1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General to be clear the galaxy s2 is called epic 4g?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by leo5111, Apr 21, 2013.

  1. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    to be clear the galaxy s2 is called epic 4g? im looking for the galaxy s2 for sprint over at xda dont want to be looking at wrong roms...lol
     

    Advertisement

  2. iTzKPanda

    iTzKPanda AF's resident panda
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    1,017
    544
    233
    Male
    Student
    Tampa, FL
    Yes. The Sprint variant of the Galaxy S2 is (ridiculously...) called the Samsung Galaxy S2, Epic 4G Touch.
     
  3. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin'
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    1,333
    Posts:
    10,634
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011

    Jul 30, 2011
    10,634
    7,397
    1,333
    Washington, DC
    The sprint Galaxy s1 was called the epic 4g, while the their Galaxy s2 s called the epic 4g touch. I'm glad that things have progressed to the point that we don't have the individualization of a device on each carrier anymore.
     
  4. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    question i want to flash this http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2025466 can i just flash it and be rooted? reason i ask is when i had my samsung galaxy note all you had to do was flash a custom rom that was rooted and you were all set, rooted and on a custom rom
     
  5. iTzKPanda

    iTzKPanda AF's resident panda
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    1,017
    544
    233
    Male
    Student
    Tampa, FL
    Follow the instructions on the thread :)
    Usually you'd want to install a custom recovery (AGAT, Clockworkmod, etc) before you flash and make a backup just in case something goes wrong.
    Also, I think you'll have to do a factory reset. At least that's what I had to do when I flashed Cyanogenmod10.1 and PACman.
     
  6. leo5111

    leo5111 Well-Known Member
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    91
    Joined:
    May 17, 2011

    May 17, 2011
    91
    9
    16
    Van Nuys
    so do i by odin install the kernal first? excuse my newbness but my phone i had before a blind monkey could root and rom it, this one is more hard :p
     
  7. iTzKPanda

    iTzKPanda AF's resident panda
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    233
    Posts:
    1,017
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011

    Nov 10, 2011
    1,017
    544
    233
    Male
    Student
    Tampa, FL
    If you aren't on GB27 (Jellybean for the Epic 4G Touch), then yes. If you are, then read the 3rd or 4th post of the "how to root" thread that's stickied on the Epic 4G Touch - All Things Root forum to flash a custom recovery using mobile odin.
     

Share This Page

Loading...