1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General TMobile WIFI Calling...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by alphawave7, Aug 27, 2016.

  1. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    37
    11
    18
    Okiedoke...so unlock went well (after a few days delay) and my ole TMO SIM with Wally's $30/5GB plan is installed. Alas, for some reason wifi calling is not turning on, failing with an error 'reg99-unable to connect'.
    I had read on the TMO support site that this is often a result of 911 address not being on the account (mine wasn't) so I added it last night..and it shows up fine. After adding it, I had a notice that it might take an hour for it to 'propagate' to the server. Today, still same error. Do I need to do a custom APN to get wifi calling bak up and running, like it was on the MPCS SIM? Cheers!
     

    Advertisement

  2. ECGREG

    ECGREG Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    6
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2015

    Dec 2, 2015
    1
    1
    6
    Hi AlphaWave7,
    I had a Metro Fierce 2 with the same error. When I contacted T-mobile I was told that wifi calling won't work using a MetroPCS phone on T-Mobile. I searched all over to see if there was a solution posted online, but was unable to find any positive answer. The issue with the pro is the lack of T-mobile firmware to try to compare settings.
    Good luck!
     
    alphawave7 likes this.
  3. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    37
    11
    18
    Well that sucks. I could have sworn I saw the red then green phone for wifi calling when I had the MetroPCS SIM installed. After the TMO SIM swap, the reg99 error, and now even going back to MPCS SIM, same reg99 error. I think TMO could make this work if they wanted...my chat session was fruitless, however...the 'send a ping, wait an hour and reboot' did nothing. Keep me posted if anything develops! Cheers!
     
  4. MEWCATCHEW

    MEWCATCHEW Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016

    Apr 8, 2016
    4
    3
    16
    Male
    The solution will be to flash the T-Mobile ROM on to it, when or if T-Mobile starts selling it. There isn't even a root yet for this device, but from what I gather lot's of people are working on it. It's a popular device.
     
  5. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    37
    11
    18
    I know I put TMobile in the title, but do I recall correctly that wifi calling worked on the MPCS SIM on the ZMPro?
     
  6. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    37
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010

    Sep 6, 2010
    37
    11
    18

ZTE Zmax Pro

ZTE Zmax Pro
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...