• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

ROMs To Custom ROM, or not to Custom ROM? That is the Question!

dsb9938

Jun 3, 2010
Edison, NJ
I have always been a techie geek. I've been tweaking my DTV TiVos for almost 10 years now (even had a nice website till TiVos lawyers called). And I've never been gun shy either. Always at the head of the line to try something new. But I've not yet played with a home baked ROM.

I've had root since you could, and I've gotten quite adept at playing and tweaking inside the phone. But a whole new ROM has always scared me, don't know why.

I think if the descriptions were more detailed, for those of us who have no idea what some of these changes do, I might be more comfortable.

Anyway, I'm glad this forum is here. It will facilitate conversations with the people who create, and the people who use these things.

Thanks,

Dennis

I have always been a techie geek. I've been tweaking my DTV TiVos for almost 10 years now (even had a nice website till TiVos lawyers called). And I've never been gun shy either. Always at the head of the line to try something new. But I've not yet played with a home baked ROM.

I've had root since you could, and I've gotten quite adept at playing and tweaking inside the phone. But a whole new ROM has always scared me, don't know why.

I think if the descriptions were more detailed, for those of us who have no idea what some of these changes do, I might be more comfortable.

Anyway, I'm glad this forum is here. It will facilitate conversations with the people who create, and the people who use these things.

Thanks,

Dennis