1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root To install GB or not to install GB

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by beemer87, Apr 20, 2011.

?

Should I install GB?

  1. Yes, install the latest GB leak.

    32 vote(s)
    76.2%
  2. No, do not install.

    10 vote(s)
    23.8%
  1. beemer87

    beemer87 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    So ive been trying to keep up with all the info about the latest GB build, but i have kind of fallen behind. Is it rooted now? and if so is it worth installing it? what are some of bugs that have not been worked out? I want to know ahead of time because i dont want to have to go through all the steps (flashing back to stock etc.) and not liking the end result. thanks.
     

    Advertisement

  2. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    I have been on both leaks, both are rooted, the new leak is a three step install that you have to do in order and everything will work just fine and you will be rooted. To be honest I don't notice any bugs, I have said it is like running the best Rom that could have been made for Froyo and then added the new blur, which is a MAJOR improvement, Motorola actually did something really nice with this build.

    If you are going to want to take the OTA you will have to SBF back to 2.2.340 to get it, so if you don't like to SBF then I would not take it. Also Verizon has tightened down the Wireless Tether, so if you use that now, don't expect it will work without doing an extra hack or paying for the service.

    Other than that I have been happy. I have not missed Roms as stock is very fast and good. However it looks like some Roms will be dropping very soon which should make it even better.
     
  3. kastleberg

    kastleberg Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    577
    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010

    Jul 15, 2010
    577
    207
    93
    Richmond, VA
    I only say yes, install it because each phone responds differently to different software. Make a backup, give the next thing a shot and if it doesn't work out, sbf and flash backup. It might take some time, but its a matter of fine tuning your device to get the most enjoyable experience with it. Plus, as you do all the work you learn more about the whole platform and get to know your device all that much more.
     
  4. beemer87

    beemer87 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

  5. Kevmueller

    Kevmueller Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    766
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010

    Aug 3, 2010
    766
    145
    93
    Kansas City
    That was the first leak that was out. Here is the most recent update that most everyone is on (there are a few that have the first one set-up the way they like and don't want to redo it) and what most developers are making Roms on. DroidX Gingerbread 2.3.3(4.5.588) Install Patch with Root
     
  6. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    Ok..this vs. Apex 1.4.1?? I need a concrete answer!
     
  7. Steven58

    Steven58 "The Unqualified Moderator!"
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,973
    Posts:
    33,647
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,647
    26,521
    3,973
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    To me, GB is far superior to everything out there, stock or rooted, thus far, IMO.
     
  8. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    Id assume you know a thing or two about droids...probably going to have to install rooted gb..

    Is there a one shot rooted install or do I have to load stock gb then achieve root?

    Over apex or via another method?

    Tia!
     
  9. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    243
    16
    38
    This is true...I know many of us are excited about any release or leak under the Sun but Gingerbread is just about an entirely different beast than Froyo Blur. Install the 3 part zip and market fix(which I didn't even install until days later)...you'll be fine.
     
  10. Steven58

    Steven58 "The Unqualified Moderator!"
    Moderator
    Rank:
     #5
    Points:
    3,973
    Posts:
    33,647
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010

    Feb 19, 2010
    33,647
    26,521
    3,973
    Male
    New Jersey, US of A
    Don't be afraid to ask for help. If you need it. ASK. :) It will give us pleasure to bring you up to the lastest modifications!
     
  11. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    I too am thinking of making the plunge into GB and thanks to the OP for your questions, because many are the same ones that I have. If we install this version of GB, will we have to sbf back to Froyo to take the OTA GB or will we be able to take it straight on top of the installed leaked GB?

    And can we get back to Froyo if we don't like this GB release or have problems with it?
     
