1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [Tool][Windows] Casio Root Tool+ v2.5.1

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by Willster419, Jan 23, 2014.

  1. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    post version 16 updated 1/15/17
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hey Casio commando users,
    Thought I would whip up an auto root tool since I found the mini scripts I made helpful to myself, and decided that they could be helpful to others.
    Requirements:
    Windows XP. Yup, you read that right. I have found that on windows vista/7 some of the command scripts don't quite work right. try at your own risk. I have a pre-built Windows XP VM made on my Mega if you want to use it. Requires VMware.
    Adb enabled and unknown sources for install allowed
    Phone screen MUST be on and unlocked!(unless you are locked out)
    Some features inside the script depend on other features, like dumping boot and recovery images requires busybox, and installing a new boot animation requires root.
    Check out a video about it here! (old version, same concept) Casio Root Plus - Automated Script - YouTube
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ~Current Features~
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    All features can be accessed through the menu selection process, as shown below.

    ~~~~~~~~~~
    ~Main menu~
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    1 - Access the Root/Unroot menu

    2 - Access the Flash menu

    3 - Install old es file manager (root compatibility)

    4 - Install unroot tool

    5 - Dump a boot and recovery image. It makes the images on the phone, then copies it over to the folder "dumpedImages"

    6 - Install busybox binaries and apk

    7 - Phone version viewer. It will bring you to the page to find out about your phone firmware, designated by an M and them a number.

    8 - Fix Wifi Error - If when you turn on your wifi it says "error" run this script to fix it.

    9 - Save your locked device - an updated and imported script from the "save locked device.bat" file

    10 - Update your radio firmware to M150

    11 - Exit

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ~Root/Unroot menu~
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    1 - ROOT old root method. It will auto-disable wifi for the rooting process (if you have it on), and then you can turn it on again after it is complete. You do NOT have to have data enabled, but it must be off airplane mode.

    2- ROOT new root method. Uses the fastboot exploit to root the phone. Make sure you have correct modded boot and recovery images before you attempt! It's preety cool to watch the phone's virtual touches. It's like I am right next to you working on your phone!

    3 - UNROOT (quick) will auto-unroot your device.

    4 - UNROOT (full) does the above, then flashes stock boot and recovery. great for warranty claim or selling on a certain auction site.

    5 - Go back

    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    ~Flash menu~
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    1 - Enable fastboot - Uses the same method as the root buttom-up method, but this only enables fastboot, if you are looking for such an option.

    2 - Flash a stock boot image. Requires fastboot.

    3 - Flash a custom boot image. Requires fastboot.

    4 - Flash a stock recovery image. Requires fastboot.

    5 - Flash the GNM Recovery image. Requires fastboot.

    6 - Flash a boot animation. Requires root and busybox.

    7 - Flash an "update.zip". This works with GNM recovery only. It is not recommended to flash a ROM this way.

    8 - Flash an inopath update, if your not in 'murica and/or don't have your phone connected to Verizon network. Requires root, busybox, stock boot and recovery images, and the innopath update file.

    9 - Return to main menu

    Download it here. Commando->Casio Root Tool +. (latest auto root tool recommended)
    Don't forget to drop a like if you found this helpful!!
    "Anything to make the phone more enjoyable",
    Willster419

    Based off of monkeytools's script

    Credits:
    unroot apk - to the author
    es apk - to estrongs inc
    onandorid - to ameer dawood
    mkyaffs2image - generic linux binary
    busybox - busybox.com contributers
    busybox.apk - stericson

    Release Notes:
    v1.2 - Initial realease
    v1.4 - Fixed problem with rooting method 1, disabled rooting method 2 because it had too many bugs in it
    v1.5 - Fixed Bottom Up rooting method added "save locked device" feature
    v1.6 - Fixed script error in flashing images
    v1.6.1 - Fixed problem with wifi in rooting option 1 and started making release notes
    v1.7 - Changed menu layout, added update.zip feature, fixed general bugs (and spelling :p)
    v1.7.1 - Fixed problem with rooting method 2, it will now ask to confirm your stock dialer is open
    v1.7.2 - Added installing the stericson busybox apk to the install busybox script
    v1.8 - Major overhaul--added safeguards to prevent runaway scripts like file detection, root detection, etc, and conformed all script endings to one type. Improved Top Down root method and dump boot and recovery images, fixed flash update.zip, flash boot animation, and install busybox.
    v1.8.1 - Improved UI, added wifi error fixer
    v1.9 - Removed files I don't own, and updated the instructions for the bootanimations
    v2 - Changed the way images are handled. Everything supported is already given in the tool, no having to download any images yourself. If your phone version is not supported, let me know and I will support it. Heavily changed the UI. UI text is denoted by the "#" symbol. Changed some of the UI output. Added a standard "root not detected", "busybox not detected", and "phone unlock not detected" features to many of the options of the scripts where they are needed. Fixed the unroot full option. Added comments to code. Use less variables that are not necessary. Added a separate option to enable fastboot. Cleaned up the directory by moving all tools into the tools folder. Fixed the update.zip and inopath update options, they don't require a certain type of file partition.
    v2.1 - Incorporated the "save locked device" into the main RUNME program. Fixed a few minor bugs
    v2.2 - Added the feature update radio to M150. Updated the ota/innopath system updates so that you don't have to go completely stock to update since you don't have to.
    v2.3 - Updated to support the Casio firmware M050
    v2.4 - Fixed a problem with the script when updating your phone's radio image to M150. Fixed general bugs
    v2.5 - Updated to support the Casio firmware M070. Fixed problem with unrooting.

