1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General To root or not to root...

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by lobstah24, Jan 3, 2012.

  1. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    Got my Razr a few days ago. My first smart phone. Upgraded from a LG Octane. With the octane I could just plug in the USB cable to my phone and laptop and have access to the folders on the phone to load sounds that I made for use as ringtones or other sounds. The Razr doesn't show those folders when I do that.

    My question...Do I need to "Root" the phone to get access to those folders? If not...how do I get to those folders?

    I've read up on rooting and it seams pretty straight forward but I'd rather not do it if I can get to those folders otherwise. Thanks in advance for the help.
    L24
     

    Advertisement

  2. saywat?

    saywat? Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    108
    6
    36
    depends wat u plan to do with it. some apps require a rooted phone to work esp back up and program uninstaller type apps. if ur not gonna do anything except play games and download apps its not really necessary
     
  3. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    What about the folders I asked about?
     
  4. saywat?

    saywat? Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    108
    6
    36
    im jus guessing here becuase my phone has always been rooted and i use astro for folder management. but when u plug in the phone to ur computer via usb does it not show up on the computer like a storage device and from there u can copy files to and from the phone?
     
    lobstah24 likes this.
  5. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    No it does not.
     
  6. FragDroidX

    FragDroidX Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    113
    Posts:
    820
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010

    Jul 24, 2010
    820
    314
    113
    You need to install Motorola's USB drivers and then you should get access to the folders you need. Or you can just get an app to make whatever ringtones and sounds you want right on the Razr, no computer needed.
     
  7. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    I have my laptop seeing it as a mass storage device now. I do not see the folders that hold sound or ringtone files. Anyone know where these would be? Could they be hidden somehow?
     
  8. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    The sounds (ring-notification sounds) are in the system folder of the internal memory. They are in .ogg format, you would need to convert the mp3s to oog then drag and drop them to your ext-sd then use root explorer to move them to the proper folders. Once they are in those folders you will see them in the regular selection screen on the phone with the rest of the ring tones etc.

    Actual folder, system> media> audio> then select either ringtone or notification.

    Your going to have to root obviously.
     
    dvacexxx likes this.
  9. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    Thank you! I'm on it!
     
  10. saywat?

    saywat? Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    108
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011

    Apr 14, 2011
    108
    6
    36
    again jus guessing but try make a folder and put the sounds in there. the phone should recognize the files. usually all phones can use mp3 files for ring tones. usually u click on the file and there a set as ringtone option
     
  11. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY
    Ringdroid? Converts mp3 files to ringtones. Probably easier than rooting.
     
  12. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    The problem here is the fact that the folders where the ring tones are located are LOCKED as READ ONLY you have to root and change permissions to RW inorder to add the music and make it usable.
     
  13. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73

    Not on this phone.
     
  14. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73

    Won't work on this phone.
     
  15. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
  16. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time...
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    843
    Posts:
    19,535
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010

    Jul 9, 2010
    19,535
    4,045
    843
    Male
    Engineer
    'neath a cactus
    Odd... I created a folder on my SD card and placed my ringtones in that folder. Once the OS recognizes them for what they are they work just fine! ;)
     
  17. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    This works...but i'm ending up having to make the sound. Load it on my wife's phone (LG Cosmos)...and send it to my phone. There has got to be an easier way to get this done although this works for now.

    I tried copying my sound folder to different locations in my Razr...no luck.

    I'm going to figure this out...damn it!
     
  18. Szadzik

    Szadzik Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    223
    Posts:
    5,413
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010

    Feb 15, 2010
    5,413
    715
    223
    Male
    FAS Admin
    I'm wondering why you need to convert mp3 to ogg. ;) Also, why do you need to move them with Root Explorer if they just need to be on either the sdcard-ext or sdcard? :)

    For example, on my sdcard-ext I have a folder Media>Audio>alarma, notification and ringtones. I put mp3 files in there and they can be used by any app from the default picker.

    No need for root to put ringtones on this device or any other Android device, my friend.
     
  19. rushmore

    rushmore Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    323
    Posts:
    8,267
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008

    Nov 13, 2008
    8,267
    1,355
    323
    Kentucky
    Maybe I am confused with the issue here, but most music apps allow picking MP3 tunes as ringtones.
     
  20. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73
    My xt912 Dont have that folder on the sd card. It's on the internal mem in the folder I posted. I figured might as well keep the same file format to avoid confusion but if it works as mp3, then even better.
     
  21. xXSK8AGRXx

    xXSK8AGRXx Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    57
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011

    Try to download "Airdroid" from the market ,and see if u can find the folders via Airdroid.
     
  22. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    213
    Posts:
    2,863
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010

    Mar 4, 2010
    2,863
    782
    213
    operator
    upstate NY

    Lol, i'm with you. This whole ringtone thing has been made way more complicated than need be. ;-)

    If nothing else, like I said before, ringdroid is and for me always has been a great app for making ringtones. You can cut and crop them any way you like. And it's very small (600Kb.) Not that it matters with this phone....
     
  23. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    My phone is the Razr...
     
  24. lobstah24

    lobstah24 Newbie
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    15
    Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012

    Jan 3, 2012
    14
    0
    15
    I already have sound editing software on my PC. My idea was to edit the sounds on my PC and then copy them to my Droid Razr. It worked fine with my old LG Octane but like I said before I can't find where to put the mp3/wav files on the Razr.
     
  25. rnlcomp

    rnlcomp Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
     #180
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    264
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011

    Aug 2, 2011
    264
    50
    73

    The xt912 is the United States model # for the Razr. xt910 is the everywhere else model # for the Razr
     

Share This Page

Loading...