1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root To root a G2 or not

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by skyband123, Apr 6, 2010.

  1. skyband123

    skyband123 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010

    Mar 1, 2010
    15
    0
    15
    UK
    Hi there, Just a few requests.

    I've been thinking of rooting my T-mobile branded hero for quite some time now since the official update is taking forever. I always get as far as reading through the Goldcard method of downgrading the rom on Unlockr and then it all gets too confusing. My first question is that is it worth going through the hassle (its probably me just being thick) or should i just wait for the official update from T-mob?

    If any of you guys have rooted a G2 to flash a custom rom, after having to downgrade first, would you be willing to help me do it?

    My phone info is as follows

    T-Mobile G2 Touch
    Firmware
    1.5
    Baseband version
    63.18.55.06FU_6.35.07.08
    Kernal Version
    2.6.27-0078c992 htc-kernal@and18-2 #821
    Build number
    2.73110.26 CL#69351 release keys

    ps does flashing a custom rom give access to the new market?

    Thanks in advance and sorry for being such a noob!!
     

    Advertisement

  2. nozo

    nozo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    I'm also interesting for this. Anyone to answer... ?:thinking:
     
  3. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    The first update will take you from 2.73.110.26 to 2.73,110.91 - you should have it by now. Soon the main 2.1 update will be released so if you can wait a week or two then you will not need to root
     
  4. nozo

    nozo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Ok I will wait if it is really 2 weeks.

    btw now I have : 2.73.121.61
     
  5. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    Hmmm...which network supplied your phone? Which country?
     
  6. nozo

    nozo Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010

    Jul 7, 2010
    5
    0
    5
    Network : T-Mobile
    Country: Macedonia

    I'm yet waiting for the first update
     
  7. TheBrit

    TheBrit Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    143
    Posts:
    1,188
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009

    Aug 25, 2009
    1,188
    114
    143
    UK
    Macedonia? I was referring to the UK.
     

Share This Page

Loading...