    If you enjoy the work that I do for this phone, please consider donating (my college fund will say thanks!) PayPal Donation to Willard Wider
     

    Advertisement

    #1 Willster419, Jan 23, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2017
    Rotorian, bonoguchi, jagmech and 2 others like this.
  2. monkeytools

    monkeytools Well-Known Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    43
    Posts:
    176
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2012

    Jun 9, 2012
    176
    48
    43
    virgina
    just popping in. looks great.
     
  3. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    cool, thanks.
     
  4. MagusG

    MagusG Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013

    Jul 7, 2013
    4
    0
    5
    You may consider removing the work 'kit' from the description of this, as root + kit usually implies malware and the like. I understand that it's not, but it's still something to consider. Cheers.

    -MagusG
     
  5. rleague81

    rleague81 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014

    Feb 15, 2014
    3
    0
    5
    Male
    Finance
    Bama
    I just got the Commando and it's on the M150 build. I am a novice at andriod root. I have rooted Bionics and my last S III but those had one-click root methods. I've tried a couple one-click methods for the Commando with no luck. Can you help me with yours? I've downloaded and extracted the ver. 1.6. All I want to do is root and run Titanium BU to clear out the bloat. Your method looks to be somewhat easy but I just want to make sure before trying and possibly bricking. Can you give me a step by step of what I need to do to successfully root? Thanks a ton!!
     
  6. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    would the work "pack" sound better, maybe? what other word would sound better?
     
  7. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    I have released a new version, it includes a pre-built version of the tool for people who have phone version m150, and want to root with option 2.
     
  8. bkw

    bkw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    11
    2
    16
    Hi Willster419, been working on my new C771 last night and today. Starting to get things how I want. I'm rooted, and am now running the GNM recovery on the phone. The phone arrived yesterday with M130 on it. Now that I've done all of the above, I've now done a Nand backup of M130 to my SD card. And now I feel ready to use your script to move on to M140.

    I'm confused about one thing and am hoping you can explain it:

    Running your script, it states:

    So, I've got the m130-m140 update in the inopathUpdate folder, with the file called "ipth_package.bin".

    But as for the stock boot/recovery images, which do I need to put in the stock images folder: the M130 ones (corresponding to what I'm currently running), or the M140 ones (corresponding to what I hope to be running after the update)?

    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
  9. bkw

    bkw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    11
    2
    16
    Sorry, me again, one more thought. Doing some more reading around. I'm going to have to return my C771 to the stock M130 recovery in order for the M130 to M140 upgrade to be successful, aren't I? Darn.

    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
  10. bkw

    bkw Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    11
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014

    Feb 23, 2014
    11
    2
    16
    Never mind, I've got it all figured out now, after re-reading everything (I've now successfully gone from M130 to M140). In case anybody else is wondering:

    1. If you are running the GNM recovery, you need to reflash the stock recovery for your current firmware version, before you can update.

    2. Then, in the stockimages folder of Willster419's script directory, you put the stock boot and recovery images for the firmware version you are upgrading to. Put the update package in the inopathUpdate folder. For both of these folders, please pay careful attention to what the file(s) must be called (there is a text file in each folder explaining file names).

    3. Now you do the update.

    4. After the update completes, you will have lost root. So you must re-root the C771.

    5. You can now flash the GNM recovery again.

    Thanks,
    Bryan
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  11. mercquicksilver

    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2014

    Mar 7, 2014
    2
    0
    5
    I downloaded the autoroot 1.6.1 m150 config and pressed option 2 without adding any files to the folders because I thought m150 config meant it was already loaded with the correct files in it. It rooted my phone but I just want to make sure I am not missing anything because I did not add any boot or recovery files I just used the ones already in there thanks for the tool
     
  12. Jammer864

    Jammer864 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013

    Jun 4, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    I saw the link to the one-click automated root program. Reading the notes, it says that I need some programs installed in order so that others may run too, such as the proper boot and recovery images. I am assuming those are the ones I see in the folder, such as "m150 stock boot img" and "m150 stock recovery img" , correct?

