1. Download our Official Android App: Forums for Android!

Root [TOOL] ZTE Source CWM Flasher

Discussion in 'Android Devices' started by SuperR, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Disclaimer: The responsibility for using this tool falls only on you. This tool is UNTESTED since I don't have this device. USE AT YOUR OWN RISK! ;)

    This is an alternate method for installing CWM Recovery on the ZTE Source. No root required, just flash CWM, then flash a rooted ROM. It is a Live CD based on SliTaz Linux. It features adb and fastboot setup and working so there are no Windows drivers to mess with. It comes with and installs the standard CWM Recovery or Stock Recovery. It is a 32-bit OS so it will work on all PC's including Mac.

    How to use:
    1. Download the ZTE Source CWM Flasher Beta image (52MB) to your computer.
    2. Burn the ISO to a CD using your favorite cd burning software.
    3. Boot your computer to the cd drive (you may need to adjust boot settings in BIOS)
    4. Once booted to the desktop, double-click the ZTE Source CWM Flasher icon
    5. Click OK on root request popup
    6. Follow onscreen instructions.
    7. Enjoy ;)

    Note: This does not install anything or change anything about your pc. It runs exclusively off the CD and will not harm your computer.

    Note2: The ISO can be used to make a bootable usb flash drive using a tool such as UNetbootin. Your pc must have the ability to boot to usb devices (mac pc's do not). Here is a link that explains how to do it. If you are using windows, step 1 and 3 apply to you ;)

    Note3: While this is booting, you may see a lot of text moving very quickly. This is normal. You will get to a GUI with mouse very shortly :)

    Note4: If the script hangs or fails in any way, do the following:
    1. Close the script.
    2. You will probably need to unplug and do a battery pull.
    3. Boot back into Android.
    4. Plug phone into a different usb port (sounds silly I know).
    5. Run the script again.
    6. If none of your usb ports work, you will need to try it on a different computer.
    I think fastboot only works on usb 2.0 ports, so if you know which ones those are on your computer you may want to start with them.

    Thanks to:
    junkie2100 - For giving you the gift of CWM
     

    Advertisement

    bcrichster and Krsmqn like this.
  2. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Reserved
     
  3. blueeyiz702

    blueeyiz702 Member
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    26
    Posts:
    50
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013

    Jul 5, 2013
    50
    5
    26
    Male
    Sales and Marketing
    Las Vegas,Nevada
    I made bootable iso,and works like a charm.had no problems installing cwm and think jt was exellent idea,and if your worried that it will damage your computer/laptop! Dont,it has hadno effect on my laptop.
     
    SuperR likes this.
  4. _ck_

    _ck_ Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015

    Apr 14, 2015
    7
    0
    5
    By the way, if you have VMware Player installed, you can run any of SuperR's nifty ISOs directly with burning anything or rebooting, etc.

    Just create a super.vmx text file in a directory (it will create other small files automatically)

    put this in the text file
    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2. ide0:0.fileName = "hera_cwm_flasher.iso"         ### change if needed
    3. ide0:0.deviceType = "cdrom-image"
    4. ide0:0.present = "TRUE"
    5.  
    6. usb.present = "TRUE"
    7. usb.generic.autoconnect = "FALSE"
    8. ethernet0.present = "FALSE"
    9. floppy0.present = "FALSE"
    10.  
    11. memsize = "512"
    12. config.version = "8"
    13. guestOS = "other26xlinux"
    14.  
    edit that first line as necessary to change the iso name

    vmware player should start automatically when you double click that file and then run the iso within your computer

    remember to get out of a vmware window, press control+alt together once

    I set it so usb does not automatically connect on startup, you will have to use the vmware menus to manually connect the phone device as desired.

    I purposely left hard drives and ethernet disconnected for security reasons.
     
  5. Derpschnitzel

    Derpschnitzel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017

    Nov 20, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    I burned this tool iso to a CD and booted it. It asked for a login, which I found online, but now what?? I'm illiterate when it comes to Linux command line... When and how do I get to see a gui?
     
  6. SuperR

    SuperR Android Expert
    Recognized Developer Thread Starter
    Rank:
     #60
    Points:
    433
    Posts:
    3,980
    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010

    Aug 23, 2010
    3,980
    1,995
    433
    Male
    Invisible
    Most likely your PC is newer than the drivers available in the ISO and you will not get a gui. I no longer work on this project, so you can either install CWM a different way or try this on an older PC. Good luck :)
     
  7. Derpschnitzel

    Derpschnitzel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017

    Nov 20, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    I'm trying and right now... Installing can recovery. It's kinda stuck on "writing recovery." I got a cursor blinking below that with no other text, and it's been sitting there for a good five to ten minutes now.
     
  8. Derpschnitzel

    Derpschnitzel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017

    Nov 20, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    Son of a... Zmax, not Xmas... Sorry for the triple post, not sure wtf happened there.

    ...and now this one's showing up second... I give up.
     
  9. Derpschnitzel

    Derpschnitzel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017

    Nov 20, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    I'm beginning to grow concerned that I may have bricked my phone... In which case, I should have a new one in about a month anyway so no really big deal, and it was pretty screwed before I tried flashing it anyway. I was just hoping I could still get some use out of it before I acquire the blade Xmas.
     
  10. Derpschnitzel

    Derpschnitzel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017

    Nov 20, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    Just dug out my gilfriend's old Vista laptop, and I got me a GUI! Woohoo!!! Hopefully it'll actually flash this time... I couldn't get adb to actually do anything to my source other than reboot to the blanks screen that is the source's fastboot screen.
     
  11. Derpschnitzel

    Derpschnitzel Lurker
    Rank:
    None
    Points:
    5
    Posts:
    6
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2017

    Nov 20, 2017
    6
    1
    5
    Success!!! Thank you so much for creating this wonderful tool. You're one hell of a lifesaver.

    I screwed up by removing phone.apk and contacts.apk when I rooted my phone. It's prepaid, and I just use it as a mini tablet, so I figured it wouldn't hurt anything, but then I got a constant popup stating phone had stopped. As soon as I hit ok, it came back in a millisecond, making it damn near impossible to do ANYTHING at all on it. But now I have the customized rooted and unbloated OS.

    THANKS AGAIN!
     
    SuperR likes this.
Tags:

Share This Page

Loading...