1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Tmobile-MetroPCS Merger Updates & Questions

Discussion in 'Metro PCS' started by Gman9831, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    does anyone have an offical tmobile lte map?
     

    Advertisement

  2. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    There is none probably will be soon when they officially cover more than 7 cities.
     
    DirtyDee likes this.
  3. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    I wonder if metro will enter into an upgrade type program now that TMob is involved.

    I learned yesterday that Tmob has an upgrade program. My buddy got the Note 2 when it came out and paid it off in a couple months. He went into the store over the weekend and traded it straight up for a S4. He also changed to the pre paid $60 plan so there was no strings attached to the trade or anything.

    If I did know I forgot but I was surprised they have a trade in program. And it actually seems to be legit and not out to screw you.

    Be interesting if metro got on that train too.
     
  4. johnnyolivares

    johnnyolivares Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    63
    Posts:
    491
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Dec 31, 2011
    491
    96
    63
    Male
    Los Angeles
     
  5. nabil16

    nabil16 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013

    Jun 24, 2013
    7
    2
    6
    New york city?
     
  6. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
     
  7. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    So, I downloaded a different speed test app tonight. Take a look at this:

    [​IMG]

    It shows as being T-Mobile, but being on MetroPCS.

    Edit: fix picture link
     
  8. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    What was ur speed test results?
     
  9. alfick3

    alfick3 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    303
    Posts:
    2,755
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011

    Feb 7, 2011
    2,755
    452
    303
    Male
    IBM SSR
    DFW, TX
    [​IMG]

    Not really a change in speeds since the merger. I've been getting about the same speeds here at my home since i got the Motion in March.

    Edit: As you can see, I took the tests several minutes apart, but they were all sitting in the same spot (chair in front of my computer :) )
     
    OcalaFlGuy likes this.
  10. edgeez25

    edgeez25 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    88
    Posts:
    473
    Joined:
    May 9, 2011

    May 9, 2011
    473
    329
    88
     
  11. blaze420916

    blaze420916 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    886
    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012

    Jan 27, 2012
    886
    104
    93
    electrition
    Sacramento
     
  12. averagewonder

    averagewonder Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    532
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012

    Jul 23, 2012
    532
    86
    78
    Male
    Student/C.N.A
    Palm Coast, Fla
    The sites down again I wonder if they are doing anything big this time.
     
  13. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    You have a tmo IP but the MCC-MNC is how they get the network but that is now registered to tmo guess they didn't update their database.
     
    Kid09, alfick3 and Fuzzy13 like this.
  14. Joshuah22a

    Joshuah22a Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    78
    Posts:
    593
    Joined:
    May 6, 2011

    May 6, 2011
    593
    62
    78
    Male
    Mines showed all under metro still
     
  15. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,992
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011

    Aug 4, 2011
    2,992
    991
    213
    South Florida
    Could be the redirect your towers assigned to
     
  16. Shabbypenguin

    Shabbypenguin Extreme Android User
    Rank:
     #31
    Points:
    723
    Posts:
    5,385
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011

    Mar 28, 2011
    5,385
    5,071
    723
    Male
    actually i think its more of they started to transition users over sooner than expected. with gsm devices now being sold and since 60% of metropcs users apparently upgrade every years...
     
  17. DirtyDee

    DirtyDee Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    203
    Posts:
    2,205
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013

    Mar 18, 2013
    2,205
    443
    203
    Male
    Janitor/cook I know strange two jobs to have
    Detroit Michigan
    All I have to say to the upgrade thing is its accurate my sister and myself have owned at least 6 metro phone each in the last two years

    Sent from my LG-MS770 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  18. Gam3r 4 Life

    Gam3r 4 Life Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    187
    32
    43
    Male
    None
    Napa, California
    Hey guys got a quick question. I just started a new plan with T-Mobile and the S4. I live in the North Bay Area, California. Specifically Napa. I have always had connection issues in my house with pretty much every carrier other than Verizon. Anyway right now my signal is stays at HSPA:11 about 95% of the time, and connects to LTE very rarely. But my signal strength fluctuates a lot. Anywhere from 0-3 bars.

    My question: When do you think that my T-Mobile S4 will get access to Metros LTE towers in the area. Because on my Metro S3 I get a solid 1 bar of LTE with 1-3mbs. So I am hoping that I will get access to those LTE towers so my S4 will hopefully connect to LTE rather than the HSPA and stop dropping to no bars. Thanks guys.
     
  19. new optimus

    new optimus Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    4,205
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011

    Mar 10, 2011
    4,205
    1,459
    413
    Jax Fl
    They have previously indicated that tmo customers would not see access to metro spectrum for a while, year or more. However they changed that in vegas so maybe they will change that other places too.
     
  20. Gam3r 4 Life

    Gam3r 4 Life Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    187
    32
    43
    Male
    None
    Napa, California
    Thanks for the info. Thankfully calls and data over wifi work great.
     
    Fuzzy13 likes this.
  21. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    What plan did you hop on? Also what kind of data speeds are seeing when your fully connected?
     
  22. Gam3r 4 Life

    Gam3r 4 Life Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    187
    32
    43
    Male
    None
    Napa, California
    Im on the $70 unlimited everything with the $20 fee for the S4 monthly. As far as speeds the best Ive gotten was 7mbs in my house. But that is with 1 bar and regular 4G. I havent tested it yet with full bars and LTE yet.
     
    Fuzzy13 likes this.
  23. Fuzzy13

    Fuzzy13 Extreme Android User
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    413
    Posts:
    7,290
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011

    Dec 8, 2011
    7,290
    2,503
    413
    Engineer
    A-T-L-A-N-T-A
    I wonder if this big t mobile event coming up has anything to do with mpcs. Hopefully they'll announce and release an actual lte map.
     
  24. Gam3r 4 Life

    Gam3r 4 Life Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    187
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011

    Mar 5, 2011
    187
    32
    43
    Male
    None
    Napa, California
    I was reading about that event too. The one for July 10th? It would be nice to get an LTE map :D
     
  25. mike28

    mike28 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    513
    Posts:
    4,065
    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010

    Dec 20, 2010
    4,065
    1,058
    513
    Male
    Tampa

Share This Page

Loading...