1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

General Too little internal memory?

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by vikramsnr, Jun 23, 2011.

  1. vikramsnr

    vikramsnr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Hey guys
    Im still considerin this phone and I looked at the specs and thought, isnt 150MB too little internal memory?
    Internal memory, if im correct, is where the android software is stored and as android gets updated more and more, surely the amount of memory needed to run it will also increase? One of the main points Im thinkin of goin android is that it gets updated to brand new firmware...
    Also, does anyone have an idea how much space the android software n touchwiz ui take up?

    PS - On a different note, do any of u guys think touchwiz ui will also get updated to V4 from V3 with the 2.3 update?
     

    Advertisement

  2. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    No. the touchwiz won't get updated. Do not care for it though. However internal memory does cause a little problem. Also the ram.
     
  3. vikramsnr

    vikramsnr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Thanks praky :) Do you have any idea how much memory space is taken by android firmware?
    We may also get ICS, coz of the Google forcing the Open Handset Alliance's founding companies to make sure all their new devices can run the newest firmware for at least 18 months... Do you think the Ace is counted under this?
     
  4. praky

    praky Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    53
    Posts:
    224
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011

    Jun 11, 2011
    224
    91
    53
    Well, didn't check that when got my phone. Kept installing apps until memory was a problem.
    However then found a way to install apps to sd.
    Still larger will be better.

    No idea.
     
  5. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON
    i think about 90-130mb gets used by the os.

    but dont worry ive got 69 apps installed on my ace and i still have about 35mb internal left you just need to use the adb command to allow you to install EVERYTHING to sd .


    and to everyone who says i cant have 69 apps on my ace...i just counted them all i have exactly 69 apps/games including gameloft games like nova ,sandstorm and because EVERYTHING is on sd i still have 35mb internal memory left.
     
    deeksdjdk, mvmsk and vikramsnr like this.
  6. vikramsnr

    vikramsnr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    I think I read somewhere that u can now move all the apps to sd card on froyo :) O and also, coz this is my first android, Im a bit of a noob n dont know what adb commands are :p Can you please explain? :)
    And btw, how long do you think it will be before the Ace runs out of internal memory for updates? Do you think it'll get ICS? Just askin for opinions :p Altho, google has said that ICS will work on ALL Android devices, no matter how old.
     
  7. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON


    you can move all apps to sd.....thats what im explaining brah' lol basically adb is a bridge connection to your device via usb but using windows cmd commands to operate , you need the sdk package from android to install the usb drivers for your device or ask someone here in the forums,. you can then connect to your device via adb and execute certain command like selecting where to store all apps,/ default storage location,

    selecting sd card as your default means all apps installed from then on are stored automatically to your sd, and previous apps like google maps that could not be moved to sd can. some data from each app will still be stored on the internal so you still have a limit but say a app that took 4mb internal mem; that couldnt be moved can now be moved and only take up about 500kb of internal.:cool:
     
  8. vikramsnr

    vikramsnr Lurker
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011

    Jun 16, 2011
    6
    0
    5
    Cheers mate, but ur gonna have to explain all of that to me :p Sorry to be a pain, like i sed, im a newbie....
     
  9. ohng

    ohng Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011

    Jun 27, 2011
    1
    0
    5
    TEST ENGINEER
    PERAK
    I bought the samsung ace last week. Is there anywhere to increase the internal RAM? Can the internal RAM change or increased?
     
  10. aktifit

    aktifit Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    99
    Joined:
    May 24, 2011

    May 24, 2011
    99
    10
    18
    you can increase RAM with a swap file/partition, but i didn't get it to work on my phone so i can only say that theoretically it's possible. some say that swap actually slowed down their phone, others say it got faster, it really just depends on how android handles swap and also make sure swappiness isn't very high. technically, you don't really have more RAM after that, but stuff that isn't active will be moved to your sd card instead of using up all your RAM, and when you want to use it again, android has to move it back again to make use of it. so if your swappiness is high, this will be the case quite often and because sd cards are slow, this might slow down the entire phone. your sd card might also get worn out faster.
     
  11. mvmsk

    mvmsk Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    105
    Joined:
    May 20, 2011

    May 20, 2011
    105
    7
    36
    India
    hey guys...i hav installed jus 17 apps..but i get low internal memory quite often...
    how can i over come this
     
  12. SusantaB

    SusantaB Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    16
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011

    Jun 18, 2011
    16
    1
    16
    There is a sticky thread at the top of this forum"How to force install apps to sd card without ROOT!" by praky. Follow the steps and have lots of fun :D
     
  13. chismay

    chismay Android Enthusiast
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    93
    Posts:
    603
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011

    Apr 24, 2011
    603
    144
    93
    ASSISTANT HEAD CHEF
    LONDON
    i wish people would read the whole thread before posting the same question a million times.
     

Share This Page

Loading...