've tried to create some non phone-specific/dependent ways to make allowances for these differences (where possible). I originally wrote the app for the Droid X, but you won't believe the number of people with non-X phones that I've tried to accommodate.

    Also, there's the Android versioning limitation since each app is required to specify the base Android version / API that it will run on (i.e., 1.5 and up, or 2.2 and higher, etc.)

    But doogald is (as usual) absolutely right: an Android app is an Android app--they are all potentially usable and viable across all phones, given that there are no hardware or software (Android version) dependencies.

    Cheers!
     
  6. mjb34500

    mjb34500 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    29
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    29
    2
    16
    Bumped for a user question with TiBu...

    When you do a batch restore, it does reinstall each app. BUT, you have to go through the long, drawn out process of OKing and button pushing for each. Unless I'm missing something, is there a way to just skip all of this and inherently just install all of them?
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    483
    Posts:
    6,699
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010

    Jan 7, 2010
    6,699
    1,931
    483
    If you purchase the Pro version, you do not have to ok each restore in a batch.

    https://market.android.com/details?id=com.keramidas.TitaniumBackupPro&feature=search_result (this installed in addition to Titanium Backup Root)
     
    mjb34500 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...