    So I just download those two onto my computer, then run the automated root program and the automated program does the rest?

    When I click on the Root Kits folder (from the link) I see the "Casio auto-root tool v1.6.1 (m150 config.zip)". When I click on that I see 22 items but am unable to open any of the lower 16.

    How do I get the automated program to start?

    Edit: I figured out how to get the program to start but then got a Virus Warning, calling it an Android ComA:B trojan (or something like that). What the heck?
     
  13. Clutch300exc

    Clutch300exc Newbie
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    17
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2012

    Jun 2, 2012
    17
    2
    16
    Willster419, just wanted to thank you for your time and knowledge.

    I just rooted my m150 with your method and it work flawlessly.

    For the m150 users, click on his link for downloads, click commando, click root kits, then click casio auto-root tool + v1.6.1. (m150 config).zip

    Download this, all the files you need are in it so no other files need to be installed such as boot and recovery image. I check they are there.

    make sure you have the proper drivers

    under applications turn on unknown sources and under development turn on usb debugging

    Unzip the casio auto-root tool + v1.6.1. (m150 config).zip

    click on the run me file, connect phone and select option 2

    took about 5 minutes and i checked for root. Root achieved

    thanks again
     
    Willster419 likes this.
  14. Jammer864

    Jammer864 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013

    Jun 4, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Am trying to download the casio auto-root tool + v1.6.1 (m150 config).zip and I get a message saying its an infected file. Says only the owner can download the infected file.

    I tried this on two different computers with different virus protection programs and got the same message each time. Is the zip file really infected? Seems like the guy above got his downloaded with no problem and 5 minutes later was rooted.
     
  15. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    try using the 1.6.1 m150 config
     
  16. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    thank you for writing this, however the script was written thinking that the stock images in the stockImages folder are of your CURRENT firmware version. For example, if your going from M130 to M140, you put the m130 boot and recovery into the folder. it flashes those, so the update will work properly. When it updates, it patches the boot and recovery to the m140 versions.
     
  17. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    if your phone version is M150 then you are all set!
     
  18. Jammer864

    Jammer864 Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    5
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013

    Jun 4, 2013
    5
    0
    5
    Willster, saw the new version update on the rootkit, thanks. I was able to download that but now it appears that since I have Windows 8.1, I am gonna have to go thru a few more hoops to try to root.
     
  19. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    Ive heard that the drivers don't cooperate well on Windows 8, so if all else fails you can make a virtual machine of Windows xp or 7.
     
  20. poorpoor

    poorpoor Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    1
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014

    May 20, 2014
    1
    0
    5


    I have the M150 and followed this, but the tool freezes up at "sending 'recovery' (10240 KB)..." I tried the 1.7 as well, same story.

    Am I doing something wrong
     
  21. Low Tech

    Low Tech Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    2
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012

    Oct 19, 2012
    2
    0
    5
    Male
    Downloaded your kit, looked at what's in it, and now I have a question.
    I'm running Linux Mint and it's set up for windows. How do I go about using your kit, or can't I?
    It does seem strange, all these android users and people are using windows on their terminals ;)
     
  22. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    I guarentee that the the zip files are not viruses, and they can be downloaded. The reason why they probably come up as viruses is that exploits for rooting, and anything involving root can be easily modified to be a virus or trojan. These are honest scripts written by me who's only purpose is to root the phone.
     
  23. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    My first guess would be drivers. What is your OS and which drivers are you using? when the device is stuck on the GZone logo (bootloader mode), does "Casio C77 Bootloader Interface" of something similar show up under android devices?
     
  24. Willster419

    Willster419 The Casio Smartphone Guru
    Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #104
    Points:
    173
    Posts:
    826
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012

    Feb 25, 2012
    826
    218
    173
    Male
    Engineer at Raytheon Missile Systems
    New Hampshire
    It should work, if it supports the drivers, and running exe and bat files.

    yeah, in hindsight i probably should have made this in linux first and then told people to use cygwin
     
  25. raiden2507

    raiden2507 Newbie
    Rank:
     #698
    Points:
    16
    Posts:
    24
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013

    Jun 8, 2013
    24
    2
    16
    Good morning,
    thank you, maybe it is the tool needed to install the recovery to my Jap CA-201L with 4.0.4
     

Share This Page

Loading...