1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Titanium to cloud help

Discussion in 'Android Apps & Games' started by funkylogik, Feb 8, 2014.

  1. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hey guys.
    I have to save my titanium backup folder to the cloud.
    What ive tried is long-pressing the folder in ES, More, but the "share" option isnt there.
    Ive also tried to send it to another device via wifi network using ES but it just disconnects.
    Am i missing something or is there a better way to do this?
    (Its a nexus tab, no SD and im terrible with computers so id really like to avoid blowing cobwebs off the old laptop)
    Cheers :beer:
     

    Advertisement

  2. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Hmm so i discovered the option to make an "update zip" in Titanium that can be flashed in recovery. Maybe ill be able to move that to the cloud?
    Its uploading to Drive now :)
    If anyone knows a less messy way, let me know for future reference lol :D
     
  3. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Also found out how to add a cloud storage account to ES and move a file/folder there :)
    I love how we always learn things when we mess up.
    In this case, i tried a rom but didnt like it and accidentally deleted my nandroid so have to restore my first stock nandroid (which has no apps).
    Thinkin about it now, i could just have downloaded a zip of the rooted stock rom and done it that way lol!
    I always forget the simplest solution :banghead:
    But at least ive learned something new :beer:
     
  4. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    So just to wrap up this story of stupidity from a guy who thought he was pretty well versed in android,
    Once my TiBu folder got uploaded to Drive, i restored my stock nandroid with /data unchecked and it restored without wiping my storage. I thought it would have wiped everything on there. So i just restored TiBu as normal and this whole hassle was unnecessary :-D
    Learned a few things though :beer:

    so is "data" in a nandroid different from "data" in a data wipe?
     
  5. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    I'd like to help, but I'm pretty confused :p

    /data is where your apps etc are stored and /data/media is an SD Card for all intents and purposes (I know it's not, but it sorta functions as one).

    When you wipe /data in recovery, if you watch the screen it will say something along the lines of "wiping data without data/media" or something.

    Why didn't you use the auto backup function in TB? It puts it in dropbox or drive?
     
  6. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    How do i do that mate and ill do that from now on?
    Yeah i read back and what i said does seem confusing lol. I just thought that restoring an old nandroid would replace everything i had on there including the storage (where my new TiBu backup was) but it didnt :beer:
     
  7. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    I'll tell you how I managed to finally get it working, seeing as it was this topic that inspired me. :)

    1. Ensure the desired cloud storage options are enabled and configured in Preferences.

    2. Set up any backup schedules as required, and select the required cloud sync option in the "When finished..." box.

    3. You should now have a new "Sync to..." entry in the Schedules tab. Double-check its settings with the "Edit" button.

    4. If everything's okay, "Run" the "Sync to..." task manually. This was the breakthrough for me, as you HAVE to log-in to the cloud service and grant TiB permission to access it initially.

    5. Once completed, check that the file(s) have successfully uploaded to the cloud site, and if so relax knowing that any scheduled backups using the same "Sync to" task will work unattended.

    I've been scratching my head for weeks wondering why, even with accounts set up, I couldn't get TiB to upload to cloud sites. Reading this thread made me determined to get to the bottom of the problem, and #4 turned out to be key. So a big "thanks" to you! :D
     
    funkylogik and El Presidente like this.
  8. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Excellent. Thanaks mate :beer:
    One more question, do the scheduled backups overwrite each previous one or do you end up with a load of old backups and have to delete them manually?
    Ive never done scheduled backups.
    Thanks again :)
     
  9. El Presidente

    El Presidente Beware The Milky Pirate!
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #4
    Points:
    3,118
    Posts:
    32,117
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011

    Jan 3, 2011
    32,117
    24,060
    3,118
    Scotland
    Menu, Preferences, Max backup history allows you to set how many backups you want to keep.

    There are also options in the drop box section too.

    I've never used it though so can't say how well it works.
     
    funkylogik likes this.
  10. funkylogik

    funkylogik share the love peeps ;)
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,443
    Posts:
    21,404
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011

    Sep 15, 2011
    21,404
    7,246
    1,443
    Male
    monkey
    Paisley, Scotland, Western Europe
    Nice one. Thanks mate :beer:
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six!
    Moderator
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    2,043
    Posts:
    20,549
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009

    Aug 1, 2009
    20,549
    17,001
    2,043
    Male
    Mobile phone retail
    Inverness, UK
    If set to "All history" then every backup of an app will be included in the sync. You can also specify a certain number to be included; I use just "1" currently so that only my most recent backups are sync'd as I only require a failsafe in case my SD card gets trashed.
     
    funkylogik likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...