1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Tool] CleanTOOL script

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by MrSmith317, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Ok, for you guys that aren't on XDA or any of the other boards where this has already been published....I bring to you the CleanTOOL script.

    [Tool] - CleanTOOL 1.1 - 11/29 - Even Cleaner than Before! - xda-developers

    I've also put up a pretty exhaustive list of all the packages you can disable. So you can have at least one of the nice advantages of rooting without actually needing permanent root. There's been a lot of work put into this by the dev, so if you use it/like it remember to thank him and/or donate.
     

    Advertisement

  2. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    Actually i saw this about a week ago on XDA. When it was still being first installed by a lot of users. If anyone uses it make sure you follow the instructions well.
     
  3. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    it's also over at RootzWiki now too.
     
  4. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    It's pretty much everywhere I could think of dropping it.
     
  5. mangopositive

    mangopositive Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    18
    Posts:
    33
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011

    Aug 16, 2011
    33
    15
    18
    This is super easy to use and definitely worth doing.
     
  6. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    imo the the bloat that is on the phone isn't causing a problem so i'm fine with leaving it on until we get better rooting abilities.
     
  7. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Good news. For anyone using a Mac or Linux(not like you need the help).... I've ported this script to work for either. All you need is the Android SDK installed same rules as Windows users applies:
    Charge only mode
    USB Debugging Enabled
     

    Attached Files:

    trophynuts likes this.
  8. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    As a Mac user i appreciate that lol
     
  9. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    So does that mean that you've given into the urge to remove the bloat? :D
     
  10. trophynuts

    trophynuts Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    5,630
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010

    Jul 6, 2010
    5,630
    1,792
    313
    I work in a Tech related field. Have been in a tec
    SouthEastern US
    no lol. I am just saying its good that you made a MAC friendly version available. The bloat stays for now.
     
  11. PMTerp

    PMTerp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    73
    9
    16
    Northwest Georgia, US
    I had decided to just wait for full root but I couldn't take not tinkering any longer! Ran the cleanTool and am currently enjoying my bloat-reduced reZound...and the twitching has temporarily stopped :D
     
  12. PMTerp

    PMTerp Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    73
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010

    Apr 15, 2010
    73
    9
    16
    Northwest Georgia, US
    I used another tool I found over at XDA to de-sense (i don't know why, I love sense), I since used Scott's newest version to re-sense (which makes sense) but I'm missing a couple things. My HTC Calendar widget did not come back and the stock weather clock widget came back but I can't touch it to open my alarm clock. I know I can do a reset on my phone to fix it but wondering if anyone might know an easier way. BTW I've not posted much in the XDA forums and since the clean tool thread is in the Developers section, I can't post my questions there.
     
  13. lvlln

    lvlln Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    38
    Posts:
    84
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009

    Nov 10, 2009
    84
    10
    38
    Loving the de-bloat, but even after running the latest script, I've got Blockbuster for HTC, NFL Mobile, and Verizon Video registered in my Market, asking to be updated. The apps don't run or show up anywhere, but they're sticking around in the Market. Is there a way to get rid of them entirely? Because having those apps in the Market asking to be updated prevents me from doing an "update all" of my normal apps.
     
  14. IndecisiveElle

    IndecisiveElle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    810
    534
    163
    freelance film
    Detroit Hustles Harder
    I was browsing the forum and was about to ask about this! Glad you beat me to the punch by a few weeks :)
     
  15. skater57

    skater57 Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    73
    Posts:
    210
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011

    Oct 9, 2011
    210
    66
    73

    Wait you have a rezound?
     
  16. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon
    Rank:
     #1
    Points:
    5,218
    Posts:
    57,632
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010

    Jun 10, 2010
    57,632
    70,441
    5,218
    New Mexico, USA
    She got one for her mom. :)
     
  17. IndecisiveElle

    IndecisiveElle Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    163
    Posts:
    810
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011

    Oct 14, 2011
    810
    534
    163
    freelance film
    Detroit Hustles Harder
    Sure did!

    I'm finishing up the SDK install right now... but I'm worried I don't have the no-how to do this now :( been a long time since I did this sort of thing. Like 10 + years and it wasn't on a Mac like I have now.
     
  18. dru500a

    dru500a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Hi all: New here. Thanks for posting this tool, it's very easy to use. I've been successful removing everything I wanted, except for visual vm. I use google voice for that so I don't need it. Is there a reason why vvm won't go? I'm using com.htc.vvm btw. Thanks.
     
  19. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Nope, that's the one. Try pulling a list of disabled packages "adb shell pm list packages -d" make sure it's in there and if you're using Sense reboot after, or restart a non-Sense launcher
    . You can always re-temp-root after the reboot.
     
  20. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Apps that are disabled will still request to update. My advice is to update and re-disable. I'm still trying to find a way to detach them from the market if that's possible.
     
  21. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Sometimes a reboot can set things right after enabling/disabling apps. If you do want to factory reset, power down the phone, power back up holding vol down. Choose Factory Reset and you're off to the races. You can also re-sense and re-enable bloat and see if that brings back the functionality you're looking for.
     
  22. dru500a

    dru500a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    I ran the above as advised and it is showing up on the list of disabled packages. I've tried re-disabling it and restarting it multiple times. The icon is still showing up in my app drawer. Not really a huge issue; at this point I'm just trying to understand why this is the case. To be sure, I'm talking about the stock, green vvm icon...that is the one associated with com.htc.vvm right? Any ideas?
     
  23. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    I think you might be talking about the VoiceMail icon, not VVM. I couldn't find a pic of the big green VM icon but it has the reel to reel logo in it.
     
    dru500a likes this.
  24. dru500a

    dru500a Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011

    Dec 24, 2011
    4
    0
    5
    Yes, the green icon with the reel on it. It is labeled voice mail, but is that not in reference to visual voice mail? When I click it now, it opens up messages. The messages app previously had three tabs (all, sms/mms, voicemail) but now only has the 'all' and 'sms/mms' tabs so I think by disabling com.htc.vvm, it removed this tab.

    If the icon routes to messages and disabling htc.vvm removes that tab, I would think the icon and htc.vvm would have been directly related. Obviously I'm missing something (very new to this whole phone root/customization thing). I'm tried looking at the list provided on xda (thank you for that by the way) but can't seem to locate a separate voicemail entry.
     
  25. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Android Enthusiast
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    68
    Posts:
    277
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011

    Mar 4, 2011
    277
    100
    68
    Voicemail itself is tied directly to phone.apk which you can't do without. That's just one of those things that you kinda have to ignore. Or do what I did and grab ADW, create your own custom app drawer and drop everything except the useless crap in it.
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...