1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root TO Root Or NOT to Root

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Eddy120876, May 8, 2011.

  1. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Well i got my phone this past wednesday after getting rid of my old motorola i1(good little phone but no upgrade thank to Motorola...FU motorola). well unfortunately my credit is not that great thanks to my college tuition repayments(thank you GOV).

    so i manage to get my girl to use her credit card on my phone purchase. I seen so much great info on this forum and i also saw the video on youtube(thanks Shino547) I want to turn my indulge into a mobile hot spot, but I'm afraid of something happening to the phone and that would get me in hot water with Metro's. Since we know that Metro loves voiding the insurance if the phone is rooted.
     

    Advertisement

  2. $hortDogg916

    $hortDogg916 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011

    Apr 26, 2011
    33
    2
    16
    Recently LAID OFF
    California

    I actually considered that as well. Here's your out. If you have insurance, smash the phone into little pcs and send them that. (after you have an approved claim of course) That takes care of them prying into it and seeing what you've done. Just a suggestion.
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  3. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    or take the battery off and report lost and there is a un-root option on the root scripts so forget about voiding ur warranty ur safe there.
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  4. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Hey n4zty

    so the root has a unroot option? if that so then im on easy street:D
     
  5. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Thanks for that idea $hortDogg :D now i know i have options :D
     
  6. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Also do any of you guys know which root option is the best and has the unroot option
     
  7. n4zty

    n4zty Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    4,302
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011

    Apr 6, 2011
    4,302
    1,700
    313
    Male
    i think both have the un-root option just only miketoolz version has the option to remove bloatware and restore it back when u un-root. i have not yet tried to un-root so i cant tell u yet how it works but trust me it should be easy as pie.
     
  8. mk_ultra19

    mk_ultra19 Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    316
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011

    Mar 13, 2011
    316
    112
    68
    I believe the one click root has the option now to unroot. I know because I had my phone rooted and then began to have problems with loss of 4G and 1x data " HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH ROOTING "

    So I unrooted the phone and took it back to Metro. I re-installed all of the Metro bloatware ...all except the iron man movie.

    They exchanged my phone for a new one....no questions asked!! Just to let you know!! My phone was also 2 months old, but in mint condition. I think the antennae was fried or something.
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  9. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    MK_ultra

    thanks for that info. I was afraid of rooting it because of Metro pcs policies on regards to rooting instead of focusing it to helping the customer stay happy and making their cell service top notch.
     
  10. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    Hey guys i tried the rooting on a mac and it didn't work. Are you guys working on a mac version for it? Thanks
     
  11. tiede

    tiede Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    1,494
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011

    Mar 3, 2011
    1,494
    522
    213
    Male
    curious, aren't we?
    Orlando, Fl
    Best bet: borrow a friend's windows 'puter and try again. Or emulate windows on your mac! :)
     
    Eddy120876 likes this.
  12. Eddy120876

    Eddy120876 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    467
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010

    Aug 14, 2010
    467
    27
    43
    Bronx,NY
    I will try this my friend. Thanks for the advice I will see if i can do it today and let you guys know how it went.
     

Share This Page

Loading...