1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [TOOL] Warp 4G CWM Flasher

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SuperR, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Disclaimer: The responsibility for using this tool falls only on you. This tool is UNTESTED since I don't have this device. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK! ;)

    This is an alternate method for installing CWM Recovery on the ZTE Warp 4G. No root required, just flash CWM, then flash a rooted ROM. It is a Live CD based on SliTaz Linux. It features adb and fastboot setup and working so there are no Windows drivers to mess with. It comes with and installs the standard CWM Recovery or Stock Recovery. It is a 32-bit OS so it will work on all PC's including Mac.

    How to use:
    1. Download the Warp 4G CWM Flasher Beta 3 image (52MB) to your computer.
    2. Burn the ISO to a CD using your favorite cd burning software.
    3. Boot your computer to the cd drive (you may need to adjust boot settings in BIOS)
    4. Once booted to the desktop, double-click the Warp 4G CWM Flasher icon
    5. Click OK on root request popup
    6. Follow onscreen instructions.
    7. Enjoy ;)

    Note: This does not install anything or change anything about your pc. It runs exclusively off the CD and will not harm your computer.

    Note2: The ISO can be used to make a bootable usb flash drive using a tool such as UNetbootin. Your pc must have the ability to boot to usb devices (mac pc's do not). Here is a link that explains how to do it. If you are using windows, step 1 and 3 apply to you ;)

    Note3: While this is booting, you may see a lot of text moving very quickly. This is normal. You will get to a GUI with mouse very shortly :)

    Note4: If the script hangs or fails in any way, do the following:
    1. Close the script.
    2. You will probably need to unplug and do a battery pull.
    3. Boot back into Android.
    4. Plug phone into a different usb port (sounds silly I know).
    5. Run the script again.
    6. If none of your usb ports work, you will need to try it on a different computer.
    I think fastboot only works on usb 2.0 ports, so if you know which ones those are on your computer you may want to start with them.

    Thanks to:
    junkie2100 - For giving you the gift of CWM
     

    Advertisement

  2. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Reserved
     
  3. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    thanks man appreciate the help

    question tho, did you attempt to use the fastboot flash command? kuz it doesnt work they disabled fastboot flashing it can only boot, you have to use the dd command or boot into cwm through fastboot and use a flashable
     
  4. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    It pushes a flashable to the sdcard, then fastboot boot to flash cwm :)
     
  5. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    k kool just makin sure. actually tho you could fastboot boot cwm, the push the img to cache and dd it to mmcblk0p16. that would automate the whole process and leave less room for user error
     
  6. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    As it is now, the only thing the user needs to do is look at the phone and agree to flash untrusted zips. It is fairly automated already ;)
     
  7. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    oh it auto starts the cwm flash? nice
     
  8. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    It does ;) I guess I really don't know since nobody has tested and posted feedback yet lol
     
  9. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    I've used this tool twice, and cwm installs, but when I reboot, it goes back to the default recovery. What am I doing wrong?
     
  10. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    I don't think you are doing anything wrong. I think the flashable cwm that is included is not working. I made a second one just in case.

    flashable_cwm_warplte_2.zip | by superr for Warp 4G

    If you would like to help get this tool working, you could download the new flashable and try it out while booted in the live cd. You can put it on a standard flash drive and plug it in. It will recognize immediately and you can copy the new zip in place of the old one and run the script again. Let me know if you are willing to help. Thanks :)
     
    AkihiroKurokami likes this.
  11. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    I tried running the new one by replacing the old cwm.zip with the new one and renaming it, but that did not work. Rebooting recovery from cwm put it back to the stock one. I also tried it without renaming files. I'm beginning to think that I am doing something incorrectly.
     
  12. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    has anyone tried actually flashing the flashable?
     
  13. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    i think by "cwm installs" he means "cwm boots" as it should when doing a fastboot boot. the question with the automatic flashing of the zip remains. it may just not be flashing the zip. if manually selecting it from the sd card works, then theres your issue
     
    Josh 443 likes this.
  14. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    I did mean that cwm was just booting. I was going to install it from the SD card after you said that, but honestly, I think I'll wait a bit, because I really don't know exactly how CWM zip flashing works, and am irrationally worried that it will install it over the operating system, so I think I'll just wait or try another method, as using CWM to flash CWM doesn't make enough sense. I'm going to go with that the automatic flashing isn't actually flashing the zip. I think that I probably don't have enough android rooting knowledge to be of much help from about here.
     
  15. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    the zip itself tells it whrre to install to. so theres no need to know anything more than to hit install zip from sd and pick the right zip
     
    Josh 443 likes this.
  16. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    Thank you for clarifying that. I have flashed the zip and it appears to have stuck, as I did several reboots and it remains installed.
     
  17. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Excellent. Which version did you flash?
     
  18. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    i still say do the
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. adb reboot bootloader
    3. fastboot boot warplte_cwm.img
    4. adb wait-for-device
    5. adb push warplte_cwm.img /cache/cwm.img
    6. adb shell "dd if=/cache/cwm.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p16"
    7. adb shell "rm /cache/cwm.img"
    8.  
    itll flash the thing automatically without having to fight with cwm to get the flashable to auto launch
     
    SuperR likes this.
  19. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    I flashed the one that you linked earlier in the thread.
     
  20. junkie2100

    junkie2100 Android Expert
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    313
    Posts:
    3,311
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012

    Mar 11, 2012
    3,311
    695
    313
    Male
    mind you flashable will be good to have around, but as far as the tool the code above will work guaranteed
     
  21. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Did it have a 2 at the end of the file like "_2.zip"?
    I was planning on switching it over...thanks for writing it out for me :)
     
  22. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    I believe it did.
     
  23. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    was it from this post?
     
  24. Josh 443

    Josh 443 Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    36
    Posts:
    27
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012

    Jul 16, 2012
    27
    2
    36
    Yes it was. I should probably be more clear in the future.
     
    SuperR likes this.
  25. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #56
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    OP updated with Beta 2 :)
     
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...