  12. meckert15834

    meckert15834 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    161
    7
    36
    well worth it! download P3's 3 part gb file and everthing goes very simple (as long as you follow the instructions) running super smooth with no force closes at all.

    ill give you a quick rundown.

    sbf back to stock 2.2.340
    turn on phone re-root and boot into clockwork ( remember you need to use droid 2 bootstrap )
    i backed up my fresh sbf.
    install these 3 files from your sd card. http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/...erbread-2-3-3-4-5-588-install-patch-root.html
    clear data bla bla.
    reboot your phone.
    and your golden.

    since i didnt want to bother with the deodex since theres alot of options out there i just installed the broodcomb rom since its already deodexed
    http://drewgaren.com/DrewGaren/Broodcomb.html
     
  13. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    243
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009

    Dec 14, 2009
    243
    16
    38
    Alot of people talk about sbf but if you backuped up your original froyo install(like you should have) that works too.
     
  14. beemer87

    beemer87 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    yeah i backed it up, but i kind of feel like starting fresh anyways.
     
  15. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    I have a android backup I made with CWR right after I rooted my X, can I not just flash that and then install GB? Also, I thought I remember reading several people just installing GB right on top of like an Apex 2.3.340. I am on 2.3.340 running DarkSlide 4.2, can I not just install it from there?
     
  16. beemer87

    beemer87 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011

    so im doing the whole process right now, what is this market fix i hear about?
     
  17. meckert15834

    meckert15834 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    161
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010

    Jul 22, 2010
    161
    7
    36
    no market problems for me works fine
     
  18. darkcyber

    darkcyber Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    1,608
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009

    Nov 12, 2009
    1,608
    151
    163
    Male
    North Alabama
    yeah, was wondering that myself.
     
  19. Bugly

    Bugly Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,057
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011

    Jan 30, 2011
    1,057
    104
    143
    Male
    VW mechanic
    Tacoma, Washington
    Market is working fine for me...
     
  20. dragonbro

    dragonbro Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009

    Dec 9, 2009
    262
    25
    43
    Bay Area, CA
    Apex 1.4.1 was what I was running before flashing the new 3 part GB. I absolutely loved the Apex rom, but was ready to try something new....so here I am with GB :)

    The battery life isn't as good as with Apex, but it hasn't prevented me from using the phone like I normally do. I have been able to get things in good shape using SetCPU. I have started to get used to using the standard launcher too, I was using ADW-EX on Apex.

    The standard launcher is sweet! I love the new app drawer button location and settings (group apps), and I'm digging the dock bar setup. The blur is very much improved, and does run smooth. The new keyboard is very nice, and has a cursor that is easy to place to correct or add words. The only blur widget I use is the new social networking which is AWESOME! The dialer and contacts works very well on GB, and I haven't had any issues with any of my apps not working.

    I did have a few "OMG, what have I done!" moments during the install and the dreaded red "M" bootloop issue. So learn how to SBF, if you don't know, before you try this. I would just recommend doing a nandroid of the Apex, SBF and install the 3 part GB if you decide to try it. Make sure you use the D2 bootstrap as well.

    Overall I am very pleased with GB, only thought about going back to Apex once or twice....but I'm past that now :)
     
    RWil85 likes this.
  21. C0n57an71n3

    C0n57an71n3 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    287
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010

    Aug 4, 2010
    287
    26
    43
    The market hides some things by default, this fixes that.

    Example: Quickclock is gone.
     
  22. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    Thanks, I appreciate that ..still holding off - it just seems that there are so many issues and fixes necessary for gb..im thinking the same way as the OP, don't want to go through with it and either break phone/not like it..hmmm.
     
  23. RWil85

    RWil85 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    220
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011

    Jan 17, 2011
    220
    6
    36
    A big gripe of mine with. 340 is how to go back and fix typing while texting/emailing- the fact that people say that's better on gb might be reason alone to upgrade haha.

    I think its that im in a good place with Apex/LPP and am just itching for something new/possibly better.

    A lot of mixed reviews leading to indecisiveness. Damn lol
     

Share This Page

Loading...